Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2019, 04:05 AM   #1
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4,171
Default TRACK_VOLUME_TOUCH OSC message from Reascript not registering

Hi,

I posted this originally in the JSFX forum section - but have had no insight there as yet. https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=225104

I'm trying to send the TRACK_VOLUME_TOUCH OSC message from a Lua Reascript - so that I can record volume automation via a script.

In order for this to work in Touch automation mode - as far as I can tell - I need to send the touch OSC message before making any volume changes - otherwise the automation system generates a load of crazy volume jumps.

I'm using the following code to try to tell Reaper that the volume parameter (for track 1 in the example) is being 'touched':

Code:
reaper.OscLocalMessageToHost("/track/1/volume/touch", 1)
and then once the script wants to 'untouch' the volume for track 1 it sends the following:

Code:
reaper.OscLocalMessageToHost("/track/1/volume/touch", 0)
The problem I'm having is this simply is not working. I'm pretty sure I am using the call correctly and the message is correct. I have checked my Default.ReaperOSC file and it contains the necessary OSC pattern as follows:

Code:
TRACK_VOLUME_TOUCH b/track/volume/touch b/track/@/volume/touch
Am I doing this wrong? (fairly sure I am not - hence why I'm reporting this as a bug).

Many thanks,
Leon.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
Smart Knobs 2 | LBX Stripper | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal | LBX Tools Website
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 01:25 PM   #2
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4,171
Default

I will add here that I've tried many of the other OSC messages defined in the Default.ReaperOSC pattern file (in the Reaper x64 folder - not OSC folder) - and they all work fine.

So either there's a possible bug here - or I'm just doing it wrong . Either way - would be nice to have some input on this if possible (Devs?)...

Cheers,
L.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
Smart Knobs 2 | LBX Stripper | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal | LBX Tools Website
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 01:47 PM   #3
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,054
Default

Yep, confirmed, it doesn’t work correctly. Could you take a look devs?
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 06:16 PM   #4
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,054
Default

Delicious bumpalicious
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 02:15 PM   #5
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,701
Default

Confirmed with latest dev and release. So bump I guess.

Really could use this - especially since touch is really the only automation mode I use!
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 08:14 AM   #6
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,701
Default

Still not working in dev1118 or last couple release versions. Devs could you take a look at this? I think this would be a pretty quick fix since it seems to be one specific OSC message that isn't working and others work a treat.

Thanks!
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 02:52 AM   #7
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,054
Default

A friendly v6 rc bump.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 02:00 PM   #8
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,054
Default

Bumping this again!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2019, 07:08 AM   #9
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,054
Default

A friendly pre-Xmas present fix bump. Can’t be that hard to fix?
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 11:00 AM   #10
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,701
Default

Would be really good to know if this is a bug or just perhaps a syntax error or default OSC config file issue. I know this is a little esoteric and not many people are using OSC with LUA but there are literally no other resources to try and figure out why this isn't working correctly.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 02:29 PM   #11
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 7,239
Default

sometimes when there are no replies from devs, it means it is not a bug and they don't have time to explain. But this must be a bug because it is lb0 reporting!
Or also it could be that devs have plans to make the issue irrelevant by implementing a new or native feature. But I'm not sure if it is the case here.
If it is a very obvious bug and urgent, I think you can also contact them by email and provide them sample files and easy steps to reproduce and have better chances for a fix.
That's all I can say because I have no experience with OSC sorry :/
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 12:19 PM   #12
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4,171
Default

Dev's are definitely busy - and major bugs (which this probably isn't for 99% of users) will and should get preference.

But the good news is Justin responded recently on the original thread where I flagged this up and says it will be looked into in the next dev cycle.

So the gentle nagging has paid off

(oh - and Heda - it's kind of you saying it must be a bug because I'm reporting it - lol - I felt it was either a bug or I was doing it wrong - which is also quite possible - but thankfully not in this case it seems and makes me feel less stupid! ).
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
Smart Knobs 2 | LBX Stripper | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal | LBX Tools Website
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.