Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2017, 01:39 PM   #1
knaggsy2000
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Default [5.50c] Ableton Live (slave) ReWire crash when REAPER quits

Hi all, this is my first post on the forum (but long time watching) but I consider a bug report more useful than an introduction at this stage.


Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)
REAPER v5.50c (x64) - Host
Ableton Live Standard v9.7.3 (x64) - Slave


Steps to reproduce: -

1. Open REAPER
2. Create new track
3. Add FX, "ReWire: Ableton Live"
4. Live doesn't load (which is odd), so fire it up manually (splash screen indicates it's a ReWire slave)
5. Close Live
6. Close REAPER (don't bother with saving changes)
7. Windows crash report: -

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX64
Application Name: reaper.exe
Application Version: 5.5.0.2
Application Timestamp: 59bc145f
Fault Module Name: MSVCP120.dll_unloaded
Fault Module Version: 12.0.21005.1
Fault Module Timestamp: 524f8413
Exception Offset: 000000000003d023
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Data: 0000000000000008
OS Version: 6.3.9600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: d41d
Additional Information 2: d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998ecf8427e
Additional Information 3: dd86
Additional Information 4: dd86007e51a0752d7b4c51ec73a05a0b


Now, if you don't load Live (step 4) and then just close REAPER you get a different crash report: -

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: reaper.exe
Application Version: 5.5.0.2
Application Timestamp: 59bc145f
Fault Module Name: ntdll.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.3.9600.17476
Fault Module Timestamp: 54516b13
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0000000000039810
OS Version: 6.3.9600.2.0.0.256.48
Locale ID: 2057


I've also tried using ReWire with Reason and no errors are thrown when REAPER quits. I've used Live as ReWire slave before with REAPER and it never did this, not sure on the version of REAPER I was using at that time, most likely <=v5.40.

Live does appear to be working fine otherwise through ReWire as I expect, but it's just the crash report when quitting REAPER which worries me the most. But also don't know why it doesn't auto-launch Live like it does for Reason.

Updating the VS2013 redist packages (https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...utable-package) changed the version from v12.0.21005.1 to v12.0.40660.0 but still get the same crash reports. However, even if I don't fire up Live I get an crash report but that one doesn't mention MSVCP120.dll so I'm thinking that's not the cause of the issue.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
knaggsy2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 02:22 AM   #2
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 629
Default

Hi

Working fine on:

win 7 32bit
Reaper 5.50c (x86)
Ableton Live 9.7.1 (x86)

I'll check in win 10 64bit with Live 9.7.2 and report back.
__________________
Hope Sacred Passion Life Night Ache Soft Light

Last edited by Outboarder; 09-21-2017 at 02:51 AM.
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 02:48 AM   #3
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 629
Default

Tested on

Win10 Pro (x64)
Reaper 5.50c (x64)
Ableton Live 9.7.2 (x64)

1.Open reaper
2.Add track
3.Add live rewire
4.Open live (both synced)
5.Save live set
6.Exit live
7.Save reaper project
8.Exit reaper

No error
__________________
Hope Sacred Passion Life Night Ache Soft Light
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2017, 07:53 AM   #4
knaggsy2000
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your replies, Outboarder.

I've had some more time today to play around and it looks like when I downgrade Live to v9.7.1, the crash report on quit in REAPER does NOT come up. I don't have v9.7.2 nor can I download from the Ableton website. I've also tested v9.7.4 and that DOES bring up the crash report too.

Since you've also tested with v9.7.1/2 and not get the crash report, maybe there is something starting from v9.7.3 which is causing a compatibility issue.

I think I will raise the issue with Ableton too and see where things go.
knaggsy2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 06:34 AM   #5
knaggsy2000
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3
Default

Update: Ableton support have suggested that since REAPER crashes that the issue is with REAPER and not with them. Although in a way I disagree with that as it's only versions of Live from v9.7.3 which appear to be affected. But in another way, I can see where they are coming from.

Can someone try with Live v9.7.3/9.7.4 and see if the issue also happens for them? Be aware you can't download older revisions (e.g. v9.7.3, 9.7.2, and 9.7.1) from the Ableton site - only the latest is available (v9.7.4). So before you try a different revision, ensure you have the installer to put back the version you had before.

Also tried with REAPER v5.51 and it still happens, thought it was worth a whirl.
knaggsy2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.