Old 10-02-2018, 03:18 PM   #1
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 408
Default How to use lv2vst ?

I installed lv2vst from Synaptic, where it installed in
/opt/kx-studio presenting four folders full of related icons,
which a programmer, or someone with a longer beard than mine
would likely know about, but a wannabee musician, not so much.

Assuming I have lv2 plugins in either
/home/me/.lv2

or /usr/lib/lv2

what commands are used to make it wrap those plugins?
The docs were unhelpful for such basics, and some google
time turned up nothing useful.

Steb by step by step would be very helpful.
LinVst is simple and wonderful to use,
but a very different sort of app,
according to X42, who I think the sole author
of lv2vst thus far.
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 10:50 PM   #2
Snap
Human being with feelings
 
Snap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 850
Default

I haven't used it yet, but the README is actually quite good IMHO

https://github.com/x42/lv2vst/blob/master/README.md

Does it have a man page? Try

Code:
man lv2vst
There's no GUI, but a TUI. If you are not used to the command line a TUI might feel discouraging, but they're usually easy to use.

In any case, keep in mind that it's experimental and not all plugins will work.
Snap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 01:08 AM   #3
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

What I did was this after I installed lv2vst via Synaptic:

Via terminal

1. sudo apt install carla-git carla-vst
2. sudo apt install calf-plugins (very good and nice GUI)
3. back to Synaptic and installed x42 and IR (LV2 IR Reverb)
4. Start Reaper and add a track
5. Add Carla-Rack (falkTX) and here you can add Calf Plugins and others
6. I got VST:x42-eq - Parametric Equalizer in FX list, rest are via Carla-Rack
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled.png (35.4 KB, 165 views)
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 02:14 AM   #4
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 408
Default

Thanks for the replies, I'll re-read things
and hope for more clarity. I'm not the
sharpest tool in the shed, but I keep doing
laps til I finally get it, when it's a worthwhile victory.
The GIT way appears to set up shop in a different way
than the package installed via Synaptic.

I've used the carla-rack vst to host lv2's
before lv2vst came along, I assume lv2vst is some
alternative that is easier than adding the rack plugin
for each track with an lv2.
Cheers

Last edited by 4duhwinnn; 10-03-2018 at 02:24 AM.
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 02:50 AM   #5
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,787
Default

IIRC, it's a shell type vst plugin, that presents the lv2 plugins that it finds in LV2_PATH as vst plugins. There is also whitelist/blacklist support to include/exclude plugins.

So you just need lv2vst.so somewhere (with optional .blacklist /.whitelist files) and lv2 plugins installed in the LV2_PATH. Most (all) Harrison plugins, as well as X42 plugins work with it, others may or may not.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)

Last edited by Jack Winter; 10-03-2018 at 03:15 AM.
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 03:08 AM   #6
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 408
Default

I utterly failed to see the warning in the version provided
by synaptic that warns not to use it
unless you're a packager.

Thanks for the extra tips towards the GIT version!
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 07:48 AM   #7
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
IIRC, it's a shell type vst plugin, that presents the lv2 plugins that it finds in LV2_PATH as vst plugins. There is also whitelist/blacklist support to include/exclude plugins.

So you just need lv2vst.so somewhere (with optional .blacklist /.whitelist files) and lv2 plugins installed in the LV2_PATH. Most (all) Harrison plugins, as well as X42 plugins work with it, others may or may not.
How should those white & blacklist look like? I installed Mixbus and pointed out /opt/Mixbus/lib in Reaper but nothing shows up.
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 10:44 AM   #8
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,787
Default

That's because the plugins are not in the lv2 search path. You probably have to set the LV2_PATH variable, something like this:
Code:
export LV2_PATH=/opt/Mixbus32C-4.1.716/lib/LV2/
Or copy the entire LV2 dir into /usr/lib/lv2, though that's probably naughty as your package manager will no longer know all that's installed in /usr/lib/lv2..

Personally I have a ~/.lv2 and set the LV2_PATH variable.

lv2ls will show what plugins the system finds.

