Old 02-18-2013, 09:01 PM   #1
expellian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default "Regular" MIDI Instruments...

Hello everybody!

I have possibly a very dumb and simple question.

I have a lot of VSTi plugins that are fairly fancy... but really, all I need to use is the regular "MIDI" sound. You know, the kind that you hear when you play a MIDI file. I have no idea how to find that "instrument" on my computer. Any help? I use Windows 7, 64-bit. Thanks!
expellian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:14 PM   #2
dea-man
Human being with feelings
 
dea-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,148
Default

Midi is just information, and has no "sound", of it's own.

Perhaps your talking about a "General Midi" {GM) piano sound, or something.

Why not use a similar sound from your "fairly fancy" VSTi plug ins?
__________________
Please check out my REAPER produced music here: http://soundcloud.com/dea-man
dea-man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:23 PM   #3
expellian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Yes! a General MIDI sound.

The issue I have is when I do "Export Project MIDI" - and then send the tracks to my bandmates. Some of them use Guitar Pro, others use other programs... the notes/sounds are just not translating across these different platforms... most of the time it's having trouble figuring out which octaves I'm in. I'd rather use the general MIDI sound from the get-go.

How can I make that happen?
expellian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:38 PM   #4
dea-man
Human being with feelings
 
dea-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,148
Default

Do a Midi track with a VSTi and then, when it's perfect, right click on the midi item and scroll down to "Apply track FX to items as new take" and you'll have the "audio" to send your friend, instead of the midi.
__________________
Please check out my REAPER produced music here: http://soundcloud.com/dea-man
dea-man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:16 PM   #5
expellian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default

I need to use MIDI files when sending them out to bandmates, they cannot be WAVs or MP3's.

I don't think I'm being very clear:

I would like to use a "General MIDI" instrument in Reaper when composing MIDI tracks, or something very close to it. What/where can I find this on my computer to use as FX? Is this even possible?
expellian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:56 AM   #6
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,189
Default

To be able to hear the MIDI you could use the Microsoft FS Wavetable Synth
-- enable it in the Preferences > Audio > MIDI Devices > MIDI Outputs
-- route the "MIDI" track to it, in the [io] window.

But
-- the audio quality is not too good
-- the audio is outside Reaper so you cannot get to it directly
-- if you do route it back into Reaper, the latency will be problematic.

Much better is to get a GM Library and load it into a VSTi. Sonic Reality do ones for Kontakt (not the Player) and SampleTank Free. There are some GM Soundfont librariaries too (use Shortcircuit?). Or, perhaps an GM SFZ library (use TX16Wx or Sfoerzando?).

http://www.esoundz.com/details.php?ProductID=4736 On Sale at the moment, I think; that seems the best deal to me
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 02-19-2013 at 03:09 AM.
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 02:16 AM   #7
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,373
Default

(edit:
crosspost with DarkStar)

You could use a General MIDI soundfont with a Soundfont player.

Quick googling...

GM soundfonts

http://www.doomworld.com/vb/doom-gen...oundfont-v3-0/

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=351893

Players

http://bedroomproducersblog.com/2010...-vsti-plugins/


A bit more fancy (but not free) would be to use a GM-VSTi, eg:

http://www.roland.com/products/en/HQ-GM2/
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:29 AM   #8
expellian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default

I see!

I need a VST instrument that is close to the General MIDI sounds, so I have a rough idea of how my project will sound when I send off the MIDI file to others. Googling.
expellian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:53 AM   #9
expellian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Aw man, I really am a newb. I find stuff that seems simple enough, it's a VST, then I plug it into FX, and it shows a screen where I have to load other files. Man. What.

I have Independence Free, and I'm really looking for something like that. Just one program where I can select different instruments to use. Within the program.
expellian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 10:56 AM   #10
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,189
Default

Independence Free came with a library of sounds, didn't it?

The same applies for other VSTis - some come with a library, for others you get the library separately. I would still suggest SampleTank 2 Free and Sonic Reality's OmniSynth. Once installed, the instrument sounds are loaded within SampleTank.

Here it is with 10 (16 at a time are possible) instruments loaded:

Big pic: https://i.imgur.com/90WMyya.png
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 02-19-2013 at 11:03 AM.
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.