Old 05-13-2019, 02:17 AM   #1
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 510
Default Plugin alliance Plugins

Hi everyone, just a quick question related to the knobs/sliders on the bx_ plugins.
I´ve noticed that when changing parameters with mouse click + drag the values change very unstable for all the plugins i have from Plugin Alliance. If i use the scroll value change smoother but increment / decrement on values that i m not interested in. Most of the plugins i use from other companies i have no problem changing the values.
I asked a couple of friend and they have no problem (with plugin alliance), but they use other daws.
Is this a DAW related issue or simply a know bus in Reaper?

Thanks

EDIT: The channel x and VSM3 they work OK , only for the bx_ ones.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060

Last edited by pepe44; 05-13-2019 at 02:24 AM.
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:43 AM   #2
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 510
Default

Ok, installed the VST version and doesn't happen. Only VST3 the knobs behave weird. Anyone ?
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:48 AM   #3
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8,317
Default

I think the default mouse movement is rotational, not up-and-down as most plugins are. I think there might be somewhere you can change that behaviour, but I just use the mouse wheel.
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:56 AM   #4
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 510
Default

Hi Judders, mousewheel values are not incremented by 0.1 with their plugins, there is the Shift + drag that smooths out the changes. Its a DAW related issue, doesnt happen on other DAWs, strange not hearing more comments on this.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:58 AM   #5
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8,317
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
Hi Judders, mousewheel values are not incremented by 0.1 with their plugins, there is the Shift + drag that smooths out the changes. Its a DAW related issue, doesnt happen on other DAWs, strange not hearing more comments on this.
Hmmm... can't say I've noticed, but I can't think of a time where i needed 0.1 increments so perhaps a usage issue.
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:13 PM   #6
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
Ok, installed the VST version and doesn't happen. Only VST3 the knobs behave weird. Anyone ?
Can you show us a video or gif of the issue? I use their plugins all the time and don't see the issue
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 03:44 PM   #7
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 510
Default

Maybe hard to see from the gif, but here it is:

VST = smoth , normal behaviour
VST3 = bad knob movement, hard to follow.

https://ibb.co/6g3NFYC
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 04:45 PM   #8
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 726
Default

all Plugin Alliance plugins behave weird with the knobs. Maybe it is Reaper, maybe not..I never had them before I had reaper. As was mentioned, they don't adjust up/down like ALL OTHER PLUGS. You have to draw a circle with the mouse....WTF? It is absolutely frustrating to the point I can't even use them, personally.

You can also click directly on the value you want (say, the 3 o'clock position) and it will jump directly there. Very weird...nice sounding but very difficult to control and get precise values.
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 01:56 AM   #9
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 377
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
Maybe hard to see from the gif, but here it is:

VST = smoth , normal behaviour
VST3 = bad knob movement, hard to follow.

https://ibb.co/6g3NFYC
I haven't noticed that, they both function smooth on my end
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 04:28 AM   #10
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,479
Default

Can't say I've really noticed this here and I have a ton of Plugin Alliance plugins that I use regularly.
The only thing I have noticed is the bx_limiter sliders tend to be difficult to adjust in small amounts. I'm probably not going to be using that much any more though since I purchased FabFilter Pro-L recently.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.