Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2022, 03:40 PM   #241
Jesta
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Default Web remote

Hi, well so far this is working excellently for me. Thank you so much! I have one request - I'm not even sure whether it's possible or not.

The layout for the remote web interface is very useful, but it would be even better if it showed the title of the current song somewhere.

Unless I have the computer screen where I can see it I'm blindly using the navigation buttons to switch songs and it's kinda scary waiting to see if it's the song I'm expecting or not! Is that something that can be done?

Cheers!

NOTE: I found this, which looks like it would be perfect EXCEPT that it works by having all songs in one project within folders. I prefer ReaLive's method of multiple project tabs - https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=181159

Last edited by Jesta; 11-24-2022 at 03:58 PM.
Jesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2022, 07:34 AM   #242
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Hello Jesta,
Thanks for your interest in this. I understand the request as I've been confronted to it many times. I've never put much effort in coding this as I'm very poor in WEB stuff. I've built this using Jon Tidey's stuff


Let me know if there's anything I can help you with.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2022, 05:33 AM   #243
Jesta
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks lexaproductions, I really appreciate the work you've put into this.

In case anyone else is interested, I didn't work out how to display the song title on the web remote control app BUT I did manage to figure out a workaround of sorts, although it requires a second device.

Firstly, set up the Web Remote for ReaLive exactly as it is usually. Then (and here's something I didn't know…) you can add an ADDITIONAL web remote controller by specifying a different port number. On this new setup, choose the lyrics layout.

Then I added a track to every song, ran the lyrics.lua script and put the title of the song in the first line (maybe later I might put the actual lyrics in, or the titles of each song section).

This way I can have eg. my phone as the main controller for ReaLive and a second device eg. tablet displaying the song title that is about to begin. It's also handy because I can give other band members the specific lyric remote url and they can see what's coming next on their own devices too! No more shouting song titles across the stage!

I won't go into how to use the lyrics script here as it's covered elsewhere - here's where I found an example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMZZvk4x93o&t=462s
Jesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2022, 07:09 AM   #244
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Clever!!!
Well done.
Im working on it.

Last edited by lexaproductions; 01-08-2023 at 02:43 PM.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2022, 09:50 AM   #245
itamar92
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesta View Post
Thanks lexaproductions, I really appreciate the work you've put into this.

In case anyone else is interested, I didn't work out how to display the song title on the web remote control app BUT I did manage to figure out a workaround of sorts, although it requires a second device.

Firstly, set up the Web Remote for ReaLive exactly as it is usually. Then (and here's something I didn't know…) you can add an ADDITIONAL web remote controller by specifying a different port number. On this new setup, choose the lyrics layout.

Then I added a track to every song, ran the lyrics.lua script and put the title of the song in the first line (maybe later I might put the actual lyrics in, or the titles of each song section).

This way I can have eg. my phone as the main controller for ReaLive and a second device eg. tablet displaying the song title that is about to begin. It's also handy because I can give other band members the specific lyric remote url and they can see what's coming next on their own devices too! No more shouting song titles across the stage!

I won't go into how to use the lyrics script here as it's covered elsewhere - here's where I found an example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMZZvk4x93o&t=462s
that's a nice workaround! but why not just use the region reader in the Realive Web app and in every first region instead of writing "Count" just write the name of your song. that way when you scroll between songs you will know which song you're at.
itamar92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2022, 11:44 AM   #246
Jesta
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Default

itamar92. good idea! I think I'll use both methods together - rename "Count" for myself, and lyrics track for others onstage.
Jesta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2022, 11:46 AM   #247
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

I think the best idea is to mod that web remote setup to read the project title. Great idea! That, I think I can make happen.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2023, 01:07 AM   #248
itamar92
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 27
Default Importing Config

Hey,
is there a way to filter the config that I import?
for example, every time I import your Realive Config I need to redefine the media Explorer DB and Folders path
itamar92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2023, 08:39 AM   #249
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

I know…. This is VERY annoying. But I don’t know how.
Would need to parse the reaper.ini file… or something.

