Old 02-15-2020, 05:50 AM   #1
Backwards
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 11
Default Send FX back to itself?

Hi I want to send a delay back into itself, (analogue style) how can I do this in reaper?

Thanks
Backwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 05:52 AM   #2
ramses
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 643
Default

You need to allow feedback of track sends in preferences.
ramses is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 06:03 AM   #3
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,412
Default

You can also use the JSFX loser/gmemSend and gmemReceive.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 06:06 AM   #4
Backwards
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for the swift replies)
Backwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 06:18 AM   #5
Backwards
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Sorry, where is that preference can't seem to find it?
Backwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 07:14 AM   #6
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,477
Default

Project settings, not Reaper preferences.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 09:36 AM   #7
Backwards
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Thank you so much, was sorta going insane there...
Backwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 10:42 AM   #8
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,377
Default

Here's a FX chain which uses the gmem way mentioned above (for this you don't need to enable feedback routing):
https://stash.reaper.fm/v/312/Super_...Delay.RfxChain
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 07:51 PM   #9
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,509
Default

https://youtu.be/Pa9RpodEYfs
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 07:59 PM   #10
jnorman34
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 197
Default

Could you not just add a second instance of the delay plugin placed right after the first delay on your track effects?
jnorman34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 11:19 AM   #11
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,646
Default

Here’s the Reaper Blog video doing it on one track.

https://reaperblog.net/2018/05/filtered-delay/


Those gmem plugs can be a little weird to get your head around, but allow a lot of crazy crap. In either case, do be careful. I hate automute. Just put a good actual hard limit after the delay. Whether that’s a clipper or saturator or whatever. I’d use ReaComp probably, but it absolutely must be a sample-for-sample hard limit.

I personally think that if 0dbFS square waves (the loudest thing your interface can pass no matter how loud reaper tries to make it) harm your speakers, then they’re either calibrated wrong or just not powerful enough. Likewise, it shouldn’t damage your hearing in the time it takes to figure out how to turn it down unless you’re monitoring way TF too loud anyway. It could kind of ruin your day, though...
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.