Old 11-02-2019, 07:07 AM   #1
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 127
Default Beware of Addictive Keys

Hi,

I'm having both Windows and Mac computers in my studio, cross-platform compatibility is important to me. I don't use AUs, and with most software I don't have problems with VST/VSTi compatibility. I think it's the way it should be.

However, Addictive Keys VSTi is not cross-platform. When you create Addictive Keys on Mac, it does not work on Windows and when you create Addictive Keys on Windows it does not work on Mac.

I've contacted their support and they said "it's a minor issue, we know about it, but won't fix it". Great support for paid software, folks. Shame on XLN audio.
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 07:42 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,472
Default

What do you mean by "when you create AK on Mac it doesn't work on Windows"? There are separate installs for Windows and for Mac, they have different file types used depending on the OS, hence they are not interchangeable. You need to install it separately on Win and on Mac.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 07:50 AM   #3
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,865
Default

Im thinking presets
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 07:57 AM   #4
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 127
Default

yeah, if you add a plugin on Mac, it saves the preset that it's not able to read on Windows (and fails to load) and vice versa.

of course, I have installed AK on both Windows and Mac, both latest versions.
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 08:00 AM   #5
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,865
Default

that sucks. big oversight on their part.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 08:02 AM   #6
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,058
Default

Can you save the preset as a Reaper preset on one system and load that Reaper preset on the other system? Or even a Reaper Preset Library?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 08:03 AM   #7
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 127
Default

yeah, it's totally a shame.
however, Addictive Drums from the same vendor doesn't have this problem, so I expect that's nothing non-fixable here. but as per their words they just don't want to fix it.
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 08:07 AM   #8
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Can you save the preset as a Reaper preset on one system and load that Reaper preset on the other system? Or even a Reaper Preset Library?
in fact, they suggested a workaround to save the preset in the filesystem (and manually transfer it to all other computers), did not try the rpl way, but it could work.

but I'm just using one of their default presets, so it's like basic functionality.
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 08:11 AM   #9
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 127
Default

P.S. back in the day I lost some data while migrating to other computer by forgetting to copy Melodyne's transfer directory (this was long before ARA).

so, I'm always nervous about having something at arbitrary places of my disk that will stop my project from opening on a new system.
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.