Old 10-03-2011, 07:18 PM   #1
cod3r
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Default What audio interface do you use?

I have a digidesign 001 that is scsi only interface. I switched to a laptop and can't use that anymore. So I'm wondering what is a decent (affordable) audio interface now.


Thanks
cod3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 07:22 PM   #2
dea-man
Human being with feelings
 
dea-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,129
Default

M-Audio Firewire 410. A little old but I have not had one problem with it, ever! Love it! Very reasonably priced, too.
dea-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 07:33 PM   #3
sostenuto
Human being with feelings
 
sostenuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St George, UT _ USA
Posts: 2,660
Default

(2)PC desktop systems and (2)Focusrite Saffire Pro14 Audio I/F .
Quite happy, no issues, but no basis to compare to others.
One drives analog audio system, the other .... Yamaha powered-monitors.

Tom B
sostenuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 07:48 PM   #4
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,549
Default

Older but amazing sounding EMU USB 0404. I am about to upgrade because I need more I/O, but I will dearly miss this beautiful sounding interface. They are inexpensive but have supposedly master grade converters. Sounds great and an awesome interface if 2 inputs are enough.
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 08:10 PM   #5
eldgin
Human being with feelings
 
eldgin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 30
Default

Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, absolutely wonderful with Reaper. But I do wish I got the Saffire 56 for the liquid stuff and the extra ADAT ports.

But IMHO combining the Saffire Mix Control and Reaper's routing capabilities is a deadly combination.

Just my 2 cent
eldgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 08:14 PM   #6
Guncho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 825
Default

M-Audio Fast Track Pro.

Got it for $80 and can't complain.
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/guncho
Guncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 08:19 PM   #7
daveyajd
Human being with feelings
 
daveyajd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 142
Default

Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 also. Very solid interface and I have had no problems with it.
daveyajd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 08:23 PM   #8
biggator
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 110
Default

Had to get rid of my old one (only one PCI slot on new machine.. had to upgrade interface or UAD). Currently using Echo AudioFire 12.. no issues - sounds great. W764 as OS
biggator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 08:42 PM   #9
UncleAge
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eldgin View Post
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, absolutely wonderful with Reaper. But I do wish I got the Saffire 56 for the liquid stuff
Ditto
UncleAge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 08:56 PM   #10
drbam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Prescott
Posts: 421
Default

RME Multiface II - wonderful conversion & incredibly stable.
drbam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:54 PM   #11
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveyajd View Post
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 also. Very solid interface and I have had no problems with it.
Yes, very happy with this ....
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 10:12 PM   #12
Audio Grind
Human being with feelings
 
Audio Grind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 161
Default

Tascam 1641. Very affordable, and has been reliable for the past two years of steady use. I think it's now called the 1800 though, they updated the cheesy silver plastic gain knobs but is the same as the 1641 aside from that.
__________________
If it ain't broke.. break it. Because it's fun to fix stuff.
Audio Grind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:37 PM   #13
anokah
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 409
Default

I can give a sort of +1 to the M-Audio FW 410. I've got the 1814, which is basicly the same, just a few more ins and outs i believe. And it's been great for me.
anokah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 07:06 AM   #14
Link0126
Human being with feelings
 
Link0126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,261
Default

Echo AudioFire 4.

Wish I had two more inputs now that I have a hardware synth but the interface itself is amazing. They have different models with up to 12 i/o. Works without a glitch down to 64 samples when tracking. I bring it up to 256 when mixing. Ha, I remember the days of PT and the Digi002. 1024 samples when mixing and lucky to get 128 for recording. It also works great with every other windows program when reaper is inactive or closed and has a software mixer what writes settings to the device so I can play through it w/o turning on the computer. Maybe this is all standard now but like I said I used to use that horrible PT hardware...
Link0126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 07:35 AM   #15
cod3r
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks!
cod3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 07:40 AM   #16
Xiatar
Human being with feelings
 
Xiatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I'm very happy with my TC Electronic Konnekt 24D. The newest version of this is the Impact Twin: http://www.tcelectronic.com/impacttwin.asp
__________________
http://executionroom.com/
Xiatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 06:07 PM   #17
lizzard
Human being with feelings
 
lizzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 73
Default

Rme fireface ufx expensive for sure but reaper interfaces with it perfectly,
The preamps are so clean I'm almost shocked . And the drivers are stable.
Combine it with reaper and its cost is way less than many daws.



Learning curve is a few days there are many reviews ..try to find a negative one if you can. This applies to any interface you are considering.

