Old 07-26-2021, 02:20 PM   #1
wholehalf
Human being with feelings
 
wholehalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 32
Default 6.33 - July 26 2021

v6.33 - July 26 2021
  • + Dockers: fix FX chain docker restoration when loading projects (requires re-save of existing projects)
  • + Dockers: improve default ordering of new tabs
  • + FX: add option to use modal window default positioning for newly created FX chain/floating FX windows [t=233562]
  • + FX: allow pin mapper dialog to be very large when first opened if the track has many channels
  • + FX: improve UI-destruction order when closing floating windows (for buggy plug-ins)
  • + FX: remove global option for plugin bridging, bridging options should be controlled per-plugin via FX browser
  • + FX pin connector dialog: show tooltips when there are more than 4 track channels or 4 FX ins/outs
  • + ID3v2: fix potential memory access errors when loading media
  • + JSFX: ensure IDE is not completely offscreen when opening [t=255478]
  • + JSFX: prevent reentrancy of @gfx code when TCP embedded and adding media on Windows [t=255367]
  • + Loudness metering: update loudness calculation more frequently in master VU and render statistics
  • + Master VU: improve preferences for loudness metering and readout value
  • + Media explorer: fix inserting section of file when project setting enabled to copy media to project directory [t=252491]
  • + Media explorer: show folders with system file attribute on Windows [t=236567]
  • + Media item properties: avoid small changes to take volume/pan when clicking but not dragging fader [t=191454]
  • + Media item properties: improve sizing behavior when scrollbar is visible
  • + Project files: allow filenames to contain quotes (on platforms other than Windows)
  • + ReaScript: add IDE color preset configuration to ReaScript tab
  • + ReaScript: add IDE option to have doubleclick function name jump to function
  • + ReaScript: fix incorrect IDE interpretation of certain alt-gr keys [t=255563]
  • + ReaScript: IDE supports shift+tab without selection [t=255564]
  • + ReaScript: fix return value of InsertAutomationItem function when option enabled to trim automation items behind edits [t=255545]
  • + ReaSurroundPan: update display consistently after editing custom speaker name [t=255718]
  • + Render: add post-render action (under Stats button) to jump to position of first rendered sample over +0dB
  • + Render: add post-render action (under Stats button) to display render statistics in web browser
  • + Render: add separate actions to calculate mono loudness of selected tracks via dry run render
  • + Render: display lufs-m max, lufs-s max, lufs-i in web browser render statistics or API request
  • + Render: display file format, file length, and channel count (if mixed) in web browser render statistics
  • + Render: display overall render progress indicator
  • + Render: display sample rate and channel count during dry run render
  • + Render: don't display file extension during dry-run render
  • + Render: fix dither/noise shaping when rendering stems [t=255450]
  • + Render: fix normalizing stems to common gain based on master normalization when rendering multiple regions
  • + Render: fix secondary render sample rate and improve normalization when project sample rate is different from rendered sample rate [t=255785]
  • + Render: if true peak is calculated, don't display regular peak in render statistics (everything is still displayed in web browser render statistics)
  • + Render: improve peaks display when rendering very short files
  • + Render: inform user when normalizing may cause relative levels of rendered files to change
  • + Render: make it clearer when normalization is enabled
  • + Render: support normalizing stems to common gain based on normalizing master mix, even if not rendering master mix
  • + Render: when rendering multiple files, display as much path as needed to disambiguate files
  • + Routing windows: avoid small changes to track and send volume/pan when clicking but not dragging fader
  • + Routing windows: improve mousewheel behavior on volume/pan faders [p=2462863]
  • + Routing windows: improve display when shift+dragging I/O buttons in track panels to create multiple sends
  • + Scrub: allow configurable maximum jog rate of 1x/2x/4x/8x (default 2x)
  • + Scrub: prevent audio dropouts when adding undo point that does not affect items
  • + Tempo map: action to create measure from time selection will not create a tempo envelope if the user cancels the operation [t=255847]
  • + Theme: fix customizing master track VU readout text color in TCP [t=255486]
  • + Tracks: avoid small changes to track pan/width when clicking but not dragging faders
  • + VST3: bridged plug-in improvements (fixed reference count leaks, improved bridge exiting on macOS)
  • + VST3: bridged plug-ins support IMidiLearn, IMidiMapping interfaces
  • + Wildcards: fix $namenumber wildcard [t=255473]
  • + Wildcards: support marker/region names consisting of separated name=value pairs using $marker(name)[separator] and $region(name)[separator] (see wildcard help)
  • + Windows: installer can optionally configure Windows to save REAPER crash dumps
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode

