Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 05-20-2018, 11:44 AM   #1
gtbouts
Human being with feelings

Default Low-end distortion in Reaper - looking for solution

I'm relatively new to Reaper (v5.80x64) I switched over from SONAR Platinum after Gibson discontinued it. I LOVE Reaper however, when I use low tones (bass, kick, etc.) I'm getting some 'snap, crackle, pop' that's barely audible in the mix stage but much more prevalent in the mastering stage.

To resolve similar issues in SONAR I would increase the ASIO setting until it fixed the problem. I tried increasing the ASIO value in REAPER (currently max'ed out @ 20148) but still the same problem.I also tested the same SYNTH bass/SYNTH note, volume, etc. in both Reaper and SONAR. REAPER = distortion, SONAR clean.

REAPER is much more user configurable so I'm wondering if there are other parameters I should check. For example, in REAPER Options -> Preferences -> Device there's a field 'Request block size' - does that refer to the ASIO setting of 2048 (or X) or is that another parameter. If so, what should it be and should I check the box to request it?
Any help would be appreciated - thank in advance.

Here's my system config: i7-7700 @ 3.60GHz, 16GB RAM, 64-Bit Win10 Pro.
gtbouts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 02:00 AM   #2
Eliseat

So from my view this only can be a specific problem with your system. Your specs look good enough to run Reaper with lots and lots of tracks and fx. Reaper is known to be very cpu economical.

Could it be a bad win 10 update? I read recently that people got problems with that. But you say its only in the low end? Sounds weird to me. Could it be clipping somewhere in your fx chain?

Sorry, I have no idea why this would happen. At least you know it can't be the asio driver.
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 02:16 AM   #3
solger

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtbouts View Post