Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > MIDI Hardware, Control Surfaces, and OSC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2022, 01:02 PM   #41
TrustNoPun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 4
Default

Hi, Iím attempting to use this on a Mac with the Faderport v2 and Iím having the same issue as RobinGShore. I noticed when I click on ďInstall ReasonusĒ the installation begins but there isnít any dialogue saying the installation is finished, even after waiting 15 minutes or so. Is this normal or is something supposed to happen when the installation is complete?
TrustNoPun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2022, 11:17 PM   #42
Navelpluisje
Human being with feelings
 
Navelpluisje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: IJsselstein, Netherlands
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
Here's what my cdi.ini looks like
Code:
Page "Reasonus FaderPort" FollowMCP NoSynchPages UseScrollLink 
MidiSurface "Faderport v2" 25 25 "FP2.mst" "ReasonusFaderPort" 1 1 1 0
And Here's a screen shot showing everything in the CSI folder. Aside from the ini file it's just empty folders, looks like the mst file you mentioned did not get installed

Thanx Robin, Think I found the issue. Will try to fix it tonight. Keep you updated.
__________________
Created ReaSonus FaderPort: Documentation and Download from Github. Report Issues
Created Reapinger BCF2000: Documentation and Download from Reaper Stash
Donations: Buy me a coffee or beer or buy one of my shirts in Europe or North America
Navelpluisje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2022, 04:48 AM   #43
Midifail
Human being with feelings
 
Midifail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 23
Default

have the same issue I guess.. when I press the install button nothing happens and the csi folders stay empty.
windows 10 faderport v2
thank you for investigating!
Midifail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2022, 08:46 AM   #44
Navelpluisje
Human being with feelings
 
Navelpluisje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: IJsselstein, Netherlands
Posts: 199
Default

Somehow it looks like the builds failed. There are 2 build for reasonus; One for the installer itself and one for the zone files, scripts etc. They both were build from an incorrect version.

Both builds should now be correct.

Download the latest ReaSonus version at ReaSonus Install
Check out the Documentation for all functionality.

Thanx all for helping me figuring this out.
__________________
Created ReaSonus FaderPort: Documentation and Download from Github. Report Issues
Created Reapinger BCF2000: Documentation and Download from Reaper Stash
Donations: Buy me a coffee or beer or buy one of my shirts in Europe or North America
Navelpluisje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2022, 01:08 PM   #45
Midifail
Human being with feelings
 
Midifail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 23
Default

thank you for the new build! the installer did install something now and prompted with "done" when finished.
but faderport does not work or show up in reaper. in preferences the contro/osc/web page is blank.
do i have to set this up manually in reaper?
thanks again!
Midifail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2022, 02:00 PM   #46
TrustNoPun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 4
Default

The new version worked for me, the installation completed and the Faderport is working. Only issue I see after initial testing is that Undo/Redo aren’t working when pressing Shift+Prev and Shift+Next. The other Shift functions all seem to be working. Thanks for working on this though, having full Faderport functionality is the only thing I’ve really been missing since switching to Reaper from Studio One, and the added functionality from CSI is really promising!

Last edited by TrustNoPun; 07-22-2022 at 02:01 PM. Reason: Didn’t proofread
TrustNoPun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2022, 02:16 PM   #47
TrustNoPun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midifail View Post
do i have to set this up manually in reaper?
I didnít have to do anything extra with mine, just installed SWS/S&M extension, ran the Reasonus installer and it showed up in Control surfaces/OSC/web control automatically.
TrustNoPun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2022, 02:56 PM   #48
Navelpluisje
Human being with feelings
 
Navelpluisje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: IJsselstein, Netherlands
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midifail View Post
thank you for the new build! the installer did install something now and prompted with "done" when finished.
but faderport does not work or show up in reaper. in preferences the contro/osc/web page is blank.
do i have to set this up manually in reaper?
thanks again!
Can you try, within the preferences > control/osc/web to add Control Surface Integrator? It should show up the correct settings then.