A whitelist or blacklist might look like this:

Code:
cat .blacklist 
http://gareus.org/oss/lv2/balance
http://ssj71.github.io/infamousPlugins
Note that you don't need to add the path to the lv2 plugins in reaper's vst search path, reaper only needs to find lv2vst.so.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 03:15 PM   #9
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 408
Default

Thanks for your added tips. Success!!!
Without going the GIT route, I copied
the synaptic supplied lv2vst.so that was in /opt/kxstudio/lib
to

/usr/lib/lv2
/home/me/.lv2
/home/me/myreaper-folder/Plugins

did the export paths accordingly,
launched reaper, added /home/me/.lv2
to the vst path list, (for luck) and restarted reaper,
voila...a hundred + lv2 plugins appear.

Will take some time to sort, but the
gx, zam, calf, invada and mda effects contain some
keepers.
,
An rkr plugin crashed reaper, an 'Infamous' plugin
spiked enough to mute the track, some calfs
respond on some but not all controls, but
there's plenty to work with, with cautions.

Without first having removed all the working linux vsts,
it might be confusing sorting between vst and wrapped lv2,
as many can be installed both ways via kxstudio repository.
But the engine runs before burning rubber!

And thanks to falkTX and X42 for their collaborative efforts,
and hopefully lv2 coders will get more people trying
and enjoying their creations.
Cheers

Last edited by 4duhwinnn; 10-03-2018 at 03:20 PM.
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 04:49 PM   #10
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 408
Default

Tried some more rkr plugins (derived from Rakarrack)
and they work OK, so that's a good thing. With a lot of
large lv2 collections in lv2 format, there's bound to be a few
odd ducks.
Cheers

and some zynaddsubfx lv2's also working OK

synth padthv1, Rui Capela's take on zynaddsubfx padsynth module
is also working, a great sounding additive instrument.

Last edited by 4duhwinnn; 10-03-2018 at 05:21 PM. Reason: more
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 11:12 PM   #11
Snap
Human being with feelings
 
Snap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 850
Default

Quote:
Or copy the entire LV2 dir into /usr/lib/lv2
Quote:
I copied
the synaptic supplied lv2vst.so that was in /opt/kxstudio/lib
to

/usr/lib/lv2
/home/me/.lv2
/home/me/myreaper-folder/Plugins
Better don't duplicate stuff, guys. Not a good idea. Use links instead.

Something like:

Code:
sudo ln -s /opt/kxstudio/lib/lv2vst.so /usr/lib/lv2/lv2vst.so
ln -s /opt/kxstudio/lib/lv2vst.so /home/me/.lv2/lv2vst.so
If you don't have some other users in your system needing to use lv2vst aside of "me", linking the shared object into /home/me/.lv2 should be the best practice. Of course you won't ever do audio from root, will you? If you have more than just one user doing audio, /usr/lib/ or even better, /usr/local/lib/ is the right path to put those links in and keeping your system clean and tidy.

Duplicating stuff is not a good idea on its own in the first place. But also whenever the stuff is upgraded/updated you must remember to manually copy all the duplicates again for every single update or you will end up using the old outdated pieces. Using softlinks instead of copying executables or shared objects will point to the right stuff at all times and you can forget about it.

PD, File managers use to have options to make softlinks if someone prefers to have a GUI, though running GUI programs as root is not a very good practice either. Better use the CLI for this kind of things if possible.

Last edited by Snap; 10-03-2018 at 11:41 PM.
Snap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 11:51 PM   #12
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Thank you Snap. I think I follow your tips.
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 11:41 PM   #13
Snap
Human being with feelings
 
Snap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 850
Default

One more thing. Some devs use crap naming schemes like in Mixbus and other programs. A name like "Mixbus32C-4.1.716" is ok for a tarball or a zip file when downloading to identify versions, but once installed it's a mess. The directory containing the program and friends should be named plainly as the program name; "Mixbus32C" so it keeps working across upgrades.

When having stuff like this try to rename the folder and check if it still works. Some programs will keep working fine, some others won't. In this case, the links should be manually re-made.

