Old 09-23-2010, 03:52 PM   #1
rob.manderson
Human being with feelings
 
rob.manderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 226
Default v3.691pre3

v3.691pre3 - September 23 2010
+ Floating toolbar: fixed refresh on update of theme
+ ASIO: support for requesting audio block size (many drivers will ignore, though)

v3.691pre2 - September 22 2010
+ Themes: fixed drawing glitch on docker tabs (and potentially elsewhere) introduced in 3.69

v3.691pre1 - September 21 2010
+ OSX: fixed potential crash under certain focus conditions (impl IsWindow())

Last edited by rob.manderson; 09-23-2010 at 03:54 PM. Reason: Oops, left out the 3!
rob.manderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 04:20 PM   #2
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,589
Default

Thanks devs, Whilst your doing floating toolbar stuff could we have a action to "lock floating toolbar in place" or something similar as it's so easy to drag the whole window slightly when you miss the button.

My main reason is because I have a small touch screen dedicated to just the toolbar and it's to easy when working fast to accidentally miss a button and move the toolbar window instead.

Sounds petty I know but I'm sure in the future with more and more touchscreens other people will get the same problem

thanks
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 04:25 PM   #3
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,541
Default

Thanks for fixing the FT refresh!


Another GUI question for the devs. I can't remember now (and I'd rather not downgrade), but was this line always here?

[IMG]http://img543.**************/img543/9210/clipboard01j.png[/IMG]

It makes the whole track strip look ugly in this case. Perhaps it should be removed? I see its usefulness in the extended mixer, but here in TCP it just doesn't look so well.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 05:48 PM   #4
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,220
Default

Maybe other stuff is coming, so that divider has to be there.

Hmm.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 06:02 PM   #5
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Maybe other stuff is coming, so that divider has to be there.

Hmm.
Positive Mental Attitude! love it!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 06:05 PM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Maybe other stuff is coming, so that divider has to be there.

Hmm.
Still, the track strip would look a lot cleaner if it weren't there in this particular case? It should appear only when "other stuff comes" and is added below?
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 06:12 PM   #7
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Maybe other stuff is coming, so that divider has to be there.

Hmm.
yeah hm fx bin?
nah...... too much to hope for.
hahahaha
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 07:03 PM   #8
Subz
Human being with feelings
 
Subz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob.manderson View Post
v3.691pre3 - September 23 2010
+ ASIO: support for requesting audio block size (many drivers will ignore, though)
my emu can only be set in milliseconds so i cant get 256 as a buffer setting,

this new option seems to work, Reaper is reporting that the buffer is,

[256spls~7.4/6.2ms ASIO]

Subz

EDIT: nice now i can go down to 96 samples before the lowest multiple of 16 i could get was 224 (88 is the lowest my card can go, i did try to request 64 but it returned 88 <2.4ms>)

Last edited by Subz; 09-23-2010 at 07:22 PM.
Subz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 07:30 PM   #9
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Thanks for fixing the FT refresh!


Another GUI question for the devs. I can't remember now (and I'd rather not downgrade), but was this line always here?

[IMG]http://img543.**************/img543/9210/clipboard01j.png[/IMG]

It makes the whole track strip look ugly in this case. Perhaps it should be removed? I see its usefulness in the extended mixer, but here in TCP it just doesn't look so well.
I can't record under these stressful conditions! Look at that line. It's a catastrophe!

Years later: "Yeah, I think the reason I got out of the music business was this one pivotal event where a prerelease introduced this ugly line. That when I finally snapped...killed everyone in sight. Didn't know what I was doing. It just happened. Fucking line."
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 07:52 PM   #10
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
I can't record under these stressful conditions! Look at that line. It's a catastrophe!

Years later: "Yeah, I think the reason I got out of the music business was this one pivotal event where a prerelease introduced this ugly line. That when I finally snapped...killed everyone in sight. Didn't know what I was doing. It just happened. Fucking line."
its a sign of reapers age...... a line here and there ...botox?
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 08:08 PM   #11
run, megalodon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
I can't record under these stressful conditions! Look at that line. It's a catastrophe!

Years later: "Yeah, I think the reason I got out of the music business was this one pivotal event where a prerelease introduced this ugly line. That when I finally snapped...killed everyone in sight. Didn't know what I was doing. It just happened. Fucking line."
That almost happened to me awhile ago: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=59610
run, megalodon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 08:39 PM   #12
Arnar
Human being with feelings
 
Arnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Smokie Bay.
Posts: 795
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
I can't record under these stressful conditions! Look at that line. It's a catastrophe!

Years later: "Yeah, I think the reason I got out of the music business was this one pivotal event where a prerelease introduced this ugly line. That when I finally snapped...killed everyone in sight. Didn't know what I was doing. It just happened. Fucking line."
That's funny man , cracked me up....LOL
__________________
In Music We Trust.
http://soundcloud.com/hazar
http://soundcloud.com/ifthenrun
Arnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:03 PM   #13
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by run, megalodon View Post
That almost happened to me awhile ago: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=59610
Tap Tempo button. That was a difficult month for many of us.
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:36 PM   #14
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

We all have different needs I think but sometimes I wonder why some people are so obsessed with this 'minor' stuff. Minor for me, major issue for you, I guess. Carry on.