Please let me know if tthis works. If so I need to investigate this.
__________________
Created ReaSonus FaderPort: Documentation and Download from Github. Report Issues
Created Reapinger BCF2000: Documentation and Download from Reaper Stash
Donations: Buy me a coffee or beer or buy one of my shirts in Europe or North America
Navelpluisje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2022, 03:26 PM   #49
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 729
Default

Seems to be working for me now with the newest build. Haven't had a chance to thoroughly test all the functionality, but at first glance everything seems good
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2022, 07:20 AM   #50
Navelpluisje
Human being with feelings
 
Navelpluisje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: IJsselstein, Netherlands
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
Seems to be working for me now with the newest build. Haven't had a chance to thoroughly test all the functionality, but at first glance everything seems good
That's good to hear. Also check the docs. Not all buttons have functions yet. If you have any idea for that, let me know.
__________________
Created ReaSonus FaderPort: Documentation and Download from Github. Report Issues
Created Reapinger BCF2000: Documentation and Download from Reaper Stash
Donations: Buy me a coffee or beer or buy one of my shirts in Europe or North America
Navelpluisje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2022, 02:28 PM   #51
Midifail
Human being with feelings
 
Midifail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navelpluisje View Post
Can you try, within the preferences > control/osc/web to add Control Surface Integrator? It should show up the correct settings then.

Please let me know if tthis works. If so I need to investigate this.
there are two entries for Control Surface Integrator in my reaper preferences. both show up empty/blank when selected and faderport does nothing
Midifail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2022, 02:32 PM   #52
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 8,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midifail View Post
there are two entries for Control Surface Integrator in my reaper preferences. both show up empty/blank when selected and faderport does nothing
There should never be more than one instance of Control Surface Integrator.
__________________
To install you need the Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 07:36 AM   #53
Navelpluisje
Human being with feelings
 
Navelpluisje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: IJsselstein, Netherlands
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midifail View Post
there are two entries for Control Surface Integrator in my reaper preferences. both show up empty/blank when selected and faderport does nothing
Can you remove both of them and just add 1 csi instance? This should pick up the settings from the csi.ini file. If this does not work, can you send me the content of your csi.ini file?
You can get the file by going in the menu to Options > Show REAPER resource path.... . Then go to the CSI folder.

Once opened, you can also try the next content for this file:
Code:
Page "Reasonus FaderPort" FollowMCP NoSynchPages UseScrollLink 
MidiSurface "Faderport v2" 25 25 "FP2.mst" "ReasonusFaderPort" 1 1 1 0
This is also what the installer is adding to the file.
__________________
Created ReaSonus FaderPort: Documentation and Download from Github. Report Issues
Created Reapinger BCF2000: Documentation and Download from Reaper Stash
Donations: Buy me a coffee or beer or buy one of my shirts in Europe or North America
Navelpluisje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2022, 03:09 PM   #54
Midifail
Human being with feelings
 
Midifail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navelpluisje View Post
Once opened, you can also try the next content for this file:
Code:
Page "Reasonus FaderPort" FollowMCP NoSynchPages UseScrollLink 
MidiSurface "Faderport v2" 25 25 "FP2.mst" "ReasonusFaderPort" 1 1 1 0
This is also what the installer is adding to the file.
this entry worked! the csi.ini was empty before. i also had to manually add the faderport midi in/out to the CSI Editor in Reaper Console Preferences.
everything seems to work now!
thank you!
Midifail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2022, 01:55 AM   #55
Navelpluisje
Human being with feelings
 
Navelpluisje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: IJsselstein, Netherlands
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midifail View Post
this entry worked! the csi.ini was empty before. i also had to manually add the faderport midi in/out to the CSI Editor in Reaper Console Preferences.
everything seems to work now!
thank you!
Thatís great to hear
__________________
Created ReaSonus FaderPort: Documentation and Download from Github. Report Issues
Created Reapinger BCF2000: Documentation and Download from Reaper Stash
Donations: Buy me a coffee or beer or buy one of my shirts in Europe or North America
Navelpluisje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2022, 06:02 PM   #56
TrustNoPun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 4
Default

I noticed the Shift + Previous and Shift + Next buttons were listed as NoAction in the NavigatorChannel zone file, so I was able to get Undo/redo working by pasting the action IDs in there. All good now
TrustNoPun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2022, 04:42 AM   #57
Navelpluisje
Human being with feelings
 
Navelpluisje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: IJsselstein, Netherlands
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrustNoPun View Post
I noticed the Shift + Previous and Shift + Next buttons were listed as NoAction in the NavigatorChannel zone file, so I was able to get Undo/redo working by pasting the action IDs in there. All good now
Ooh, will add these to the file also. Thanx
__________________
Created ReaSonus FaderPort: Documentation and Download from Github. Report Issues
Created Reapinger BCF2000: Documentation and Download from Reaper Stash
Donations: Buy me a coffee or beer or buy one of my shirts in Europe or North America
Navelpluisje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2022, 11:35 PM   #58
perspectiveshifting
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you for all your work so far! I put in hours of customizing a CSI profile a couple years back and this immediately beats the functionality by a long shot for my FP8.

