Old 01-05-2020, 12:15 PM   #1
Longjohn.s
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Default Weird distortion problem drives me mad

Hello everyone,

i'm new here and hope to find some help in this community, because i wasn't able to find a solution for my problem so far.

I use Reaper for some months now and i've installed various 3rd party VSTs without any problems. I have different unfinished projects, which i could open and close and reopen at any time with no issues, everything was playing fine until some days ago.
I wanted to try out Waves Studiorack plugin. After some trial and error i was able to load it in Reaper, but i couldn't get it to work. So i deleted everything i could find related to this plugin and did a VST-rescan in Reaper.
Unfortunately all my sounds are distorted now. No matter what project i load, even on lowest volume everything sounds like crap. If i start a new project and add a single instrument, e.g. synthesizer bassline, it's distorted without any FX.

I reinstalled Reaper, but the problem remains.

This is my setup:

Macbook Pro Retina 13", 2015
OS High Sierra 10.13.6
8GB Ram
Reaper 6.02/64 rev 992e2b
Sample rate 48 KHz (in program prefs and in project prefs)
Media buffer size 1200 ms
"Anticipate FX processing" and "Allow live FX multiprocessing on 4 CPUs" is checked.

I have absolutely no idea what the problem is and what i can do about it.
Can anyone help me to figure this out?
Longjohn.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 01:22 PM   #2
Longjohn.s
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Default Update

For everyone who is interested:

After some more hours of searching and checking back with Waves.com it seems that something messed with the main output volume of Reaper.
Now i have to turn down the master volume of each of my projects to something like -40 db to get normal sound without distortion.😳

Any ideas?🤔
Longjohn.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 02:29 PM   #3
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 554
Default

Hi, I'm just taking a quick stab here and just to rule it out.
- Have you got anything in 'monitoring fx' active?
- Is the distortion present in rendered files?

-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 08:05 AM   #4
Longjohn.s
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winfield View Post
Hi, I'm just taking a quick stab here and just to rule it out.
- Have you got anything in 'monitoring fx' active?
- Is the distortion present in rendered files?

-W
You nailed it! Turned out it was the monitoring fx. I don't know how that happend, because i never ever use monitoring fx and i never ever look at it, but i found a distortion effect which must have sneaked in there somehow. I disabled it and now everything is back to normal😃.

Thanks for your help.
Longjohn.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.