Last edited by wholehalf; 07-26-2021 at 02:25 PM. Reason: First attempt failed
wholehalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 02:26 PM   #2
wholehalf
Human being with feelings
 
wholehalf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErBird View Post
Wut?‎‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎
Sorry about that, never trying to do this on mobile again...
wholehalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 02:46 PM   #3
MrTsonts
Human being with feelings
 
MrTsonts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Posts: 76
Default

+ Action list: optionally match synonyms of common words when searching for action names ("display" matches "show", etc)

Is this option not enabled yet?
MrTsonts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 06:06 PM   #4
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,566
Default

Quote:
+ FX: add option to use modal window default positioning for newly created FX chain/floating FX windows [t=233562]
I have modal window positioning set to center on mouse, and fx floating set to Modal default. I add an fx as floating and it initially opens where my mouse is as expected, but when I close the fx window and reopen it, it opens at the top-left of the screen, so I have to drag it to where I want it anyway, after that then it remembers its location. Is this the expected behavior??

Edit: Using Win10_x64

Last edited by Edgemeal; 07-26-2021 at 06:17 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 07:25 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
I have modal window positioning set to center on mouse, and fx floating set to Modal default. I add an fx as floating and it initially opens where my mouse is as expected, but when I close the fx window and reopen it, it opens at the top-left of the screen, so I have to drag it to where I want it anyway, after that then it remembers its location. Is this the expected behavior??

Edit: Using Win10_x64
Ah, no, fixing that.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2021, 06:11 AM   #6
JDSStudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 102
Default

Since we are talking about plugins positioning, I cannot get the plugins to go behind the main editing window on my first screen, ONLY on my second. Regardless if it’s Pinned or not.

This affects a system and technique I have, by semi-hiding all plugins under REAPER’s windows, allowing me to have, for example 8 compressors semi-hiding behind the main editing page.

Is it just me, or can any other multi-monitor user confirm?

EDIT: I am using 3 monitors

Last edited by JDSStudios; 07-29-2021 at 02:10 AM.
JDSStudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2021, 08:54 AM   #7
matt_t
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 196
Default

This little nitpick is still there: https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...07&postcount=3
matt_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2021, 02:51 PM   #8
ramses
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,002
Default

About 6.33 and the positioning of floating FX.

I have a really annoying behaviour happening regarding floating FX windows. I'm not certain that this is not down to user error.

Try this: Create two tracks and insert ReaEQ on one and ReaComp on the other. Make sure the FX float in their own windows. Alright. Now. Bring one to the front by clicking it in the MCP. Then try to bring the other to the front by clicking it. It doesn't work. For some reason, I need two clicks in order to display any one FX floating.

Is this how it's supposed to be? Any settings that can remedy this behaviour? The way this should be, in my mind, is that clicking on any FX slot in the MCP should bring up the floating FX window for that FX to the front right away.

I use three screens, if that's any help.

Any input appreciated.

>>>EDIT<<<
Apparently this only happens with the floating FX windows positioned on top of the MCP mixer (in it's separate window).

