Old 02-10-2020, 02:08 PM   #521
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenS View Post
I would like to be able to have more eq bands controlled by midi in ReEq (6 in fact rather than the current 5) - would that be possible?

I really like that I can activate and deactivate Eq bands in ReEq - would just love to have control of just one more. (As I like to have high pass, low shelf, para 1, para 2, high shelf and low pass)

Is there a way to customise the midi commands available?

I used a Midi Fighter Twister to control my eq and like to be able to push one of the buttons to turn a filter/eq on or off.

In ReaEq (the Reaper default EQ) I can have midi commands for as many EQ bands as I want. (but I can't turn them on and off with Midi)
Just thought I'd add a bit of info here.

There is a limit of 64 automatable parameters in JSFX plugins. And ReEQ uses 7 parameters per band. This means the maximum number of bands that would be automatable is 9. However - this would also mean that there wouldn't be any room left for other automatable global parameters (unrelated to each band).

So I'm guessing there would be room to include a band or 2 more - at the expense of other parameters which would have to be internally coded and stored manually in the plugin save data for recall (the 64 automatable sliders parameters would be saved and recalled automatically).

So I can kind of understand why there are currently only 5 bands that can be automated.
VST's do not have this limit - you can have many hundreds of automatable parameters in a VST.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 11:59 AM   #522
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Just thought I'd add a bit of info here.

There is a limit of 64 automatable parameters in JSFX plugins. And ReEQ uses 7 parameters per band. This means the maximum number of bands that would be automatable is 9. However - this would also mean that there wouldn't be any room left for other automatable global parameters (unrelated to each band).

So I'm guessing there would be room to include a band or 2 more - at the expense of other parameters which would have to be internally coded and stored manually in the plugin save data for recall (the 64 automatable sliders parameters would be saved and recalled automatically).

So I can kind of understand why there are currently only 5 bands that can be automated.
VST's do not have this limit - you can have many hundreds of automatable parameters in a VST.
Yep, this is the reason. There's a limit on the number of sliders that you have in JSFX and I was running out pretty quick. It's an arbitrary limit - I hope they'll just increase it in a future update. If they do then I'll update the code to expose all bands.
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 02:09 PM   #523
HesusRice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Default

I can't seem to get this to work. I the folder in Application Support/Reaper/Effects and it won't show up in Reaper for some reason. I am sorry, I am a newcomer to Reaper, been using Logic for about 10 years.

Any help would be great. Thanks
HesusRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 06:07 PM   #524
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HesusRice View Post
I can't seem to get this to work. I the folder in Application Support/Reaper/Effects and it won't show up in Reaper for some reason. I am sorry, I am a newcomer to Reaper, been using Logic for about 10 years.

Any help would be great. Thanks
See this post:

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...3&postcount=34
__________________
https://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 01:51 PM   #525
HesusRice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
That is your post that I followed to try to put it in the right folder and still not working. ??
HesusRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 03:00 PM   #526
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,923
Default

https://youtu.be/9EegrN-gF5o

It's like adding any other JS plugin.

Did you first unzip the files? If you didn't... I should hope one wouldn't have to explain to unzip something. (It even mentions unzipping the archive in the first post.)
__________________
https://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2020, 12:34 PM   #527
HesusRice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
https://youtu.be/9EegrN-gF5o

It's like adding any other JS plugin.

Did you first unzip the files? If you didn't... I should hope one wouldn't have to explain to unzip something. (It even mentions unzipping the archive in the first post.)
Hahah no worries, I am old enough to actually have started using zip files when they came out.

It worked. Thanks for the vid. I was just not putting it in the right folder.

Fantastic EQ, way better than the stock one for me. I use FF Pro-EQ3 and CraveEQ as well and I feel they all complete each other well.

Thumbs up!

Last edited by HesusRice; 02-22-2020 at 12:35 PM. Reason: Grammar
HesusRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2020, 01:12 PM   #528
dahya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj View Post
Gah! Can you reproduce it?
Just wanted to say that I've been having many issues recently with pops & crackles across various tracks, and where the tracks auto mute too, sometimes at the beginning of a song when there's nothing playing, or at the end of a song again when there's nothing playing (and no items there).