I have no byuer remorse at all but I did procrastinate about the 2 g's for a few months!

Its just a hobby for me so I compared it to a good set of golf clubs or a hew hang glider ..hey its cheap!

Second choice would be the baby face usb for 600 bucks or so.

I looked in the box carefully and what was missing was talent .. can any body tell me where i can buy some of that?
lizzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 06:33 PM   #18
pattste
Human being with feelings
 
pattste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 797
Default

Focusrite Saffire 6 USB. It works great with my laptop running Windows 7 and Reaper. Focusrite makes some great interfaces for the money. If you can afford it, nothing beats RME however.
__________________
My Music
Reaper(x64) 4.72 - Studio One Pro (x64) 2.6.3
i7-3630QM 2.4GHz - 8Gb RAM - 256Gb SSD - RME Babyface - Eve Audio SC204 - Windows 8.1
pattste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 09:49 PM   #19
fearnot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 225
Default

FireFace 800 from RME. Very stable and sounds great. The ins/outs are overkill for what I do, but what the hell.....J
__________________
Latest Reaper Version. And a bunch of other crap I probably don't need.
fearnot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 10:57 PM   #20
tombuur
Human being with feelings
 
tombuur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 465
Default

Fireface 800. Best DAW related hardware I bought. It has worked for maybe 5 years without problems.
I did find the preamps somewhat uninspiring. So I bought other preamps.
__________________
Reaper 5, latest release, 64-bit w SWS |GA Z270 UD5|Intel i7 K7700|32 GB RAM|Fireface 800|500GB SSD sys, 1TB SSD Rec, 4TB HDD samples|Win 10 64bit|Dynaudio BM6A|Softube Console 1|Sonnox|Waves|Melda|Superior 3|Komplete 12U|Melodyne|Slate|Izotope.
tombuur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 02:08 AM   #21
paterpeter
Human being with feelings
 
paterpeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 204
Default

I use a NI Traktor Audio 2 without any hiccups whatsoever. I highly recommend it for those looking for an affordable output only interface.
paterpeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 03:09 AM   #22
slow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 347
Default

mbox3 pro, very happy with it
slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 04:47 AM   #23
nikar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 327
Default

Focusrite saffire pro 24. Had to hunt around for the right firewire card at first but since then hasnt skipped a beat. The Virtual Room Modelling (VRM) is amazing.
nikar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:00 AM   #24
anokah
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 409
Default

Have to say, if money was no object, i'd be balls deep in a Fireface UFX.
anokah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:01 AM   #25
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,527
Default

RME. From my cold dead hands, etc...
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 06:41 AM   #26
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,109
Default

e-mu usb 0404

the only issue I have is when reaper freezes, drivers can`t be released. Even if I switch off/on the device according to schwa`s advice here: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=81979

The consequence is that I will always get a blue screen in 5 minutes after freeze. The only solution: reboot or use separate process option for buggy plugins

Using beta drivers on win7 x64
__________________
My contributions
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 07:24 AM   #27
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post
e-mu usb 0404

the only issue I have is when reaper freezes, drivers can`t be released. Even if I switch off/on the device according to schwa`s advice here: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=81979

The consequence is that I will always get a blue screen in 5 minutes after freeze. The only solution: reboot or use separate process option for buggy plugins

Using beta drivers on win7 x64
Just a tip, if it helps; I have the same interface and have had the same issues as you, and the only times I have had those problems always involved plugins made with synthmaker or the like. Unfortunately, that includes Bootsy/VOS stuff, which sound amazing. I have not had the EMU bluescreen in over 4 months, which is remarkable since I used to have them every other day it seemed. Coincidentally (or not!) that is about the time that I whittled down my plugin list and have refrained from using too many Bootsy style plugins at once. Other than that, amazing sound for a simple interface. I added some tube pre's and the combo sounds super expensive!
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 07:42 AM   #28
henge
Human being with feelings
 
henge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,153
Default

Lynx in the studio and RME Babyface for field.
The Babyface's pre's were a very pleasant surprise.
__________________
Registered Reaper user.
http://www.villageworkscanada.com/landingpad.cfm
henge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 08:08 AM   #29
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,905
Default

Any interface from the above mentioned could be a step up from the 001, but what do you expect from an audio interface? Quality? Price? Number of i/o's etc. Because we all know: YMMV
beingmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 08:39 AM   #30
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie43 View Post
Just a tip, if it helps; I have the same interface and have had the same issues as you, and the only times I have had those problems always involved plugins made with synthmaker or the like. Unfortunately, that includes Bootsy/VOS stuff, which sound amazing. I have not had the EMU bluescreen in over 4 months, which is remarkable since I used to have them every other day it seemed. Coincidentally (or not!) that is about the time that I whittled down my plugin list and have refrained from using too many Bootsy style plugins at once. Other than that, amazing sound for a simple interface. I added some tube pre's and the combo sounds super expensive!
I don`t get it to blue screen very often (reaper is super stable here) but it`s pretty irritating when it happens.

