Old 12-20-2023, 10:07 PM   #1
vseanv
Human being with feelings
 
vseanv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 166
Default Highlight Plugin Button for open effect?

Is there a way to get Reaper to highlight the plugin Icon/Button in the TCP/MCP when the effect window is open?

Right now for me the only way to tell which plugin is open is by reading the title on the plugin window, shown here:



And this is how I want it to behave:




Any help would be appreciated
vseanv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2023, 12:07 AM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 10,255
Default

I've made an FR for this but it's not currently possible. You can get that feedback with OSC however.
__________________
foxyyymusic
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2023, 03:12 AM   #3
vseanv
Human being with feelings
 
vseanv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
I've made an FR for this but it's not currently possible. You can get that feedback with OSC however.
Thanks for the reply!

Ah bummer, is there a way I can support your feature request? And is there a thread or anything with a tutorial on getting that setup with OSC you know of?
vseanv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2023, 04:52 AM   #4
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,071
Default

+1 for Feature request


Not a solution to the OP however this script selects the track for last touched or focused fx window.
( Run's in background ) Just a visual aid really to see which floating fx window belongs to which track.

Code:
local last_focused_fx = -1
local last_focused_track = -1

function main()

  local _, trackidx, _, _, fxidx, _ = reaper.GetTouchedOrFocusedFX(1)
  if fxidx ~= last_focused_fx or trackidx ~= last_focused_track then
    local num_tracks = reaper.CountTracks(0)
    for i = 0, num_tracks - 1 do
      reaper.SetTrackSelected(reaper.GetTrack(0, i), false)
    end
    if fxidx >= 0 then
      local track = reaper.GetTrack(0, trackidx)
      if track then
        reaper.SetTrackSelected(track, true)
        reaper.Main_OnCommand(40913, 0) -- scroll tcp into view
      end
    end
    last_focused_fx = fxidx
    last_focused_track = trackidx
  end
  reaper.defer(main)
end

main()
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2023, 05:07 AM   #5
cool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sunny Siberian Islands
Posts: 957
Default

Perhaps the convenience depends on the theme and some settings. This is not a problem for me, because when I click on a plugin, along with the plugin window opening, the track is selected and highlighted.
Of course, this way I can’t see which plugin is open. But the track is highlighted and this makes visualization much easier.
cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2023, 06:18 AM   #6
vseanv
Human being with feelings
 
vseanv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Reverb View Post
+1 for Feature request


Not a solution to the OP however this script selects the track for last touched or focused fx window.
( Run's in background ) Just a visual aid really to see which floating fx window belongs to which track.

Code:
local last_focused_fx = -1
local last_focused_track = -1

function main()

  local _, trackidx, _, _, fxidx, _ = reaper.GetTouchedOrFocusedFX(1)
  if fxidx ~= last_focused_fx or trackidx ~= last_focused_track then
    local num_tracks = reaper.CountTracks(0)
    for i = 0, num_tracks - 1 do
      reaper.SetTrackSelected(reaper.GetTrack(0, i), false)
    end
    if fxidx >= 0 then
      local track = reaper.GetTrack(0, trackidx)
      if track then
        reaper.SetTrackSelected(track, true)
        reaper.Main_OnCommand(40913, 0) -- scroll tcp into view
      end
    end
    last_focused_fx = fxidx
    last_focused_track = trackidx
  end
  reaper.defer(main)
end

main()
Awesome! Thanks so much for this, not the perfect solution, but it’s still a help!
vseanv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2023, 01:07 PM   #7
alphoc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 375
Default

It's just one of dozens of basic must-have items. It's very good of you to remind us. Script might be a good idea, but such things should be default now.
alphoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2023, 02:21 PM   #8
vseanv
Human being with feelings
 
vseanv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphoc View Post
It's just one of dozens of basic must-have items. It's very good of you to remind us. Script might be a good idea, but such things should be default now.
yeah I'm really surprised it's not in already after all these years... not a deal breaker though since I can read the window title, just nice to have for a glance.
vseanv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2023, 03:29 PM   #9
djabthrash
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Paris (France)
Posts: 155
Default

Interested in this too.
djabthrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2023, 03:43 PM   #10
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 10,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vseanv View Post
Thanks for the reply!

Ah bummer, is there a way I can support your feature request? And is there a thread or anything with a tutorial on getting that setup with OSC you know of?
Voting for FR's is deprecated, but https://forums.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=214833 I don't know of any tutorials but there probably are some. Asking how to achieve a specific setup on the ReaLearn thread should get you some answers. ReaLearn provides the feedback in a very configurable way and setting up TouchOSC is as simple as connecting to the same network and telling each device the other device's IP address and send port.

EDIT: Here's my ReaLearn mapping:

All that needs to work is a button on your TouchOSC template called openui1 on a page called TRACK and it will turn on whenever the first plugin in the chain is floating.
__________________
foxyyymusic

Last edited by foxAsteria; 12-26-2023 at 03:56 PM.
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2023, 03:49 PM   #11
djabthrash
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Paris (France)
Posts: 155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Voting for FR's is deprecated.
What ?

Can you elaborate ?
djabthrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2023, 04:10 PM   #12
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 10,255
Default

There used to be voting on FR's but the devs disabled it so as not to give the impression votes have any influence on request fulfillment.
__________________
foxyyymusic
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2023, 04:13 PM   #13
djabthrash
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Paris (France)
Posts: 155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
There used to be voting on FR's but the devs disabled it so as not to give the impression votes have any influence on request fulfillment.
Thanks for the info !
djabthrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2023, 11:33 PM   #14
ANDYZ
Human being with feelings
 
ANDYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 113
Default

+1
ANDYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.