Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2019, 02:39 PM   #1
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Question Request of the same script done for MT-Powedrums but now for Amplesound

Hi,

Lokasenna helped "us" with a lua script so we can drag drum midi in from MT-Powerdrumkit in Reaper, and it's working great. There is same approach with AmpleSound Acoustic MII Lite. There is a button in the GUI that says: Drag to host. I did a test and it creates a temp.mid file in /home/user/Documents/Ample Sound, but as in Powerdrums before the script it doesn't work just to drag it in Reaper. Would be awesome if it could be done.

Thanks in advanced
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 09:17 AM   #2
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Bump-eli-bump
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 04:38 PM   #3
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,276
Default

The script you're talking about specifically has an option to add presets for other plugins.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 11:53 PM   #4
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
The script you're talking about specifically has an option to add presets for other plugins.
Aha, interesting.
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 01:53 AM   #5
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Hmmm, can't get it do work

I added Ample Sound Acoutics as the same I did for MT-Powerdrums in "Insert most recent exported file..." and added path to temp.mid for Amplesound.



Attached error message appear after I drag it and used my shortcut (i). And I haven't edit the script at all . Did a new installation also of the whole thing.



Don't know how important the FX Name is. Is the name of the dll file or in Reapers FX list?
Attached Images
File Type: png error.png (5.4 KB, 26 views)
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.

Last edited by Tobbe; 03-24-2019 at 02:11 AM.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 06:16 AM   #6
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,670
Default

Maybe it's the path again?


https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=226
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 09:41 AM   #7
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Amplesound creates the path so I don't know how to solve it. I tried with "Ample Sound" but that doesn't work. It's not a big issue really.
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.

Last edited by Tobbe; 03-24-2019 at 10:53 AM.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 10:14 AM   #8
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,670
Default

During the install, you don't get to specify a path?

Anyway you can try adding this as the path in the script, instead of what's shown in the picture:

Code:
/home/tobbe/Documents/Ample\ Sound
Or maybe one of these two would work:

Code:
"/home/tobbe/Documents/Ample Sound"
Code:
'/home/tobbe/Documents/Ample Sound'
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux

Last edited by JamesPeters; 03-24-2019 at 10:22 AM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 10:58 AM   #9
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
During the install, you don't get to specify a path?

Anyway you can try adding this as the path in the script, instead of what's shown in the picture:

Code:
/home/tobbe/Documents/Ample\ Sound
Or maybe one of these two would work:

Code:
"/home/tobbe/Documents/Ample Sound"
Code:
'/home/tobbe/Documents/Ample Sound'
Hehehe, now all three are working. Tried the middle one before but it didn't. Go figure????

Thank you!
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 11:19 AM   #10
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,670
Default

Glad to help!

I sometimes need to use Terminal to build things, or to fix problems with my configuration of the distro. Because of this I had to learn how to deal with spaces in path names, for navigating when using Terminal. It's one of those "Linux things" you need to remember.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2019, 11:27 AM   #11
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Glad to help!

I sometimes need to use Terminal to build things, or to fix problems with my configuration of the distro. Because of this I had to learn how to deal with spaces in path names, for navigating when using Terminal. It's one of those "Linux things" you need to remember.
Absolutely
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 12:50 AM   #12
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Seems it doesn't work if you change the chord and drag a new midi file. It's getting the same chord as the previous one. Maybe it doesn't work with lite version of Ample Sound Acoustics.

And if I create a shortcut it doesn't work either, only the "Go" button. Well, we can't have it all.

Another acoustic is used here and he drag and drop different chords:
https://youtu.be/UwDWYRwYfIE
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 06:08 AM   #13
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,276
Default



I'll try to find some time this week to install it so I can see what it's doing first-hand.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 07:32 AM   #14
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post


I'll try to find some time this week to install it so I can see what it's doing first-hand.
Great. Thank your time.
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 12:52 PM   #15
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post


I'll try to find some time this week to install it so I can see what it's doing first-hand.
Any chance you had any time looking in to this issue?
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 01:23 PM   #16
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,276
Default

No. It's still on the top of the list though.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 12:20 AM   #17
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
No. It's still on the top of the list though.
Thank you.
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 08:21 PM   #18
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,276
Default

I PMed Tobbe earlier, but in case anyone else has ideas:

- I've got Ample Sound MII Lite installed on my Windows partition, and have it running on Linux via LinVST.
- Exporting obviously works fine on Windows, but I can't find any new MIDI files being created if I try to export on Linux.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 07:27 AM   #19
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Did a test and it didn't work at all.

Dragged created temp.mid into Reaper and deleted it from /home/tobbe/Documents/Ample Sound/. Change chord in Amplesound and click the "Drag To Host" button, a new temp.mid is created and I dragged that on in Reaper also. Played back the midi files and they play the same chord. The last I touched.

I think this is something we can leave behind until Linux comes with something similar.

Thanks Lokasenna, no need to put more headache over this.

//Tobbe
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.