I’ll if there’s anything I can do.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2023, 09:56 AM   #250
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Try this:
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2023, 09:58 AM   #251
Nikos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Try this:
Thanks
Nikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2023, 10:34 PM   #252
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by itamar92 View Post
Hey,
is there a way to filter the config that I import?
for example, every time I import your Realive Config I need to redefine the media Explorer DB and Folders path
Hey Man, I just sent you an inbox concerning this. Would you have a look please?
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2023, 05:37 AM   #253
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Just answered. Glad we could fix it.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2023, 02:39 PM   #254
Nikos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 7
Default

Hi
I have make my first track with click and cues in Realive and it was very easy thanks again I am very happy.
But a small problem.
(I have put in the Realive the last release )
- When I execute the Conductors track Build i lose my cues sample

and one comprehension question

What is the series of step for a new project of songs play list
1) save and named a playlist
2) save Audio routing ( in separate folder on disk or in the folder of the first reaper project song file )
3) Save every other song - projects separately

I am little confuse with the audio routing meaning and save

Last edited by Nikos; 03-09-2023 at 01:58 AM.
Nikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2023, 03:10 PM   #255
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Great. Happy you like it.
The procedure to build a song is to build the conductor track BEFORE you add all your extra cues. REALIVE will build the main section cues and then you can add your personnalized stuff afterwards.

You can also rebuild the Region track and click track separately should you desire to not change your cue track. Right click on the timeline to get the functions.

I usually save my playlist that the end.
1- I save my Audio Routing first
2- I build all my songs saving each of them while I work.
3- I double-click on the playlist area at the top of the playlist window to give it a name and save it.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2023, 03:12 PM   #256
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

The Audio Routing is a "Master Out Mixer" type of project. This is the main routing point between all your songs and your audio device. If you want to repatch anything on your audio interface, you do it from there and all your projects follows.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2023, 04:21 PM   #257
Nikos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Great. Happy you like it.
The procedure to build a song is to build the conductor track BEFORE you add all your extra cues. REALIVE will build the main section cues and then you can add your personnalized stuff afterwards.

You can also rebuild the Region track and click track separately should you desire to not change your cue track. Right click on the timeline to get the functions.

I usually save my playlist that the end.
1- I save my Audio Routing first
2- I build all my songs saving each of them while I work.
3- I double-click on the playlist area at the top of the playlist window to give it a name and save it.
Ok I make rebuilt structure track only and all ok, how can I open, in live mode the, Transport Info Window ( manual page 20 )
Nikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2023, 04:34 PM   #258
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Letter J
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2023, 02:19 AM   #259
Nikos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Letter J
That's great, the transport info it suppose to change info in every region ?

I make a small video,
https://youtu.be/2lmCQUn1krI
Nikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2023, 03:38 AM   #260
itamar92
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 27
Default playlist conig bug

hey. I'm getting an error message when trying to save the default path of loading/saving playlist path.

...ipts/ReaLive/ProjectTabsList/Realive_ProjectTabsList.lua:1262: bad argument #3 to 'SetExtState' (string expected, got nil)

happen since the last config update
itamar92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2023, 06:18 AM   #261
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikos View Post
That's great, the transport info it suppose to change info in every region ?

I make a small video,
https://youtu.be/2lmCQUn1krI
The transport info is to highlight the cursor's placement and not the play cursor. Using the Left-Right arrows you can navigate in your song.

BTW, it is better to never use the transport's play button but always play/stop with the spacebar. A LOT of stuff happens behind the scenes when you hit the spacebar or use the Realive playback actions. I can't assign any scripting to the transport buttons.

Last edited by lexaproductions; 03-09-2023 at 10:40 AM.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2023, 10:58 AM   #262
Nikos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 7
Default A small error

__Realive_MainAPI.lua:2263: Bad file descriptor


Thanks always

Last edited by Nikos; 03-10-2023 at 11:11 AM.
Nikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2023, 12:23 PM   #263
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikos View Post
__Realive_MainAPI.lua:2263: Bad file descriptor
Thanks always
Hi Brother, I'll need more infos. What were you doing when you got this?
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2023, 12:40 PM   #264
Nikos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Hi Brother, I'll need more infos. What were you doing when you got this?
Yes of course, I am sorry.
when project hit the action marker Next song:Meas.(NoStop)-------> but i just realized that I put number 1 for first measure and you write in the box " Bar number (or Blank for first ), I thing that I had to put from 2 and up.

Update
I put 2 and i have the above error ( the same with the two action marls Next song Seek (NoStop) , Next song Meas. (NoStop).

Update
https://youtu.be/bfoB47PAAxM

Last edited by Nikos; 03-10-2023 at 12:58 PM.
Nikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2023, 12:56 PM   #265
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Got it. Will send a fix today. In The Meantime, you can use the Action Marker "Next Song: Stop/NoStop"
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2023, 02:23 PM   #266
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

There you go. It is now fixed. You can redownload the config.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2023, 05:30 AM   #267
Nikos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 7
Default

Hi LexaProductions
I want to ask, can I request some extra cues ? or how i make a new
Thanks
Nikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2023, 05:32 AM   #268
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

I have it on my slate to do an update of Cues.
Send me your suggestions.

