Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2020, 10:42 AM   #1
Burtan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Posts: 59
Default LivePresets extension: Total recall for Reaper settings

Hi,

I'm developing an extension to recall reaper settings fast and easily. If someone is interested in testing it, I'm willing to share the .dll/.so for windows and linux x64. Mac support might come too.

Burtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 03:44 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,496
Default

Do you have a docu / description ?

I also plan to do a reaper extension for Live playing, but I totally failed setting up a development environment for doing a Reaper extension in a way that seems promising for this task.

-> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=223949
-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 09:22 AM   #3
Burtan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Posts: 59
Default

Nope, there is no documentation yet. However, most stuff is self explanatory imho.
Burtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2020, 04:02 AM   #4
brk303
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Serbia
Posts: 29
Default

How can one get this to test ? I already sent a PM.
brk303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2020, 01:30 AM   #5
Burtan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Posts: 59
Default

I sent you a link as PM.
Burtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 04:49 AM   #6
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 612
Default

I'm interested in that, too.
__________________
https://gassnklang.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 07:10 AM   #7
piotr@dydycz.com
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Interested too.
piotr@dydycz.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 12:40 PM   #8
Skorobagatko
Human being with feelings
 
Skorobagatko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Posts: 155
Default

Interested as well.
Skorobagatko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 12:43 PM   #9
Burtan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Posts: 59
Default

I sent more pms ;-). For discussions just write in this thread, don't send me pms. I'd like it to be available to others.
Burtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 08:16 PM   #10
brk303
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Serbia
Posts: 29
Default

Ok, I've got a question is there a difference in performance compared to SWS snapshots ?
brk303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 11:45 PM   #11
Burtan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Posts: 59
Default

I just tried the snapshots once and it was pretty slow, however I didn't analyze the source code in detail. LPE preset switches are almost instant, I measured 20-30 ms).
Burtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 04:16 PM   #12
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 612
Default

Bug: Presets get lost when you open a new project tab.

recalling presets by Midi in and Action marker would be quite nice.
__________________
https://gassnklang.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 11:34 PM   #13
Burtan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Posts: 59
Default

I'm using OSC to recall presets, but midi should work too. Did you try the associated action?

What do you exactly mean by action markers. I don't really use reaper much to record, so I don't know all the features to be honest.
Burtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 05:56 AM   #14
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 612
Default

Midi would allow us to use it as FX rack on a mixer in live situations for example!

With sws you can use action markers: Name a marker "!commandid" to run the action when the playhead crosses the marker. You can find the command IDs in the action list. Perhaps it's possible to provide command IDs that match the preset.

edit: no I haven't tried the action yet.
__________________
https://gassnklang.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 08:01 AM   #15
Burtan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Posts: 59
Default

It should all work with the action to switch presets. the RecallId is the midi value or the osc value (must be float!, this is a limitation of reaper). action markers can then trigger the switch presets action.
Burtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 08:02 AM   #16
Burtan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Posts: 59
Default

I don't think I will/can fix that multiple projects opened bug soon. I need to track opened and selected projects then and I don't think there is a callback from reaper in the api.
Burtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 12:56 PM   #17
V1b3zman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 35
Default

i'm interested in testing this as well
V1b3zman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.