Old 11-19-2018, 03:04 AM   #1
Beemysch
Human being with feelings

Default Prepare the mix for mastering

First of all: I´m relatively new to mixing and mastering; I´m a total beginner!!!

How do you prepare your mixes for mastering?

Do you mix and master in the same project?
Do you render the mix and load it into an new project? What are the best settings for doing so?

Why are so many rendering the mix out to master it seperately. In my mind it doesn´t make sense... Is it just because of CPU issues (i.e. too many plugins in the mix causing the master+plugins to stutter/crash)?

Till this point I never ran into hardware issues and like the possibility of tweaking the mix a little bit more after applying everything to the masterchannel!

My workflow:
I use a template, where I have bus channels for every used input (guitar, vocals, bass, etc.). On the bus channels and on the mastermix, I have some plugins I use everytime (Some sort of EQ, Limiter, Compressor). These plugins are deactivated by default in my template. I set everything up (volume, pan, etc.) and start to apply the plugins per channel and/or bus. After the Channels are set up to my liking, I start to apply and setup the mastermix plugins.

Is there anything wrong in my workflow?

B

Last edited by Beemysch; 11-19-2018 at 03:19 AM. Reason: workflow
Beemysch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 10:51 AM   #2
poetnprophet

It depends on who you ask/who is answering. There is nothing exactly wrong with that method, in fact that's the way I do my mix/mastering now. Previously it was not possible due to CPU power, but now I don't have that issue so I prefer to have everything in the same project if I can.