Old 05-24-2018, 09:03 AM   #1
Swi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 70
Default Big Template Long wait?

My big template with @3700 tracks takes about 3 seconds to start playing after doing the 5.90 update.
I open the template. Press play before writing anything in it and it takes 3 seconds before I hear the click.
Swi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 09:21 AM   #2
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,759
Default

Did it work better before 5.90?
I don't think it is a new behaviour.
It looks like even empty tracks increase CPU (?+RAM?) consumption. That's why playback starts after 3 seconds.
By the way, do you have any FX on any track with delay?
You can check it in Performance meter (View menu).
If there is any non-0 value in the PDC column, bypass FX on that track and look, if it helps.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 12:12 PM   #3
Swi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 70
Default

Going back to Cubase after a month-long honeymoon with Reaper.
I love Reaper but can not work with it because I find it generally unreliable.

Reasons why are here.
Reainsert does not work or do what it says it will do. Phase issues and issues when used on a buss then the master buss as well in the same session. I have 6 hardware verbs that I paid a lot of money for and need to use them. I skipped reainsert to avoid this and just sent audio to a hardware out and left the returns on input monitoring mode. I am not concerned with a little latency on a reverb return but I found this annoying that I had to do it at all.

Low frequencies sound different to me. not sure why this is.

Crackling after RT CPU crosses 44% mark. I checked my latency with dpclat and this is not the cause. I have tried many things to resolve this. I have always had all the necessary tweaks for Windows and do not have this issue with Cubase.

I loved that my template opens quickly but now with the 5.90 update, I just can't wait for 3 or 4 seconds every time I press play.

I just don't think Reaper is ready for high track counts like mine. I hope to be back someday when you are ready. I love this community and had fun for a while. I will still use Reaper for my picture rig.
Swi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 12:21 PM   #4
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,759
Default

Why don't you read my response?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 01:32 PM   #5
Swi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Did it work better before 5.90?
I don't think it is a new behaviour.
It looks like even empty tracks increase CPU (?+RAM?) consumption. That's why playback starts after 3 seconds.
By the way, do you have any FX on any track with delay?
You can check it in Performance meter (View menu).
If there is any non-0 value in the PDC column, bypass FX on that track and look, if it helps.

Wouldn't it be easier if someone else tested it?
I have music to write.
Swi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 07:07 PM   #6
tusitala
Human being with feelings
 
tusitala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swi View Post
My big template with @3700 tracks takes about 3 seconds to start playing after doing the 5.90 update.
I open the template. Press play before writing anything in it and it takes 3 seconds before I hear the click.
You could also check the buffering pptions in the preferences menu...are some of your tracks record-armed when you press play?
__________________
MacOS 10.13.4
UA Apollo Twin
tusitala is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.