Old 07-05-2019, 08:24 AM   #1
1111Eugene
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 63
Default PLEASE FIX GUI LAG

PLEASE FIX GUI LAG
it is impossible to do anything with as it is now, the more tracks, the more lag.... more automation - more lag, more fonts - more lag, more markers - more lag, more anything - more lag. haven't started a mix the GUI is already lagging big time.... how convinient and useful and great... so inspiring... waiting several seconds for every single click no matter what it is about, is very effective thing for a creative work.. right...
How could you do this? It ruins literally everything


I predict
there will be at least several comments that will say oohohohohoh fix you pccccc, my reaper is billion fps 0ms latency and so on. there's no need to show your uncontrolled ego ok? fix your personal problems with yourselves, not with reaper everybody's GUI lag.

Last edited by 1111Eugene; 07-05-2019 at 08:37 AM.
1111Eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 08:38 AM   #2
winbe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,224
Default

Hello,
not sure you'll get more helpful answers by showing a lack of respect, but why not...

Could you maybe explain how many tracks you have, and maybe show a screenshot of your mixer so we can have a rough idea of how many tracks you have?

I can't complain on my side, but I use a very very limited number of tracks, I mean, I very rarely have more than 30 tracks, and I have only 5 or 6 fxs on each track.

But some people here on the forum do orchestral work and they deal with hundreds of tracks, so their answers will be probably way more useful than mine!

EDIT: oooh, I understand better now that I have seen your previous posts... I wish I could help you, but other than trying to open the project with no plugins loaded, I have no real idea, sorry
__________________
Cedric Simon aka FrozenjaZz
Fresh beats - www.frozenjazz.com
winbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 08:44 AM   #3
1111Eugene
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 63
Default

please do the next thing
add a
for example a hundred tracks
add a volume envelope automation for each one
and some other if you wish
and toggle for example a mixer window visible on\off
and count how much time does it take to appear
and then hide all the envelopes
and count again
and there will be already a noticeable difference
also you can add a whatever plugins, just for font to be in a mixer track slots
it will also increase lagging
grid on\off
toolbars
and whatever there is you see in a project
will increase lagging, no matter what it is,
no matter which theme you use
no matter if there's a 0% cpu or whatever load
and so on
1111Eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 09:31 AM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,213
Default

128 tracks here with volume and pan envelopes visible on each, no discernible lag over here...

It does happen but at much larger track counts.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 01:30 PM   #5
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,621
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1111Eugene View Post
please do the next thing
add a
for example a hundred tracks
add a volume envelope automation for each one
and some other if you wish
and toggle for example a mixer window visible on\off
and count how much time does it take to appear
Confirmed. The mixer disappears instantly but it takes approximately 3 seconds to appear, under these circumstances.

I'm using Reaper for Linux. If anyone wants more details, some are in my signature and I can provide more (and do some testing on dev versions for this sort of thing).
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 02:48 PM   #6
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 3,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Confirmed. The mixer disappears instantly but it takes approximately 3 seconds to appear, under these circumstances.

I'm using Reaper for Linux. If anyone wants more details, some are in my signature and I can provide more (and do some testing on dev versions for this sort of thing).
Windows 10 with 128 tracks and volume envelopes all added to each track. No laggy GUI or issues but when you close mixer it takes 10 seconds to come back.

Empty tracks.

Top o' the line PC.
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 03:07 PM   #7
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 894
Default

110 tracks writing automation, there is definitely lag on the first automation, then it seems to catch up. Here is an image showing the dead spot(s), and the recovery. Seems to lag after the initial write, and also stopping transport. It should be "squiggly" throughout the automation.



After that, all is smooth....until I switch screensets to my mixer layout. Takes about 5 seconds or so before it all functions again. About the amount of lag you see above.

I can't say I have ever a reason to want to automate 100+ tracks at once, but there is definitely something to confirm here.

To be fair, other DAWs would just crash attempting something like this. Cakewalk/Sonar comes to mind immediately. I've broken Cubase with a little less effort than this as well.

