Old 02-12-2020, 07:35 AM   #1
sherlockpiano
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default Getting accompanement from digital piano

Hi.
I have digital piano Casio CDP-220R with accompanement.
I want to repeat it on PC with Kontakt Sounds.
How can I determine the MIDI channels with respective instruments?
Usually there are 16 channels, from which 8-10 can play drums, patterns, other instruments.
Sound must be like a real.
sherlockpiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 08:17 AM   #2
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,967
Default

You have to confirm the Casio is sending multi channel to begin with. Record some of it and open the MIDI editor and inspect it.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 09:00 AM   #3
sherlockpiano
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

I remember GNMidi, but maybe you recommend another one?
Is it that all producers have to work with such complex things to do style only? Make many channels in Reaper, assign VSTis and others. Maybe simpler to record other way?
All this take time - for only accomp you can sit about an hour.

Is it possible really to record from PC microphone with good quality if CDP is about meter besides?
sherlockpiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 09:33 AM   #4
Dr Bob
Human being with feelings
 
Dr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,134
Default

You really need to see if the Casio is sending the MIDI out for the inbuilt accompaniment. Many, or most, of these digital pianos with built in styles etc, do NOT send the accompaniment MIDI out along with your playing.

Connect your CDP midi out to a midi in on your PC interface - if you are only using the built in soundcard (ie have NO external audio/midi interface), then you cannot do this.

You can therefore only connect the line out (or headphone out) to the line in of your PC (not the microphone in!). And then record it in real time (as you say, can take time!). You might also be able to balance the relative volumes of the various instruments - but this depends on your CDP.

Recording via the inbuilt PC mic will not give you decent results!

Hope this helps to clarify a bit.

dB
Dr Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 09:38 AM   #5
sherlockpiano
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

I definitely see that channels have different MIDI notes in Reaper, but the sound is rather different than on the piano. It requires additional tune? Is it very long usually?

For some reasons some instruments like percussion sounds not like on piano, very quiet. Maybe due to Kontakt properties also
sherlockpiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 09:43 AM   #6
sherlockpiano
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

Yes, thanks.
I thought about recording with line out cable with Audacity without Reaper.
But will it give reasonable quality?
Yet in 2007 I asked in music shop about this, many say that now all do with VSTis and digital piano gives quality not for record.
sherlockpiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 09:53 AM   #7
Dr Bob
Human being with feelings
 
Dr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,134
Default

Anything on MIDI channel 10 is likely to be percussion, if it follows the General Midi "convention".

When using a multichannel MIDI you need to assign the different channels to a different VSTi (to make the sounds) and also select the correct sound from your VSTi's.

Others can give you guidance on how to set up Kontakt.

It's likely that the CDP is playing it's own custom instruments on whatever channel it wishes though!

Recording using line out can give OK results, just be careful with the levels on the CDP and the input to your audio recording program (ie do not clip the input).

If you post a version of a midi you captured from the CDP in reaper here, people here can look at it for you and guide you towards a solution!

dB
Dr Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 09:54 AM   #8
sherlockpiano
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

I have checked in GNMidi.
It's strange but it has for each track many channels.
Not sure what this means - but I can see GM drums and piano,
something at least it's present.
Not sure for 100% right of that.
sherlockpiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 10:00 AM   #9
sherlockpiano
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

I think would the quality of Kontakt give me some benefits, or the tune will have time... At least I can vary sounds after.
Maybe you know what Kontakt percussion instruments are best suitable for repeating standard piano styles ones. Like drums.

The sets like AR 60's and other complex ones are usually producing big claps of sounds and not very like CDP.
sherlockpiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 10:15 AM   #10
sherlockpiano
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

After tries I got something close to my CDP style.
By the way AR 60's Lite can yet give something like I need.
Thanks!
But I will think further, and the question what it's the main benefit of Kontakt here, if tune takes time. The play cost candles?
sherlockpiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 09:09 AM   #11
sherlockpiano
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

By the way, when created a project, then opening Reaper why it doesn't show levels of signal while piano is playing? Do I need to restart it?

Also: Can I see the names of instruments of Kontakt near respective tracks?

Last edited by sherlockpiano; 02-13-2020 at 09:39 AM.
sherlockpiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 05:13 AM   #12
sherlockpiano
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

Very unstable work of Reaper, what this can be?
I plug in on Piano but it's not hearable.
sherlockpiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 05:19 AM   #13
sherlockpiano
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

As I see button "Reset MIDI devices" maybe helpful
sherlockpiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:36 AM   #14
sherlockpiano
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Default

Hi.
Thanks for the help, now it works better.
Anybody can say what's the main benefit of NI Kontakt for making good track in comparison with digital piano sounds?
Sound really better? And 12 version? Is it really newer and better?
sherlockpiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.