Old 09-09-2018, 09:22 AM   #1
klankschap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 97
Default adding desktop integration fails

on Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS + GNOME 3.28.2
trying to install the desktop integration i get an error


Command [V,R,I,A]: A
Installing desktop integration...kbuildsycoca5 running...
kf5.kservice.sycoca: Parse error in "/home/vm/.config/menus/applications-merged/xdg-desktop-menu-dummy.menu" , line 1 , col 1 : "unexpected end of file"
done


any hints?
.F
klankschap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 05:35 PM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,689
Default

Sounds like the existing file "/home/vm/.config/menus/applications-merged/xdg-desktop-menu-dummy.menu" is corrupt...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 12:18 AM   #3
klankschap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 97
Default

the file is empty.
much like on another ubuntu box, where the script does work as intended.
klankschap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 07:06 AM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klankschap View Post
the file is empty.
much like on another ubuntu box, where the script does work as intended.
Hmm, odd... No idea!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 02:23 AM   #5
Garrick
Human being with feelings
 
Garrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wellington
Posts: 4,470
Default

Not sure if this the same thing but after backing the Linux install files on to a fat32 hard drive, they were stripped of the executable permission
Garrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 04:44 AM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrick View Post
Not sure if this the same thing but after backing the Linux install files on to a fat32 hard drive, they were stripped of the executable permission
Yeah, fat32 doesn't have executable bits etc You can use tar to backup instead...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.