Old 09-22-2016, 02:14 PM   #1
Vernon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Default 5.25 bug in "Export project MIDI..." (FIXED)

Hi,

just installed Reaper 5.25 x64 in a Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 system.

I'm working on MIDI drum tracks (GM map), exporting them and re-importing in MuseScore 2 for printing drum tablatures.
The exported file has missing information about BPM and tempo changes. In version 5.24 it works perfectly...

Thanks,
Vernon
Vernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 02:31 PM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,384
Default

Could you please post a screenshot of the MIDI export dialog, and attach the .mid file itself? Thanks.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 02:44 PM   #3
Vernon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Could you please post a screenshot of the MIDI export dialog, and attach the .mid file itself? Thanks.
Sure!
You can find attached the exports made in 5.24 and 5.25

Thanks,
Vernon
Attached Images
File Type: png MIDI export dialog.png (33.7 KB, 30 views)
Attached Files
File Type: mid midi v 5.24.mid (25.7 KB, 27 views)
File Type: mid midi v 5.25.mid (25.6 KB, 29 views)
Vernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 02:52 PM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,384
Default

Thanks. The 5.25 exported MIDI does contain tempo information, which imports properly back into REAPER, and also appears to import properly into MuseScore 2.0.3 -- though perhaps some specific information is missing? If you are seeing the file import into MuseScore with some tempo information showing but other information missing, could you be very specific about what is missing?

In any case, in 5.25, we added support for tempo information in type 0 (single track) MIDI files; previously, exporting tempo information would force the export to type 1 (multitrack) MIDI. It's possible MuseScore (or whatever version of MuseScore you are running) can't import tempo information properly from type 0 files. I expect it will work if you select "Multitrack MIDI file (type 1)" from the MIDI export dialog. If your version of MuseScore is older, it might also work if you update MuseScore.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 03:18 PM   #5
Vernon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Default

I'm running MuseScore 2.0.3.

Just tried 3 exports:
- from 5.24 (type 1)
- from 5.25 (type 0)
- from 5.25 (type 1)

With 5.25 type 1 tempo is displayed correctly but not tempo changes.
I attached the 3 images from MuseScore.

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip MuseScore.zip (432.3 KB, 31 views)
Vernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 03:23 PM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vernon View Post
With 5.25 type 1 tempo is displayed correctly but not tempo changes.
You mean time signature changes?

Could you possibly post the .RPP as well?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 03:31 PM   #7
Vernon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Yes, sorry, I mean time signature changes...

Attached the project (with only the midi track).
Attached Files
File Type: rpp export midi 5.25 bug.RPP (143.5 KB, 25 views)
Vernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 07:58 PM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,384
Default

OK, confirmed, the time signatures do not export properly when exporting MIDI within a time selection. It should work correctly when exporting the whole project. Fixing, thanks for the report.

[edit] It appears that MIDI export of project markers within a time selection has never worked properly, so we'll fix that too.

Last edited by schwa; 09-23-2016 at 08:47 AM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 08:06 PM   #9
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

I have cleanup his project a little bit, lots of older Reaper versions ex&re imported redundant track name events etc.pp
but ok that´s a problem with others at import.. and is fixed with 5.25

He exported his 5.25 example with Time selection.

The problem with REAPER is hmmm simple:
Time-selection export at other start position as T=0 and Tempo/Sig/Marker/Cue events at project timeline do not work correct!

The Tempo/Sig and Marker/Cue events do not follow other events..
They stay together with time selection export at their project timeline position instead of moving in front- like other events..
So at the end the tempo/sig/marker/cue events are there but at wrong positions!!

I mean this was an old bug, were already fixed and now back there.

And BTW. also with REAPER < 5.25 and not new
together with time selection export and T>0, Markers/Cues within the selection export are missing. Only the last marker at timeline will exported.

Long story short sense:
Time selection exports with T> 0 has some spiders, Schwa.

SRY a little bit in German I dont know how in English..
"Mutant Klugscheißer "

EDIT:
Did n´t saw that Schwa has already confirmed some. hmm. What´s happen with the internet?^^
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.

Last edited by ELP; 09-23-2016 at 01:29 AM.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 01:17 AM   #10
Vernon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
OK, confirmed, the time signatures do not export properly when exporting MIDI within a time selection. It should work correctly when exporting the whole project. Fixing, thanks for the report.
Thank you for your great daily work on improving Reaper!

Cheers, Vernon
Vernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 03:06 AM   #11
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ELP;1733873.

SRY a little bit in German I dont know how in English..
"Mutant Klugscheißer "
Mutant Smartarse (UK)
Mutant Smartass (USA)


__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.

Last edited by ivansc; 09-23-2016 at 01:49 PM.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 11:02 AM   #12
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

^^
thank you, ivansc

__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 10:37 AM   #13
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

Complete fixed with 5.26pre4a
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2016, 06:45 PM   #14
HugoRibeiroDotCom
Human being with feelings
 
HugoRibeiroDotCom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 868
Default

I'm on 5.25 and I still need to create a MIDI track to be able to export just the project's Tempo/Signature Map.. is it a bug or am I doing something wrong?

cheers
__________________
Get Real Live Drum Tracks @ www.hugoribeiro.com
Macbook Pro | Motu 8Pre (x2) | Apogee Duet 2
Sonor Drums | Sabian Cymbals | Remo Drumheads | Vater Drumsticks
HugoRibeiroDotCom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 12:45 AM   #15
ELP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 943
Default

@HugoRibeiroDotCom
Best and Midi-sided recommend way is, if you insert
one MIDI Text Meta-event-Marker at the Start and one at End of your Map.
(within MIDI Editor).

-btw. for MIDI|Tempo-map..etc.pp, I really recommend to use at least 5.26pre7!!

Do it like this..
(..and you have your nice, independent and working Tempo-Map-Track MIDI File
vs
embed..project tempo for consolidate/export/re-importing with DAW XYZ
"which would be naturally of course only embed the project tempo at the beginning of track/audio item xyz -into the Audio File(s) itself"
..)



BTW.
As easy readable example:
The above ASCII color Text show you the very well done exporting result from REAPER.
__________________
I hope you can understand me? Without german beer my written english is always very bad, with beer it becomes unbearable!.
Less is more! To much limited the own creativity.

Last edited by ELP; 10-04-2016 at 02:51 AM.
ELP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 03:35 AM   #16
HugoRibeiroDotCom
Human being with feelings
 
HugoRibeiroDotCom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 868
Default

Thanks!!
__________________
Get Real Live Drum Tracks @ www.hugoribeiro.com
Macbook Pro | Motu 8Pre (x2) | Apogee Duet 2
Sonor Drums | Sabian Cymbals | Remo Drumheads | Vater Drumsticks
HugoRibeiroDotCom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.