Cheers
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:51 PM   #15
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
We all have different needs I think but sometimes I wonder why some people are so obsessed with this 'minor' stuff. Minor for me, major issue for you, I guess. Carry on.

Cheers
You are aware that at least one of us is joking, right? I won't tell who, though.
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:51 PM   #16
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
We all have different needs I think but sometimes I wonder why some people are so obsessed with this 'minor' stuff. Minor for me, major issue for you, I guess. Carry on.

Cheers
i guess its all minor after all.
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 10:33 PM   #17
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
You are aware that at least one of us is joking, right? I won't tell who, though.
Don't spoil the game! Keep the secret for v4
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 10:57 PM   #18
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Minor for me, major issue for you, I guess. Carry on.
Here's a major issue for me...are we there yet??
__________________
The media are misleading the public about Syria:
https://www.bostonglobe.com/opinion/...tcK/story.html
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 01:33 AM   #19
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,589
Default

"Excellent driver, excellent driver!"
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 02:42 AM   #20
susbemol
Human being with feelings
 
susbemol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
I can't record under these stressful conditions! Look at that line. It's a catastrophe!

Years later: "Yeah, I think the reason I got out of the music business was this one pivotal event where a prerelease introduced this ugly line. That when I finally snapped...killed everyone in sight. Didn't know what I was doing. It just happened. Fucking line."
LOL!
susbemol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 03:41 AM   #21
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post
I can't record under these stressful conditions! Look at that line. It's a catastrophe!

Years later: "Yeah, I think the reason I got out of the music business was this one pivotal event where a prerelease introduced this ugly line. That when I finally snapped...killed everyone in sight. Didn't know what I was doing. It just happened. Fucking line."
This has totally cracked me up!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 11:56 AM   #22
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,577
Default

And that was only the beta version.
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 11:57 AM   #23
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob.manderson View Post
+ ASIO: support for requesting audio block size (many drivers will ignore, though)
Which drivers make use of this? What does it do exactly?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 01:24 PM   #24
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Which drivers make use of this? What does it do exactly?
Not sure which drivers support it (MOTU drivers do not appear to, for example). If you set it to request "256" for example, it will try to get the driver to use 256 sample block size, etc (rather than having to use the driver's config panel).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 01:35 PM   #25
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,706
Default

ASIO4ALL for example reacts on that setting.
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 02:33 PM   #26
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
We all have different needs I think but sometimes I wonder why some people are so obsessed with this 'minor' stuff. Minor for me, major issue for you, I guess. Carry on.

Cheers
Better to catch minor details ASAP then to let them build up until there are tons of little minor annoyances all over the GUI... Agreed that nitpicks like this don't effect the functionality of the software whatsoever, but they are easy fixes that keep the program looking like a professional piece of software and they are even easier to fix when it's just one minor bug at a time
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 03:25 PM   #27
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Not sure which drivers support it (MOTU drivers do not appear to, for example). If you set it to request "256" for example, it will try to get the driver to use 256 sample block size, etc (rather than having to use the driver's config panel).
Alright, thanks! Also doesn't seem to work with RME drivers.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 08:11 PM   #28
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
Better to catch minor details ASAP then to let them build up until there are tons of little minor annoyances all over the GUI... Agreed that nitpicks like this don't effect the functionality of the software whatsoever, but they are easy fixes that keep the program looking like a professional piece of software and they are even easier to fix when it's just one minor bug at a time
Yeah. I don't care too much about those but I have to admit it feels (looks) good when they're fixed

Cheers
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 05:02 AM   #29
Jeffos
Mortal
 
Jeffos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Another GUI question for the devs. I can't remember now (and I'd rather not downgrade), but was this line always here?

[IMG]http://img543.**************/img543/9210/clipboard01j.png[/IMG]

It makes the whole track strip look ugly in this case. Perhaps it should be removed? I see its usefulness in the extended mixer, but here in TCP it just doesn't look so well.
I started a niptick thread about that some time ago (ultra minor but perharps a bug: MCP_fxlist_bg.png used in the TCP)
Jeffos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 05:24 AM   #30
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,541
Default

Thanks for this, Jeffos. I'd really like this nitpick fixed for the TCP...
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 07:34 AM   #31
myreligionisnoise
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
I have a small touch screen
I'm intrigued! What touchscreen is this?
myreligionisnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 09:47 AM   #32
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by myreligionisnoise View Post
I'm intrigued! What touchscreen is this?
Not sure if your implying innuendo or really curious lol

I posted a pic and info in a thread recently, if you search for "Lilliput" you'll find my picture and info
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 01:20 PM   #33
miche
Human being with feelings
 
miche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 539
Default

I didn't see a bug thread for the 3.691, so I'll post here

I noticed a very weird bug that is unfortunately impossible to reproduce.

