Old 08-12-2018, 08:18 PM   #1
vlab
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Default FLAC samples and VST samplers

Hi !

I've converted all my sample library to FLAC a few months ago. It plays very well with Reaper, but not that great with 3rd party VSTs.

I use Geist, Reaktor, Absynth, and a bunch of other sample players, but none supports FLAC.

My workaround is to drag the sample in my Reaper session, then CTRL+ALT+Drag in the said sampler.That works, but it makes my session a bit more messy, a bunch of useless mouse clicks and drags.

I was wondering if there was a more elegant way of doing this?

I really like Reaper Media Browser, and I'd like to find a solution that could convert the FLAC samples on the fly when dragging and dropping. something like CTRL+ALT+drag DIRECTLY from the media browser would be awesome.

Is that something that can be hacked in Reaper? or a valid feature request?

Any tip is welcome,

Thanks !

V
vlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 10:00 PM   #2
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 19,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vlab View Post
Any tip is welcome
Convert back to wave.
__________________
The media are misleading the public about...pretty much everything.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 04:52 AM   #3
sonicowl
Human being with feelings
 
sonicowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vlab View Post
convert the FLAC samples on the fly when dragging and dropping. something like CTRL+ALT+drag DIRECTLY from the media browser would be awesome.

This would be most welcome.
sonicowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 08:02 PM   #4
vlab
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainwreck View Post
Convert back to wave.
I'm not going there again for sure! 10:1 lossless compression really is great! (mostly allowing me to buy even more samples..:/ )

This being said, as Reaper always converts FLAC to the default project format, I think it would just make sense to convert the file directly when dragged out of the media browser... If only I can find that feature request page...

EDIT: FR page found: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....14#post2024114

Thanks!

V

Last edited by vlab; 08-16-2018 at 08:19 PM. Reason: FR link found
vlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 08:05 AM   #5
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 19,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vlab View Post
I'm not going there again for sure! 10:1 lossless compression really is great! (mostly allowing me to buy even more samples..:/ )

This being said, as Reaper always converts FLAC to the default project format, I think it would just make sense to convert the file directly when dragged out of the media browser... If only I can find that feature request page...

EDIT: FR page found: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....14#post2024114

Thanks!

V
I agree that it would make sense (optionally) for that to happen when dragging in samples.
__________________
The media are misleading the public about...pretty much everything.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 11:13 AM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,082
Default

Falcon supports FLAC samples.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2018, 03:28 AM   #7
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.969th floor, soon. :)
Posts: 1,885
Default

Just to say, thank you for the Batch file converter, REAPER!
And it even supported folder dragging from w1nd0ze incl subfolders.
__________________
:)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2018, 05:07 AM   #8
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,303
Default

Tx16W also does support FLAC.
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2018, 07:28 AM   #9
Zlornick
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 34
Default

Tal-Sampler will work with FLAC.
Zlornick is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.