An example:

Let's say you get a brand new version: Mixbus32C-4.2.39. Whatever you had specifically pointing at /opt/Mixbus32C-4.1.716 will be broken.

Try this:

Code:
mv /opt/Mixbus32C-4.2.39 /opt/Mixbus32C
And redo your stuff; correct paths, links...

If this works, you are good to go for future releases. If it still doesn't work, revert the changes:

Code:
mv /opt/Mixbus32C /opt/Mixbus32C-4.2.39
And redo your stuff; correct paths, links... every time a new release is installed. Not so nice, indeed.

PS, A dirty workaround.

I was reluctant to post it, but I use it on my systems and it works, though it's dirty... linking links to links is awful, but...

Instead of renaming directories make a properly named softlink along with it.

Code:
ln -s /opt/Mixbus32C-4.2.39 /opt/Mixbus32C
This should survive across upgrades keeping paths and links working. Don't tell anyone I told you about

Last edited by Snap; 10-04-2018 at 11:53 PM.
Snap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 12:50 AM   #14
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 359
Default

Aha, thats why it didn't work for me. I dont have 32c but the other version of Mixbus and I think the folder is in version name Mixbus-5.5 something.

Thanks again Snap. Everything is written down 👍👏👏👏
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 11:46 AM   #15
experimentfailed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA/Michigan
Posts: 90
Unhappy

Well hopefully I don't upset anybody by bumping this. It's not THAT old yet, anyway. It's basically the same thing I'm struggling with, though, so don't think it would make sense to start a new one.

Anyway, I just can't get this silly thing working, even after following the information given here, that apparently has worked for others. Probably overlooking something simple.

Steps so far:
First, I downloaded and compiled lv2vst, and copied the resulting .so to ~/.vst/lv2vst

Next, I had already installed a bunch of LV2 plugins via Portage in Gentoo (https://packages.gentoo.org/packages...lugins/swh-lv2). This puts all the plugins in /usr/lib64/lv2

So I ran

Code:
export LV2_PATH=/usr/lib64/lv2
Launched REAPER and nothing happened. Double checked my VST path in Prefrences, and did a "Clear cache/re-scan" to no avail. Also tried copying the plugins to my home folder ensuring I had full read/write/execute permissions but still nothing. I know VSTs are working in general, as I already have one third-party installed, plus all the stock Rea ones work.

If I'm doing something wrong, I can't work it out. Hopeing someone might be able to help spot the issue!

Thanks in advance for any help, and for reading either way!
experimentfailed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 08:51 AM   #16
halfshavedyaks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 35
Default

It didn't work for me at first either.

What *seemed* to work eventually was putting the lv2vst.so at the top level of the .vst folder rather than in it's own subfolder. This is despite all my other vsts working fine in subfolders.

That might just be a coincidence though. Maybe the scanning the lv2s just took a while to catch up.

Quite a lot of lv2 plugins don't work or only partially work for me so far.

It is frustrating that the .so filenames don't match the plugin names, and the whitelisting is done by web URI which I really don't get.

setBfree - works

calf plugins work but only generic gui is available

avl drums - works but clicking on the GUI crashes reaper

yoshimi, wolpertinger and some others don't show up at all.
halfshavedyaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 01:48 AM   #17
sub26nico
Human being with feelings
 
sub26nico's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by halfshavedyaks View Post
It didn't work for me at first either.

What *seemed* to work eventually was putting the lv2vst.so at the top level of the .vst folder rather than in it's own subfolder. This is despite all my other vsts working fine in subfolders.

That might just be a coincidence though. Maybe the scanning the lv2s just took a while to catch up.

Quite a lot of lv2 plugins don't work or only partially work for me so far.

It is frustrating that the .so filenames don't match the plugin names, and the whitelisting is done by web URI which I really don't get.

setBfree - works

calf plugins work but only generic gui is available

avl drums - works but clicking on the GUI crashes reaper

yoshimi, wolpertinger and some others don't show up at all.
Avl drums works fine here, but only a few of lv2 works. Don't forget it's a "experimental LV2 to VST2.x wrapper ".
__________________
http://librazik.tuxfamily.org/
sub26nico is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.