After checking various tracks and plugins (and there's around 50 tracks !), I'm coming to the conclusion that it's something to do with the ReEq AGC.

Before I checked this forum I noticed that if AGC is on, I get these strange pops/crackles and tracks auto mute, whereas if I switch AGC off, no pops and crackles.

I also solo'ed yet another track and noticed that this too was producing crackles/pops after the play head goes past the end of a media item and where there is supposed to be silence.

The location of some of the pops/crackles were consistently in the same place. The auto mute was due to the volume reaching something like 64+ db !

What also puzzled me was they auto muted Reverb/Delay Send Tracks, thinking it might be an instrument sending a high volume, but I now think it's to do with the ReEq AGC.

I was using ReEq 1.0.5 when the issues occurred, then installed 1.0.7, but the issues are still there with AGC on.

Also, I don't know how Reaper and JS FX work, but for some reason the tracks with ReEq on still show version 1.0.5, whereas if I add a new instance of ReEq, it shows v1.0.7. So I guess I will have to replace all instances of ReEq on all tracks to 'update' all instances of ReEq?
dahya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 01:29 AM   #529
simhaw
Human being with feelings
 
simhaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7
Default Wow!

Nitsuj, this a fantastic sounding EQ and uses precious little CPU to boot. I love the 'Listen' feature and the ability to adjust 'Q' with the wheel. Very intuitive, pretty and sounds amazing. BIG thanks!
__________________
My site https://mooselander.com
simhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 08:08 AM   #530
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dahya View Post
Just wanted to say that I've been having many issues recently with pops & crackles across various tracks, and where the tracks auto mute too, sometimes at the beginning of a song when there's nothing playing, or at the end of a song again when there's nothing playing (and no items there).

After checking various tracks and plugins (and there's around 50 tracks !), I'm coming to the conclusion that it's something to do with the ReEq AGC.

Before I checked this forum I noticed that if AGC is on, I get these strange pops/crackles and tracks auto mute, whereas if I switch AGC off, no pops and crackles.

I also solo'ed yet another track and noticed that this too was producing crackles/pops after the play head goes past the end of a media item and where there is supposed to be silence.

The location of some of the pops/crackles were consistently in the same place. The auto mute was due to the volume reaching something like 64+ db !

What also puzzled me was they auto muted Reverb/Delay Send Tracks, thinking it might be an instrument sending a high volume, but I now think it's to do with the ReEq AGC.

I was using ReEq 1.0.5 when the issues occurred, then installed 1.0.7, but the issues are still there with AGC on.

Also, I don't know how Reaper and JS FX work, but for some reason the tracks with ReEq on still show version 1.0.5, whereas if I add a new instance of ReEq, it shows v1.0.7. So I guess I will have to replace all instances of ReEq on all tracks to 'update' all instances of ReEq?
Reaper preserves the version of the JSFX that was assigned to the track. So yes, you'll have to replace with the latest version. AGC did have a bug a few versions ago which produced crackles and mutes but AFAIK I addressed that and I haven't had any reports since.

Let me know if you do replace with the latest versions and the problem persists.
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 08:09 AM   #531
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simhaw View Post
Nitsuj, this a fantastic sounding EQ and uses precious little CPU to boot. I love the 'Listen' feature and the ability to adjust 'Q' with the wheel. Very intuitive, pretty and sounds amazing. BIG thanks!
You're welcome! Glad you're finding it useful.
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 12:16 PM   #532
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,310
Default

Dear master of the masters nitsuj, thanks again for this magic work!
Is there a way we can set the spectral peaks colors matching the reeq colors? That would be interesting having same meaning of colors in both. Just a minor thought/idea.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2020, 03:08 PM   #533
dahya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj View Post
Reaper preserves the version of the JSFX that was assigned to the track. So yes, you'll have to replace with the latest version. AGC did have a bug a few versions ago which produced crackles and mutes but AFAIK I addressed that and I haven't had any reports since.