I don`t think it has anything to do with reaper/plugs but drivers so I guess your advice pretty much sums it up: try to use less buggy plugs that won`t crash reaper

I put all bootsy plugins in separate process so it turns out fine.
__________________
My contributions
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 10:32 AM   #31
maxdembo
Human being with feelings
 
maxdembo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: All Hallows End
Posts: 202
Default

Still using my old PCI Emu 0404 but thinking of sidegrading to something else.

My little 10 channel Tapco mixer is dying so I've been looking at getting a Mackie USB mixer. If I've got this right, it would mean everything bypassing the soundcard, making the 0404 pointless. Losing the Emu card would be a shame (it sounds great and its been with me for a very long time), but if I dont lose any sound quality with the mackie, yet I lose the whole mess of leads round the back of the PC, it'll be very much worth it.
maxdembo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 10:41 AM   #32
cod3r
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
Default

i think i'll go with a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40. Its more in the budget I was looking to spend and the interwebs talk pretty highly of it.

thanks for all the suggestions.
cod3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 10:51 AM   #33
pyelagin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 54
Default

2 Echo 12s here on W7 64... 24 channel in and out with sim. monitoring no problem... Thank u Reaper!
pyelagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 01:04 PM   #34
Caustic
Human being with feelings
 
Caustic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 316
Default

motu 828mk3, mackie onyx 1220, and rane sl-57tt
Caustic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 01:10 PM   #35
musicroom
Human being with feelings
 
musicroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 618
Default

Delta 1010 - several years of reliable great sounding use.

_
__________________
http://www.davidmillersongs.com
musicroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 02:58 PM   #36
clickonce
Human being with feelings
 
clickonce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dea-man View Post
M-Audio Firewire 410. A little old but I have not had one problem with it, ever! Love it! Very reasonably priced, too.
I use this as well and concur... have had it for years and it is rock solid. Very low latency.
__________________
clickonce tunes
Well, I suppose you could practice it, but I don't. It just developed naturally.. sort of like a rash. -- Nigel Tufnel.
clickonce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 03:14 PM   #37
chrisharbin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,031
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post
e-mu usb 0404

the only issue I have is when reaper freezes, drivers can`t be released. Even if I switch off/on the device according to schwa`s advice here: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=81979

The consequence is that I will always get a blue screen in 5 minutes after freeze. The only solution: reboot or use separate process option for buggy plugins

Using beta drivers on win7 x64
btw, I get something similar to this with a different card. I get freezes VERY VERY RARELY but when I do, I simply restart the whole system and avoid the BSOD.
chrisharbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 03:19 PM   #38
chrisharbin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,031
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cod3r View Post
i think i'll go with a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40. Its more in the budget I was looking to spend and the interwebs talk pretty highly of it.

thanks for all the suggestions.
I have the 14 and though it's my second card it's been very stable.

Does the pro 40 have a power switch? If not pay careful attention to the warnings/read the manual and especially:

DO NOT:

-hook the unit up before installing the drivers (I recommend just dl'ing the latest drivers from the site and not even opening the software before making sure it's up and running properly.)
-Never ever ever ever hot plug (hook/unhook while the computer is running) NEVER!
chrisharbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 04:29 PM   #39
wags3d
Human being with feelings
 
wags3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 74
Default A few questions

Quote:
I put all bootsy plugins in separate process so it turns out fine.
How/Where do you assign a separate process to plugins and do you have to do this for each individual plug you want to assign to that process or can you choose a group of plugs and assign them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caustic View Post
motu 828mk3, mackie onyx 1220, and rane sl-57tt
Do you have any issues with dropouts and your computer losing connection with your MOTU? I have an original MOTU 896 Firewire and it has developed all kinds of drop outs and connection issues. I upgraded the drivers but it still does it. I found lot's of posts elsewhere with MOTU users having similar problems and getting no help from MOTU. After my experience with this I would not get another MOTU piece of hardware.
wags3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 04:34 PM   #40
Boray
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,347
Default

http://www.audiotrak.net/products/maya44mkii/
__________________
www.boray.se
Boray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.