Old 09-16-2016, 09:07 AM   #41
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
I disagree with this as I normalize everything before I mix and bring it down 3 or 4 dB as that's a good sweet spot for me. You can create a custom action to just this in one quick step.

But this is debatable and a matter of opinion.

Why is this "no good"? You can double click any track and it will select all items on a track. How does the amount of items matter?
I value a lot your opinion (and see all your vids!!). Nevertheless this doesn't work for me. I'm far from being someone who writes or even try to understand scripting... I just mix (and play).

I also think that normalization should be at pretty low value (-18 rms and max -6 peaks depending on material)
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2016, 09:14 AM   #42
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianfini View Post
I value a lot your opinion (and see all your vids!!). Nevertheless this doesn't work for me. I'm far from being someone who writes or even try to understand scripting... I just mix (and play).

I also think that normalization should be at pretty low value (-18 rms and max -6 peaks depending on material)
Creating a custom action is a matter of picking existing actions from the list and saving the new custom action. No knowledge of scripting is required on your part. Page 293 of the manual outlines this. Then you can create a keyboard shortcut or button for it on a toolbar.

Whether this works for you or not is up to you, but I wanted to let you know that there's a misconception that "you need to learn scripting to use the more advanced features of Reaper". It's not true.
__________________
Using REAPER for Linux on Manjaro 20.1
Free multi-layered drum bank
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2016, 09:33 AM   #43
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gianfini View Post
I value a lot your opinion (and see all your vids!!). Nevertheless this doesn't work for me. I'm far from being someone who writes or even try to understand scripting... I just mix (and play).
I appreciate your input but to be clear, I'm not advocating scripting at all. I also don't write scripts nor have I run a script besides an earlier visual click that someone wrote to show me what we eventually have now without a script.

I'm suggesting just double-clicking the track to select all items on that track and pulling the volume down on each item. Using item volume. Or you could create a custom action that would normalize and reduce the volume by -18 in one step.

I should also mention that with multiple items you don't want to use regular normalize as that will normalize each item separately. Not a good choice for this. There is another action called "Normalize multiple items to common gain" which should be used instead.

Quote:
I also think that normalization should be at pretty low value (-18 rms and max -6 peaks depending on material)
I don't use any modeling plugins so I prefer to track low and mix hotter. But this is

in no way meant to be a right or wrong opinion for me. Just how I prefer to work.

Thanks.
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 02:08 PM   #44
ertugrulgul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Turkey
Posts: 163
Default

please support!
ertugrulgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2016, 10:08 PM   #45
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,640
Default

-1

(I often hear that Reaper is known to be "bloated with features". While I don't really think that this does harm, I don't think it makes much sense to implement not really often used stuff "up front" that very easily can be done with other (on board) means.)

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 07:01 PM   #46
ertugrulgul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Turkey
Posts: 163
Default

I think having a small knob on the mixer doesn't change anybodys workflow in a bad way and adding it shouldn't be that hard.
ertugrulgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 06:00 AM   #47
fsz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 45
Default

+1 on this. In the meanwhile, I've been using JS Volume plugin, and controlling it from the "parameter" section in the mixer. This makes it pretty similar to Cubase's trim, although it does get bypassed when you turn off FX Chains...
fsz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2016, 01:18 PM   #48
ertugrulgul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Turkey
Posts: 163
Default

Support please!!!
ertugrulgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 09:39 PM   #49
ertugrulgul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Turkey
Posts: 163
Default

up up up
ertugrulgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 12:23 AM   #50
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,640
Default

Seemingly the developer decided that this is not useful in a count of cases that needs to be considered.

Why are people all the time requesting things that already can be done to be doable in another way ?

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 02:53 PM   #51
fsz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Seemingly the developer decided that this is not useful in a count of cases that needs to be considered.

Why are people all the time requesting things that already can be done to be doable in another way ?

-Michael
Because the best part of Reaper is exactly that, being able to customize things so you can use them in a way that suits your workflow best.

There's another reason why this is useful. If you are using Dithers at the end of your Fx Chain on tracks, faders become useless.
fsz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 03:09 PM   #52
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fsz View Post

There's another reason why this is useful. If you are using Dithers at the end of your Fx Chain on tracks, faders become useless.
Ignoring the "why are you using Dithering at all" part.

Why are you Dithering at the end of each individual track and and how would a Pre-FX knob change that?
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 03:38 PM   #53
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,826
Default

Try this
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 01:33 PM   #54
ertugrulgul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Turkey
Posts: 163
Default

Bump on this!!
ertugrulgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 07:25 PM   #55
ertugrulgul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Turkey
Posts: 163
Default

SEE THIS PLEASE!
ertugrulgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 10:03 PM   #56
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,640
Default

Did you ever consider using one of the multiple already existing means described in this and other threads to achieve the appropriate function ?

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 03:37 AM   #57
wesborland
Human being with feelings
 
wesborland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Default

up up up
wesborland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 03:54 AM   #58
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,640
Default

Very likely a futile request - at least in this simplified form. (See the complete thread.)

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 02:18 PM   #59
ANDYZ
Human being with feelings
 
ANDYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 74
Default

This thing is called TRIM

It exists on consoles for ages and for a good reason.

Instead of making a "workaround DAW" developers should listen to users and implement convenient means to the mixing process.

Such as Trim knob, API for channelstrip, integrated eq and compressors. Those things just make one`s life much easier.

+1 vote

ANDYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.