Let me know if you do replace with the latest versions and the problem persists.
Thanks for that Nitsuj, I will have a look n the next few days, I think I have a number of them to replace, plus there seem to be some that have no version, not sure if this is one of your earlier versions or not, which may even explain the issue if it is.

...it would however be nice to find a way to replace the old versions with the new versions all in one go...
dahya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 09:36 AM   #534
dsealer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pa
Posts: 310
Default

[QUOTE=nitsuj;2057977]ReEQ and ReSpectrum:



Thought I'd share this with you. It's a couple of pet projects I've been working on for fun recently.

I could use some help with this. I'd like to try it and see if it is something I could use. However I can't seem to get it working. I've got the ReJJ 1.0.7 zip but that's as far as I can get. Can you tell me where to extract the files to and then how do I get it into my projects.
I apologize for my need for help,

Thanks,
__________________
Don.....
dsealer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 11:02 AM   #535
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsealer View Post
I could use some help with this. I'd like to try it and see if it is something I could use. However I can't seem to get it working. I've got the ReJJ 1.0.7 zip but that's as far as I can get. Can you tell me where to extract the files to and then how do I get it into my projects.
I apologize for my need for help,

Thanks,
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=526

And then to use it in a project, load it like you load any other JS plugin.
__________________
https://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 12:12 PM   #536
dsealer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pa
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=526

And then to use it in a project, load it like you load any other JS plugin.
Yes I unzipped it. I put it in the Jeff master folder. Would that be the correct place?

Thanks,
__________________
Don.....
dsealer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 12:37 PM   #537
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,923
Default

What is a "Jeff master folder"?

It's explained in the video. Find your Reaper resource directory by using the command from the Reaper menu. Find the effects folder from there. Put the plugins in it.
__________________
https://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 02:11 PM   #538
dsealer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pa
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
What is a "Jeff master folder"?

It's explained in the video. Find your Reaper resource directory by using the command from the Reaper menu. Find the effects folder from there. Put the plugins in it.
Auto correct. Should be jsfx master
__________________
Don.....
dsealer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 03:47 PM   #539
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,923
Default

If you watch what's going on in the video, I'm sure you'll get it. The trick is to not just decide for yourself what folder it goes into; be sure to let Reaper show you where its "resource folder" is, then put the js plugins into the effects folder which is in there. After unzipping, of course. I assume you unzipped the files.

People put plugins in wrong folders often, it seems. If you use the instructions, you'll find the correct folder right away no matter what OS or what drive you installed Reaper to, etc.
__________________
https://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 04:35 PM   #540
dsealer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pa
Posts: 310
Default

Thank you.
__________________
Don.....
dsealer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 09:39 AM   #541
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 554
Default

Question:

At the bottom you can set the mid-level and the
side-level. Additionally you can set the average button
to be "active":



What does the average-button do?
Attached Images
File Type: gif buttons average 01.gif (3.5 KB, 607 views)
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de

Last edited by enroe; 03-03-2020 at 03:25 AM. Reason: image added
enroe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 01:26 PM   #542
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
Question:

At the bottom you can set the mid-level and the
side-level. Additionally you can set the average button
to be "active":



What does the average-button do?
They're not average buttons. They're polarity buttons. Toggling them will change the polarity of the mid and/or side signals.
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2020, 08:10 PM   #543
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj View Post
They're not average buttons. They're polarity buttons. Toggling them will change the polarity of the mid and/or side signals.
Thank you! Being a polarity switch is compatible to all those
Reaper buttons of the same look.
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2020, 10:41 AM   #544
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 554
Default

For the very fast users, who like to see all
features at one glance, I made a manual - see here.

This eq is so amazing good that it deserves an
intuitive short abstract!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf re eq manual.pdf (209.3 KB, 78 views)
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de

Last edited by enroe; 03-07-2020 at 12:37 AM. Reason: new version
enroe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 12:22 PM   #545
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,233
Default

SUPERB!
__________________
Thanks devs for adding the abillity to use single click to change a single velocity And single right click to remove a single note without dragging.
much appreciated.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 12:11 PM   #546
simhaw
Human being with feelings
 
simhaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
For the very fast users, who like to see all
features at one glance, I made a manual - see here.