The one thing I am really missing from my previous profile is a function that used the Macro button to control whatever the last touched parameter was via the last fader (#8 for my FP8, but assumably #16 for a FP16). This was already built in to the CSI profile that I edited to make my own, so I'm not totally sure the difficulty in implementing something like this, but I found it to be an incredibly useful stopgap for having "analog" style control of a plugin when there was nothing mapped to MIDI controls.

Let me know if I can offer any other information here, as I would love to see a simple and robust way to interface with plugins like this implemented if it's not too difficult! Thank you again for all your hard work here, and I hope more people tip you at your buymeacoffee link!
perspectiveshifting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 05:09 AM   #59
creal
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by perspectiveshifting View Post
Thank you for all your work so far! I put in hours of customizing a CSI profile a couple years back and this immediately beats the functionality by a long shot for my FP8.

The one thing I am really missing from my previous profile is a function that used the Macro button to control whatever the last touched parameter was via the last fader (#8 for my FP8, but assumably #16 for a FP16). This was already built in to the CSI profile that I edited to make my own, so I'm not totally sure the difficulty in implementing something like this, but I found it to be an incredibly useful stopgap for having "analog" style control of a plugin when there was nothing mapped to MIDI controls.

Let me know if I can offer any other information here, as I would love to see a simple and robust way to interface with plugins like this implemented if it's not too difficult! Thank you again for all your hard work here, and I hope more people tip you at your buymeacoffee link!
This function is very interesting. I think it is essential to increase efficiency when working with plugins (as I always do) and automation. If it's possible to add this as an option, it would be very useful
creal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 04:00 PM   #60
Navelpluisje
Human being with feelings
 
Navelpluisje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: IJsselstein, Netherlands
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by perspectiveshifting View Post
Thank you for all your work so far! I put in hours of customizing a CSI profile a couple years back and this immediately beats the functionality by a long shot for my FP8.

The one thing I am really missing from my previous profile is a function that used the Macro button to control whatever the last touched parameter was via the last fader (#8 for my FP8, but assumably #16 for a FP16). This was already built in to the CSI profile that I edited to make my own, so I'm not totally sure the difficulty in implementing something like this, but I found it to be an incredibly useful stopgap for having "analog" style control of a plugin when there was nothing mapped to MIDI controls.

Let me know if I can offer any other information here, as I would love to see a simple and robust way to interface with plugins like this implemented if it's not too difficult! Thank you again for all your hard work here, and I hope more people tip you at your buymeacoffee link!
Muchos gracias for your donation.

I just checked the functionality and like it. I added it to the list. I found some zon files with this implemented, so think I will manage this. I only prefer using the Link button, because:
  • this is also how it is done for studio one
  • the naming makes more sense
  • this button is also on the FaderPort v2 (but unused there and Macro isn't)
Would it make more sense to use the fader or the pan knob? For me, not speaking out of experience, the pan knob makes sense because all the faders are still there for the volume of all the tracks. On the other hand (while typing this), a display will be used, so using the fader also makes sense, and maybe a fader is a bit nicer to adjust tha values with.

Will also add the fx/instrument name to the display.

First I will finish the improvements I'm working on right now, like;
  • Edit function key actions in REAPER
  • Make the mix management filters for the Audio button editable in REAPER
  • Encoder fixes
  • Undo, Redo buttons for the FP v2

Will be a pretty big release. Then will focus on the other improvements.
__________________
Created ReaSonus FaderPort: Documentation and Download from Github. Report Issues
Created Reapinger BCF2000: Documentation and Download from Reaper Stash
Donations: Buy me a coffee or beer or buy one of my shirts in Europe or North America
Navelpluisje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 04:22 PM   #61
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navelpluisje View Post
Muchos gracias for your donation.

I just checked the functionality and like it. I added it to the list. I found some zon files with this implemented, so think I will manage this. I only prefer using the Link button, because:
  • this is also how it is done for studio one
  • the naming makes more sense
  • this button is also on the FaderPort v2 (but unused there and Macro isn't)
Would it make more sense to use the fader or the pan knob? For me, not speaking out of experience, the pan knob makes sense because all the faders are still there for the volume of all the tracks. On the other hand (while typing this), a display will be used, so using the fader also makes sense, and maybe a fader is a bit nicer to adjust tha values with.

