Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2019, 11:34 AM   #1
ovitus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Default MIDI devices in Reaper for Tidalcycles

I'm trying to create a MIDI input device in Reaper so I can send MIDI to it from SuperCollider with the SuperDirt quark using Tidalcycles. Before I was able to do this in Renoise by simply creating a MIDI In device and evaluating this line in SuperCollider:

MIDIClient.init

Doing that would initialize MIDI in SuperDirt and I'd see a string in the post window with the available Midi In device from Renoise, which I could then copy into the next line to evaluate and initialize my device into the midiOut object:

~midiOut = MIDIOut.newByName("Renoise MIDI Input", "Renoise MIDI In Port A")

Trouble is, I've changed my DAW to Reaper for VST3 support. Now I'm having trouble setting up MIDI. I enabled 'Midi Input 1' device, but it doesn't show up in SuperCollider as before when calling 'MIDIClient.init'

I do see 'Midi Input 1' in Jack's audio connection graph, but it's red and I can't make any connection to it.
ovitus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 12:56 PM   #2
ovitus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Default

It appears Reaper uses Jack MIDI which isn't compatible with SuperCollider looking for ALSA MIDI. So I'm trying to get a2jmidi_bridge working and I can connect the 'capture' side of that to 'MIDI Input 1' on REAPER.

I now see it in SuperCollider:
MIDI Destinations:
MIDIEndPoint("a2j_bridge", "playback")

But when evaluating:
~midiOut = MIDIOut.newByName("a2j_bridge", "playback");

and trying to send a sequence from TidalCycles, I don't see or hear anything in Reaper.. What am I missing?
ovitus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 01:21 PM   #3
ovitus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 4
Smile

Nevermind, I got it working by restarting SuperCollider and re-evaluating. I think the ~midiOut variable wasn't updating.
ovitus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 07:30 AM   #4
kytdkut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 45
Smile

Thanks for sharing how you solved your problem

I'm just about to start trying to connect transport start/stop in REAPER with a SC pattern .play and .stop methods. I guess I'm starting with OSC first, don't know if MIDI is precise enough to guarantee identical-esque results between plays (I need to export the audio).

Do you use this type of setup? Or do you just livecode?

Cheers!
kytdkut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.