This eq is so amazing good that it deserves an
intuitive short abstract!
That's great Enroe, nice work. Thanks!
__________________
My site https://mooselander.com
simhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 04:45 AM   #547
sts
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Default

Thanks enroe for the manual. Great!

I'm about to set up a new audio computer and noticed that ReEQ was still missing. But I simply forgot how to install it. I could only remember that I need to copy the jsfx files to SOME directory. It's solved now, but how about a brief "Installation" section in your manual? This "section" would be complete if it contains the sentence "Unpack archive to REAPER/blah".
sts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 09:17 AM   #548
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
For the very fast users, who like to see all
features at one glance, I made a manual - see here.

This eq is so amazing good that it deserves an
intuitive short abstract!
Thanks enroe for the manual.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2020, 10:16 AM   #549
jamieson1974
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 202
Default

Wow! Nitsuj this is an incredible EQ. Thank you so much for doing this.
__________________
Jamieson Tobey
www.jamiesontobey.com
jamieson1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 01:45 PM   #550
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
For the very fast users, who like to see all
features at one glance, I made a manual - see here.

This eq is so amazing good that it deserves an
intuitive short abstract!
Awesome! Would you mind if I upload it to the first page along with the zip and give you credit for it? Will be easier for people to find.
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 01:45 PM   #551
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieson1974 View Post
Wow! Nitsuj this is an incredible EQ. Thank you so much for doing this.
You're most welcome. Glad you like it!
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2020, 10:59 PM   #552
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj View Post
Awesome! Would you mind if I upload it to the first page along with the zip and give you credit for it? Will be easier for people to find.
No, please do it!
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2020, 05:35 AM   #553
nitsuj
Human being with feelings
 
nitsuj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 182
Default

There's a new ReEQ available on the front page. Minor changes.

Fixed a bug where a filter band being in listen mode wouldn't continue listening if the mouse left the viewport.

Altered line thickness for both retina and normal when the view becomes very compact (for MCP & TCP).

Added a manual PDF - many thanks to enroe who kindly made it!
nitsuj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2020, 05:40 AM   #554
DaveKeehl
Human being with feelings
 
DaveKeehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,935
Default

Me happy
__________________
REAPER Contest
DaveKeehl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2020, 06:12 AM   #555
solarfall
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 72
Default

Finally decided to try this eq. I'm a wannabe jsfx dev. And....
OMG Master, teach me. How many years of hard work did it take to write this beauty? Are you self-taught or pro-programmer? ReEq is masterpiece! Cheers!
solarfall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 12:41 AM   #556
sts
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitsuj View Post
...if I upload it to the first page along with the zip and give you credit for it?
15th March 2019 ?
sts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 07:14 AM   #557
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarfall View Post
OMG Master, teach me. How many years of hard work did it take to write this beauty? Are you self-taught or pro-programmer? ReEq is masterpiece! Cheers!
Good morning.



TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 12:21 PM   #558
ErBird
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 382
Default

Anti-aliasing aside, do you have any idea how Voxengo achieved such stunning fft graphics?
Is it cubic splines? If so, is there a sacrifice in accuracy to get a better visual?

This is 4096 block size, smoothing off:
ErBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2020, 02:07 AM   #559
MKTB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 1
Default

Hi, thanks for this great eq

Experiencing a bug when parameter modulation is active. having either the sidechain or the lfo active makes it impossible to change the value from the panel knobs. And this is on bands other than the one being modulated. Is there a solution? anyone else experienced it? updated to 1.08 without any change

sorry if this been adressed earlier
MKTB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2020, 05:27 PM   #560
attreux
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Hey nitsuj, I just downloaded an installed version 1.0.8 of ReEQ and I'm still having the AGC audio glitch, as others have mentioned.It only happens when there's no audio being fed to the plugin. Is this sample rate dependant? I'm working at 96k If that helps.
attreux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.