Old 03-22-2020, 02:30 PM   #1
JeffreyET
Human being with feelings
 
JeffreyET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 383
Default 1 second pause inserted regardless of settings!!!

I am mastering on a win7 laptop because it has a CD burner. Trials 1-3 did not have a pause. trials 4-6 did (and the last 2 were run exclusively to try to eliminate it)
At NO POINT was the pause between tracks option ever checked, and tracks have had the exact same # markers throughout the whole process. I have unchecked everything that has anything remotely to do with adding time (tail, lead in, use only # markers). The only thing I haven't done is reboot my system.
Anybody have any idea why Reaper would just start inserting 1 sec pauses between tracks - with annoying clicks to boot?
__________________
JET Guitars Website http://www.jetguitars.com
Jeffrey's REAPER tracks http://soundcloud.com/jeffreyet
JeffreyET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 03:13 PM   #2
JeffreyET
Human being with feelings
 
JeffreyET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 383
Default

So... I re-booted, and the render dialog box returned to default settings which worked correctly a few days ago. This time however the dirty pauses continue to be inserted - VERY frustrating!
Same discs, same tracks (with re-rendered mixes only), same markers, same render settings, same computer, same Reaper install - so WTF has changed?
Am I going to have to settle for a sub-optimal mix just because Reaper can't render anything new?
__________________
JET Guitars Website http://www.jetguitars.com
Jeffrey's REAPER tracks http://soundcloud.com/jeffreyet
JeffreyET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 04:06 PM   #3
SonicAxiom
Human being with feelings
 
SonicAxiom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,131
Default

I'd try to burn the project from a new, portable Reaper install of the latest release. If that doesn't help I'd try an older version (also portable).

.
__________________
[Check out my free VST plugin collection here.]
SonicAxiom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 04:12 PM   #4
JeffreyET
Human being with feelings
 
JeffreyET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 383
Default

But it initially worked right, with the very same install, computer, discs, project and settings... thanks for the suggestion though
__________________
JET Guitars Website http://www.jetguitars.com
Jeffrey's REAPER tracks http://soundcloud.com/jeffreyet
JeffreyET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 04:19 PM   #5
SonicAxiom
Human being with feelings
 
SonicAxiom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,131
Default

settings files may have gotten corrupt in the meantime whoever knows how. It's bad luck but it can happen. Testing it with a clean, portable install will reveal if a corrupt setting or ini file is the culprit. You can simply delete the portable install folder after having found the source of the issue.

.
__________________
[Check out my free VST plugin collection here.]
SonicAxiom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 05:41 PM   #6
JeffreyET
Human being with feelings
 
JeffreyET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 383
Default

OK I will try that. I have heard endlessly about the portable install capability but have never tried it. It is not in the reaper user guide index or in the install chapter, and the download area has no portable option. Forgive my impatience, but how do I do that? Is it in the preferences menu?
__________________
JET Guitars Website http://www.jetguitars.com
Jeffrey's REAPER tracks http://soundcloud.com/jeffreyet
JeffreyET is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.