Old 09-30-2016, 07:32 AM   #1
Keistaszmogelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 18
Default 32 bit VST's performance?

Hi there.
Here's a question: When I am using a 32 bit VST on a 64 bit Reaper, this whole bridging thing happens that let's me do that. If I used a 64 bit version of that plugin, would I get any improvements in latency, CPU load or any of that? I get that the sound quality would be the same, but what about processing power? Or is there no difference?
Keistaszmogelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 09:01 AM   #2
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,676
Default

fwiw I went as near as dammit all 64bit in 64bit reaper about a year ago and have had zero issues ever since. Prior to that the odd 32bit (usually freebies) did tend to bit me occasionally, so I guess the gain here is likely to be reliability and consistency and any performance gain is a bonus. I run a lot of VSTi.
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 12:31 PM   #3
noise_construct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,566
Default

Yes, I measured a CPU performance gain when using 64-bit plugins, 64-bit REAPER on 64-bit Windows compared to 32-bit plugins in 32-bit REAPER on 64-bit Windows. Depending on the plugin, it varied from neglible to meaningful.

Bridging will certainly use more CPU, no difference in sound quality.
noise_construct is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.