Will also add the fx/instrument name to the display.

First I will finish the improvements I'm working on right now, like;
  • Edit function key actions in REAPER
  • Make the mix management filters for the Audio button editable in REAPER
  • Encoder fixes
  • Undo, Redo buttons for the FP v2

Will be a pretty big release. Then will focus on the other improvements.
I don't have a Faderport but I use FocusedFXParam on my X-Touch One all the time. I recommend a fader. Good tactical experience, quick to dial in, and your get the displays for FXParamNameDisplay and FXParamValueDisplay. I'd say use Fader8/16.
__________________
CSI 2.0 Wiki
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 04:31 PM   #62
Navelpluisje
Human being with feelings
 
Navelpluisje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: IJsselstein, Netherlands
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
I don't have a Faderport but I use FocusedFXParam on my X-Touch One all the time. I recommend a fader. Good tactical experience, quick to dial in, and your get the displays for FXParamNameDisplay and FXParamValueDisplay. I'd say use Fader8/16.
Yeah, was thinking the same. Got triggered by the pan encoder because of the FaderPort documentation.
__________________
Created ReaSonus FaderPort: Documentation and Download from Github. Report Issues
Created Reapinger BCF2000: Documentation and Download from Reaper Stash
Donations: Buy me a coffee or beer or buy one of my shirts in Europe or North America
Navelpluisje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 09:20 PM   #63
perspectiveshifting
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navelpluisje View Post
Yeah, was thinking the same. Got triggered by the pan encoder because of the FaderPort documentation.
Thanks for looking into my suggestion! I'm also a big fan of it being a fader instead of the pan knob here, at least for the FP8/16. The feel of the fader and the display reading out the effect level has always made this a favorite feature of mine.

Additionally, the sudden movement from the fader was a nice auditory/visual indicator that the active effect being controlled had changed. This was important because while it worked for about 95% of the last touched parameters, certain plugins (such as the Helix Native plugin in my experience) did not work with it. While the display not changing would also indicate this, the fader failing to "snap" to the new parameter was always my first indicator that I was still attached to the previous parameter.

As far as whether this function would be activated by the Link or Macro buttons, your argument for the Link button totally makes sense to me. As a FP8 user, either would work equally well from my perspective.
perspectiveshifting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 01:44 AM   #64
creal
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,392
Default

I also second the use of the fader instead of the pan knob. It's more precise and handy.
creal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 01:49 PM   #65
perspectiveshifting
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

One more small request - could you possibly put in an option to swap the function of the two shift buttons? I use my FP8 one-handed most of the time, so having the right shift be the shift that accesses the user functions is super useful.

I manually swapped them in the CSI file for myself, but this appears to have broken the Reasonus app's ability to update the user functions 😅
perspectiveshifting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 01:53 PM   #66
Navelpluisje
Human being with feelings
 
Navelpluisje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: IJsselstein, Netherlands
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by perspectiveshifting View Post
One more small request - could you possibly put in an option to swap the function of the two shift buttons? I use my FP8 one-handed most of the time, so having the right shift be the shift that accesses the user functions is super useful.

I manually swapped them in the CSI file for myself, but this appears to have broken the Reasonus app's ability to update the user functions 😅
I think the most save way to do this is changing it in the mst file. But also the mst files keep overwritten with an update. Will see what I can do. I'll add it to the list
__________________
Created ReaSonus FaderPort: Documentation and Download from Github. Report Issues
Created Reapinger BCF2000: Documentation and Download from Reaper Stash
Donations: Buy me a coffee or beer or buy one of my shirts in Europe or North America
Navelpluisje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 11:41 PM   #67
inertia
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 796
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navelpluisje View Post
I think the most save way to do this is changing it in the mst file. But also the mst files keep overwritten with an update. Will see what I can do. I'll add it to the list

Maybe add as a configurable item in the installer?
inertia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:54 AM   #68
nlamont
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 93
Default

Thanks very much for Reasonus. I just got a Faderport v2 yesterday and now have full functionality.

I have two Reaper installs, one a portable install. When I first installed Reasonus it detected my main install, the non-portable one, and set everything up there.

I'd now like to set it up for my portable install, but can't get back to the first Reasonus screen where it checks where your Reaper install is.

Is there a workaround for that?
nlamont is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.