It is a bit involved to add new cues as you must add them to the lookup table and decoding so that they can added automatically.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2023, 03:11 PM   #269
cycosuicide
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 32
Default Looking forward to it

Alrighty, I sent a donation and I'm looking forward to using this for my Live solo shows.
cycosuicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2023, 06:45 PM   #270
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cycosuicide View Post
Alrighty, I sent a donation and I'm looking forward to using this for my Live solo shows.

Thanks for your interest in REALIVE. I just sent you the link.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2023, 04:51 PM   #271
cycosuicide
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 32
Default Tempo Markers

When in the Tempo View, you have a button, "Insert Tempo Marker at Curs". When I press this, it does not insert a new tempo marker but rather its for editing the first tempo marker at the beginning of the song.

In order to insert a new tempo marker in the middle of a song, I had to go to the Timeline dropdown menu, go to Tempo Markers, then Insert Tempo Marker...

Then it brings up the menu for a new Tempo Marker at exactly the position of where my cursor is located.

Please check it out.

Regardless, I'm getting the hang of what you have here, and I'm enjoying it.

Thanks again.
cycosuicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2023, 04:58 PM   #272
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Cool I’ll check it out thanks
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2023, 10:30 PM   #273
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Maybe I don't understand your request properly?

lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2023, 11:57 AM   #274
cycosuicide
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Maybe I don't understand your request properly?

Oh wow! Thank you for taking the time.

I went and tried it again, and it works exactly as you just showed. Well clearly I did something wrong initially.

Thank you again for your attention.

Last edited by cycosuicide; 04-22-2023 at 12:01 PM. Reason: Went and tested, here's my result
cycosuicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2023, 12:10 PM   #275
cycosuicide
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 32
Default REALIVE short review

Alright my friends,

I've spent hours over the last few day with REALIVE trying to learn it and use it for my live performances.

Last night I went over the Action List and WOW! The amount of custom actions is nuts. There's a lot of cool creative things I can do with this.

There's definitely a learning curve as I have my own customization for Reaper when I use it for studio work. I'm simply trying to learn his way of using Reaper for live performance. Once I understood things better, building the tracks and setting things up became faster.

I highly recommend this if you do Live Performances. The donation price is more than reasonable and Lexaproductions is very responsive to questions.

Now I have put it to use in an actual Live Performance yet, but this is much more superior to what I was doing before with Reaper when I performed Live with it.

Nice Work Lexaproductions. Thank you!!!!!!
cycosuicide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2023, 11:06 AM   #276
Koley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 12
Default Reaper WRB

Hey! How would i get the the WRB to show the current project displayed?

It’s asking for “projExtState Section” and “projExtState key” ?
Koley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2023, 01:41 PM   #277
tbdroye
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 13
Default Reordering Project Tabs

So many cool features in ReaLive! Really appreciate your time and attention to this, LexaProductions!

Question for you: is there a way to JUST use the actions/scripts that allow you to reorder project tabs on the fly though, while using a standard Reaper setup (one that doesn't have all of ReaLive's customizations, just using the Reaper default theme, etc.)?

I'm finding this is currently my biggest hurdle to using Reaper in a live situation. Being able to easily move project tabs (without having to drag and drop the project tabs in Reaper) would be a total game changer for me.

Any thoughts?
tbdroye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2023, 02:24 PM   #278
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Well in Realive’s preferences in the option menu, you can disable the live mode and stay in edit mode.
Then you can use the skin you want.

That being said, there are a lot of « under the hood » stuff happening to keep everything together. So your mileage may vary.

With Reaper’s recent additions in the pre release thread, there are quite a few workaround that won’t be necessary anymore. That will allow a more « stock » experience.
So stay tuned.

That being said, Realive is really tailored to maximize the live experience so with a bit of getting used to, you can get a very intuitive workflow.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2023, 02:14 AM   #279
Hipox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 204
Default

Hi!

Just a quick question - how should I go about updating ReaLive to a newer version if I already payed for a previous one?
Do I get "lifetime" licence or how does it work?
Hipox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2023, 02:19 PM   #280
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,128
Default

Same link. The latest build is always there.

You are more than welcome to donate again if you feel like it.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.