Could we have an option to float clicked FX to the front right away, regardless of window order? I can pin all fx-windows I like to stay open anyway.
>>>END EDIT<<<

Last edited by ramses; 07-27-2021 at 03:00 PM.
ramses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2021, 09:09 AM   #9
Edu Camargo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: São Paulo, SP - Brazil
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wholehalf View Post
v6.33 - July 26 2021
[*]+ Wildcards: support marker/region names consisting of separated name=value pairs using $marker(name)[separator] and $region(name)[separator]
A great feature that serves a lot in terms of content preparation for digital distribution of audio. In a single marker and / or region you can in sert the most relevant information as needed to add as audio metadata and even to organize files.

Thanks a zillion, Cockos!❤
Edu Camargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2021, 03:22 PM   #10
TabbyCat
Human being with feelings
 
TabbyCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 142
Default

Code:
 + Render: support normalizing stems to common gain based on normalizing master mix, even if not rendering master mix
Ahh thank you for this! Because the normal workflow is to send evolving versions of a cue until the client is happy. Then and only then do I print the stems...this saves having to re-print the main mix when we already have it

Cheers! Loving all the render options added on these last few cycles.
TabbyCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2021, 07:42 AM   #11
petebeat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Posts: 7
Default

"FX: remove global option for plugin bridging, bridging options should be controlled per-plugin via FX browser"

Just wondering of the logic behind this? I used to set everything to be bridged, and found Reaper to be incredibly stable (compared to Cubase). Has there been a change which makes plugins less likely to crash the host?

Also: how do you format text in forum posts? I can't find any guide to make the above look like a quote.
petebeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2021, 08:27 AM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 12,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by petebeat View Post
"FX: remove global option for plugin bridging, bridging options should be controlled per-plugin via FX browser"

Just wondering of the logic behind this? I used to set everything to be bridged, and found Reaper to be incredibly stable (compared to Cubase). Has there been a change which makes plugins less likely to crash the host?

There are some plugins that do not run correctly when bridged, so the global default was causing a lot of problems for people. Every time bridging support was extended to include new kinds of plugins, anybody who had the global default set would suddenly have those plugins try to load bridged, which would sometimes prevent those projects from playing back or possibly even loading correctly, if that plugin doesn't handle bridging well. In most cases the user would have no idea why anything changed. You can apply bridging settings to multiple plugins at once via the add-FX window if you want to.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2021, 02:24 PM   #13
matt_t
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_t View Post
This little nitpick is still there: https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...07&postcount=3
... and also in routing windows and item properties. Possibly other, less obvious places as well. I might have noticed it in ReaEQ for example.
matt_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 10:02 AM   #14
daktyl
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by petebeat View Post
"FX: remove global option for plugin bridging, bridging options should be controlled per-plugin via FX browser"

Just wondering of the logic behind this? I used to set everything to be bridged, and found Reaper to be incredibly stable (compared to Cubase). Has there been a change which makes plugins less likely to crash the host?

Also: how do you format text in forum posts? I can't find any guide to make the above look like a quote.
I am also not keen on that change. I used to firewall everything (also native plugins) to be absolutely sure that no plugin can crash REAPER. Worked great until this point where I need to manually apply that setting in the FX Browser and remember to repeat that process again after every new plugin install or update.

Please consider bringing the global setting back. REAPER is known for its customizability and that change takes away a settings that some people used and really appreciated.

I think both global and per-plugin settings could co-exist. If a per-plugin option is set, it should just override the global setting. The default value of the global setting could be "bridge only when necessary" so we would get best of both worlds.
daktyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2021, 02:24 AM   #15
n997
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 405
Default

Big thanks to developers and testers for recent releases. Razor Edit and now LUFS metering, as well as the ongoing general quality-of-life additions/fixes, have improved my daily workflows a lot.

It's a great time to be using REAPER - thank you!
n997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2021, 01:42 PM   #16
DogBBQ
Human being with feelings
 
DogBBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New, New York
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n997 View Post
Big thanks to developers and testers for recent releases. Razor Edit and now LUFS metering, as well as the ongoing general quality-of-life additions/fixes, have improved my daily workflows a lot.

It's a great time to be using REAPER - thank you!
What a positive post!

I concur!
DogBBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.