Some elements get deleted when undoing while they should not! I was editing one track when I pressed undo. At the same time, a whole track lost ALL the items that were on it.

I opened the undo tab and went backwards in the undo list. I checked 5 earlier positions and the items came back. To test what had happened, I started clicking redo and... 2 tracks lost all their items!

This is very, very strange and makes me pretty worried, as you can imagine.

Did anyone notice anything strange like that?

I have a pretty big session that is open: one hour long, 90 audio tracks (not full all the time), about 10 gigs of audio I think and 16'000 audio items. I am using reaper 3.69 (16 bit version) on XP64.

Please let me know if I'd better post that bug report somewhere else
miche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 03:43 PM   #34
Sambo Rouge
Human being with feelings
 
Sambo Rouge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posts: 1,788
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
We all have different needs I think but sometimes I wonder why some people are so obsessed with this 'minor' stuff. Minor for me, major issue for you, I guess. Carry on.

Cheers
I agree, and since this is my first post, who am I to argue?

I believe in keeping things simple, straight forward and uncomplicated.

So delving into the absolute minutiae of developmental perfection is right up there with sitting in a midnight field waiting for a crop circle to appear.

To constantly improve Reaper with such care and enthusiasm, and still have a life outside of Digitopia, is in itself a mega challenge. I think its only fair that the devs concentrate on the really important improvements.

I take my hat off to them and thank them for their hard work. Having worked in a similar situation over the years, I can really appreciate all of the long hours, determined sweaty sessions and sometimes crushing frustration. I'm convinced its paying off big time.

Having used Audition, Cubase and a few others, I think Reaper is in front of
the pack --- plus they have a better attitude.
Sambo Rouge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 06:42 PM   #35
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sambo Rouge View Post
I agree, and since this is my first post, who am I to argue?

I believe in keeping things simple, straight forward and uncomplicated.

So delving into the absolute minutiae of developmental perfection is right up there with sitting in a midnight field waiting for a crop circle to appear.

To constantly improve Reaper with such care and enthusiasm, and still have a life outside of Digitopia, is in itself a mega challenge. I think its only fair that the devs concentrate on the really important improvements.

I take my hat off to them and thank them for their hard work. Having worked in a similar situation over the years, I can really appreciate all of the long hours, determined sweaty sessions and sometimes crushing frustration. I'm convinced its paying off big time.

Having used Audition, Cubase and a few others, I think Reaper is in front of
the pack --- plus they have a better attitude.
You use a WORD like MINUTIAE and think you are out of digitopia?.....
no, my man(woman?) you are either the twisted ex employee of avid or
the one that notices how the sky is just blue enough... for a first post you got it ........ Reaper IS THE S*^%.... but we have a request or 2..
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 02:49 AM   #36
Subz
Human being with feelings
 
Subz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,950
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollie View Post
ASIO4ALL for example reacts on that setting.

so dose the E-MU PCI cards (0404, 1212, 1820, 1616)

with my Mackie Onyx (Satellite) it dose mad stuff!!

Subz
Subz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 07:59 AM   #37
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,577
Default

Reaper should never get so good as to make the faults of our hardware noticeable.
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 09:00 AM   #38
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,839
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miche View Post
Some elements get deleted when undoing while they should not! I was editing one track when I pressed undo. At the same time, a whole track lost ALL the items that were on it ... I am using reaper 3.69 (16 bit version) on XP64
If you have a problem with the released version of REAPER, the right place to report it is in the bug report forum, here: http://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22

What you are describing sounds like a known bug that was fixed in 3.68, so if there is any way to reproduce that problem in 3.69, we would be very interested to hear it.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 01:39 AM   #39
miche
Human being with feelings
 
miche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 539
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
If you have a problem with the released version of REAPER, the right place to report it is in the bug report forum, here: http://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22

What you are describing sounds like a known bug that was fixed in 3.68, so if there is any way to reproduce that problem in 3.69, we would be very interested to hear it.
I didn't test the current RC (that has just been officially release I can see). I usually only do it to see if I can reproduce bugs so that I can report them here.

But I am working with a version that is older 3.68 (3.69, compiled sept 20 2010), so the undo bug is still there. I cannot find a way to reproduce it but this happened to me at least three times. At first, I thought I was doing something wrong though I couldn't understand why. It seems it occurs pretty randomly, when working on big projects.

I can describe you what I was doing when the bugs happened and how they did in details, if that is of any use for you.
miche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 03:20 PM   #40
miche
Human being with feelings
 
miche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 539
Default

Schwa, the bug is still there in 3.71.

I experienced that there are also midi items that disappear, not only audio.

I will try to see how this can be reproduced, even though I have big doubts: it looks like it happens totally randomly and not very often (I lost items about 4 times today, and I worked for 12 hours so far using Reaper). If I find anything, I will post it in an appropriate section.

This bug truly gives me nightmares
miche is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.