PC specs below.
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 06:34 AM   #8
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 3,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1111Eugene View Post
please do the next thing
add a
for example a hundred tracks
add a volume envelope automation for each one
and some other if you wish
and toggle for example a mixer window visible on\off
and count how much time does it take to appear
and then hide all the envelopes
and count again
and there will be already a noticeable difference
also you can add a whatever plugins, just for font to be in a mixer track slots
it will also increase lagging
grid on\off
toolbars
and whatever there is you see in a project
will increase lagging, no matter what it is,
no matter which theme you use
no matter if there's a 0% cpu or whatever load
and so on
So I added 100 tracks with 100 instances of ReaComp and with automation linked to ratio.

Toggling REAPER's mixer takes almost 1.5 seconds. Is that a long time? This is using REAPER for Linux on a TEN year old Asus P7P55D/Intel i5 750 based machine.

So I doubled the track count to 200 tracks with 200 ReaComps plus automation on each and now it takes about 2 full seconds to toggle the mixer.

I DO have a pretty fast but also VERY OLD graphics card.

Ahh finally once I pushed it up to a WHOPPING THREE HUNDRED tracks, it now takes 5 seconds to toggle the mixer. I am not surprised at all. If I were using something else for my video display, say like the cheezy on-motherboard graphics, I would prolly see different results.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 09:42 AM   #9
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennbo View Post
So I added 100 tracks with 100 instances of ReaComp and with automation linked to ratio.

Toggling REAPER's mixer takes almost 1.5 seconds. Is that a long time? This is using REAPER for Linux on a TEN year old Asus P7P55D/Intel i5 750 based machine.

So I doubled the track count to 200 tracks with 200 ReaComps plus automation on each and now it takes about 2 full seconds to toggle the mixer.

I DO have a pretty fast but also VERY OLD graphics card.

Ahh finally once I pushed it up to a WHOPPING THREE HUNDRED tracks, it now takes 5 seconds to toggle the mixer. I am not surprised at all. If I were using something else for my video display, say like the cheezy on-motherboard graphics, I would prolly see different results.
Alright, I'll bite.

Did exactly this including ReaComp and automating the ratio.
Duplicated the track to 128 instances.

Zero discernible lag toggling the mixing into view.
I can hit the keyboard shortcut (⌘= to toggle my "docked" mixer vs arrange window or the stock ⌘M to open the mixer) as fast as I can repeatedly and probably induce a seizure if I wanted to!

Tried in both read and write mode. Doubled the tracks to 256. Not seeing even the slightest bit of lag.

I think OSX is still the premium performing OS. I don't think it's long for this world anymore and I think Linux is coming in full force. Welcoming that too! But right here right now, there's no systemic GUI lag issue with OSX.

People aren't going on about nothing in these forum posts of course!
I'm not suggesting that. Just that it doesn't appear to be a systemic thing.

2009 quad core 2.93/3.33 i7 Mac Pro
OSX 10.9.5 (not even booted into my "serious" 10.6.8 system )
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 09:47 AM   #10
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
Did exactly this including ReaComp and automating the ratio. Duplicated the track to 128 instances.
Was the automation lane visible or hidden?

Can you reproduce these steps?
tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 12:28 PM   #11
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,665
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1111Eugene View Post
my reaper is billion fps 0ms latency and so on. there's no need to show your uncontrolled ego ok? fix your personal problems with yourselves, not with reaper everybody's GUI lag.
1) Good/bad Audio latency has nothing to do at all with godd/bad GUI lagging.

2) not everybody needs many tracks and works a lot with their GIU.
-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 07-05-2019 at 11:09 PM.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2019, 11:30 AM   #12
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,525
Default

Quote:
add a
for example a hundred tracks
add a volume envelope automation for each one
and some other if you wish
and toggle for example a mixer window visible on\off
and count how much time does it take to appear
and then hide all the envelopes
and count again
and there will be already a noticeable difference
I can see this on Mac. Pretty noticeable when taking these steps. I can't say I've ever noticed it in a real project though.

and like Serr said with "show new envelopes in separate envelope lanes" OFF, I don't notice the lag opening the mixer.

Hopefully that helps Justin find what can be optimized.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.