Old 11-13-2018, 07:36 PM   #1
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,701
Default REAPER v5.962rc1 - November 13 2018

v5.962rc1 - November 13 2018
  • + Autosave: fix autosave when undo is completely disabled
  • + Autosave: manual saves do not prevent autosaves from occurring [t=189230]
  • + JSFX: frequency spectrum analyzer slope control, improve UI layout for smaller sizes
  • + Linux: VST2 bridging/firewalling support
  • + Linux: fix JSFX/ReaScript EEL bug on armv7l
  • + Linux: reduce flicker when certain windows overlap (e.g. meter + track rename)
  • + MIDI editor: better pasting of time-selection-copied notes
  • + MIDI editor: time selection copy better handles notes that begin after selection start [p=2055757]
  • + Marker manager: fix time format autodetection
  • + Media: better handling of take start offsets when disabling item looping
  • + OGG Vorbis: update to libogg 1.3.3, libvorbis 1.3.6
  • + OSC: .ReaperOSC parsing improvements
  • + OSC: add /loop/start/time and /loop/end/time messages
  • + OSC: continue loading .ReaperOSC files that have unknown action tokens
  • + OSC: fix notifications when removing markers
  • + OSC: lowering device marker/region count clears cached values (setting bank size to 0 and increasing forces re-send of marker/region information)
  • + OSC: send marker position and region position/length
  • + OSC: support setting various device counts to 0
  • + OSC: update Default.ReaperOSC to accurately reflect default state
  • + Opus: update to Opus v1.3 (opusfile 0.11)
  • + Project settings: fix writing of default project measure offset [t=213175]
  • + ReaComp: improved knee behavior, added "Weird knee" checkbox for old behavior (default on old state/presets) [t=208286]
  • + ReaEQ: fix incorrect preview display for certain filters
  • + ReaFIR: fix potential graph move when shift+clicking a point [t=212541]
  • + ReaSurround: avoid possible deadlock when changing channel counts [t=213308]
  • + ReaTune: update UI on preset load [t=212979]
  • + ReaXcomp: improve knee behavior, add Quirks menu to allow choosing old behavior (old presets unaffected)
  • + Recording: improve performance when disarming many tracks during recording
  • + Render: add $starttimecode, $endtimecode wildcards [t=213312]
  • + Ruler: fix copying/moving regions with multiple overlapping items [t=213338]
  • + VST3: support notifying plug-ins of track title, GUID, color, and index via IInfoListener interface
  • + linux: auto-cleanup zombie processes when not waiting for return of reaper.ExecProcess() or if jackd takes a long time to exit
  • + macOS: do not use 32-bit bridge on Mojave
  • # MIDI editor: fix paste issue [p=2057153]
  • # VST3: fix channel names in IAttributeList
  • # gfxanalyzer: always update UI on state change
    # jsfx spectrum analyzer tweaks
  • # linux: fix menu popup immediately after opening a window [p=2053638]
Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode


If everybody could distract themselves from the +dev branch and give this a good long test I would appreciate it! Please only post regressions from 5.961 here, thanks!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 10:44 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
v5.962rc1 - November 13 2018
  • + Autosave: fix autosave when undo is completely disabled
Could you elaborate on this ?

For my ("embedded") "Live" application, I disable undo by setting the backlog queue size to zero, in order to allow for cleanly shutting down the system (Windows) and with that the running Reaper instance by pressing the PC's power button (no keyboard/mouse/monitor attached at that box) without Reaper popping up a box asking "save changes ?" .

While I would prefer to have an addition setting "don't save when shutting down" instead of completely disabling the undo, preventing this dialogue is mission critical for me. Moreover a timed autosave also also be a no-go with this application.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de

Last edited by mschnell; 11-13-2018 at 11:00 PM.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 07:29 AM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Could you elaborate on this ?

For my ("embedded") "Live" application, I disable undo by setting the backlog queue size to zero, in order to allow for cleanly shutting down the system (Windows) and with that the running Reaper instance by pressing the PC's power button (no keyboard/mouse/monitor attached at that box) without Reaper popping up a box asking "save changes ?" .

While I would prefer to have an addition setting "don't save when shutting down" instead of completely disabling the undo, preventing this dialogue is mission critical for me. Moreover a timed autosave also also be a no-go with this application.

-Michael
Previously: completely disabling undo (undo size=0MB) would prevent autosave from functioning.

Now: completely disabling undo (undo size=0MB), if autosave is enabled, it will still work. If you prefer not to have autosave, you should disable it (it is disabled by default).
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 07:35 AM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,179
Default

Great. Thanks !
-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 09:33 AM   #5
OD1N
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Default

Prompt. I look in this release stopped working ARA? ( melodyne)
OD1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 10:20 AM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OD1N View Post
Prompt. I look in this release stopped working ARA? ( melodyne)
Yes, 5.962 will not include ARA support (this will likely be in 5.97 in the future) -- for ARA you must use the +dev builds.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 12:40 PM   #7
OD1N
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Yes, 5.962 will not include ARA support (this will likely be in 5.97 in the future) -- for ARA you must use the +dev builds.
So I use the latest version.
OD1N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 12:46 PM   #8
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 415
Default

some plugin UI are still jerky on OSX El Capitan (bug introduced near 5.79).
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 02:56 PM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dupont View Post
some plugin UI are still jerky on OSX El Capitan (bug introduced near 5.79).
Can you figure out the exact version where it changed? Thanks!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 03:43 PM   #10
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
v5.962rc1 - November 13 2018
[*]+ Render: add $starttimecode, $endtimecode wildcards [t=213312]
Could we also get wildcards for absolute frames?
__________________
www.silversound.us
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 07:33 PM   #11
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
Could we also get wildcards for absolute frames?
Yesly.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 08:57 PM   #12
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,940
Default

Not sure if is related, can we have BPM also? Or firstbpm ...
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 02:26 AM   #13
geoffroy
Human being with feelings
 
geoffroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 410
Default

Good idea +1 !
__________________
http://www.brocoli.org
geoffroy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 02:48 AM   #14
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 415
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Can you figure out the exact version where it changed? Thanks!

Originally Posted by dupont
some plugin UI are still jerky on OSX El Capitan (bug introduced near 5.79).
I tried the 4 following OSX versions this morning :

5.79 OK
5.80 OK
5.90 Not OK
5.91 Not OK

So bug introduced in 5.90
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 04:14 AM   #15
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,752
Default

Quick Q - any idea what official release the Lua gmem_attach functionality will appear? This has been working perfectly for me and have been using it extensively.

Noticed it's not in this rc.

Thanks.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 06:53 AM   #16
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Quick Q - any idea what official release the Lua gmem_attach functionality will appear? This has been working perfectly for me and have been using it extensively.

Noticed it's not in this rc.

Thanks.
It will likely be in 5.97.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 07:14 AM   #17
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,752
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
It will likely be in 5.97.
Thank you! It's been very very useful
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 09:19 AM   #18
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
Not sure if is related, can we have BPM also? Or firstbpm ...
Already there as $tempo
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 11:03 AM   #19
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,940
Default

Ohh missed it. Thank you!
Another very useful Would be $projectparentfolder
Req here and why: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=211488
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.