COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 01-09-2021, 01:47 PM   #41
stw
Human being with feelings
 
stw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nonlinear View Post
I can post my iPlug folder or AU files if you want to try to build with it or compare. Let me know.

Are you using any special graphics or customized code outside of WDL-OL?
No, i don't use anything special. Just the files from the master branch (at least concerning the AU probs). But even the IPlug1 examples suffer from the write fail - which is BTW a permanent error.

Yes maybe we could verify if there're some differences in your setup. You may have a look yourself or provide your IplugAU files somehow? If you've got a link to any of your plugs i could also try how they behave on my setup?
stw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2021, 04:19 PM   #42
Nonlinear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stw View Post
Yes maybe we could verify if there're some differences in your setup. You may have a look yourself or provide your IplugAU files somehow? If you've got a link to any of your plugs i could also try how they behave on my setup?
Here is a link to all of the WDL-OL iPlug files I have fixed and/or customized with input from others on this forum - try building with the AU files from this folder and see if you get any different results:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...iV?usp=sharing

You can download demos of my plugins from here:

https://www.raisingjakestudios.com/plugins.html

All of these plugins were built in Xcode 10.3 as 64-bit only. Oli made some changes to WDL-OL for 64-bit builds just before he archived it. Make sure you have his latest version (now ~2 years old).

Again, AFAIK my plugins work properly in Logic Pro X 10.5.1 on all OS (Intel) but not Logic 10.6.1 in any OS - so, IMO, the bug is in Logic. I have reported it to Apple; no reply.
Nonlinear is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2021, 11:55 AM   #43
stw
Human being with feelings
 
stw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nonlinear View Post
Here is a link to all of the WDL-OL iPlug files I have fixed and/or customized with input from others on this forum - try building with the AU files from this folder and see if you get any different results:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...iV?usp=sharing

You can download demos of my plugins from here:

https://www.raisingjakestudios.com/plugins.html

All of these plugins were built in Xcode 10.3 as 64-bit only. Oli made some changes to WDL-OL for 64-bit builds just before he archived it. Make sure you have his latest version (now ~2 years old).

Again, AFAIK my plugins work properly in Logic Pro X 10.5.1 on all OS (Intel) but not Logic 10.6.1 in any OS - so, IMO, the bug is in Logic. I have reported it to Apple; no reply.
Thanks for providing your files!
I tested one of your plugs on my setup and can confirm that it writes automation data in Logic 10.5.1. !0.6.1 also works correctly for knobs but not for switches - as you already pointed out.
So i exchanged all but the VST files from my folders with your IPlug files. Unfortunately with no luck. Neither my plug nor the IPlugEffect example works afterwards (concerning the automation issue). So there must be something else in your setup what makes the difference...
stw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2021, 12:45 PM   #44
Nonlinear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stw View Post
So i exchanged all but the VST files from my folders with your IPlug files. Unfortunately with no luck. Neither my plug nor the IPlugEffect example works afterwards (concerning the automation issue). So there must be something else in your setup what makes the difference...
IDK, but I have suffered that experience many MANY times. What works for someone else didn't work for me. Believe me, I know it's frustrating!

Maybe Oli or someone else has an idea where to look? If your plugins work in Reaper but not in Logic I would have to assume it's something in the AU files that Logic is being fussy about - but sometimes where you THINK the problem is is really somewhere else.

Does auval give any clues or does it say "PASS" for everything? I've had plugins pass auval 100% and still not work in Logic. IMO, auval is a very POOR validation tool but sometimes it does find something.

Another tool I use is Tracktion's "PluginVal". It gives a lot more info about issues: https://www.tracktion.com/develop/pluginval
Nonlinear is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.