Old 06-07-2021, 01:28 AM   #1
IrishRover79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 42
Default how to set last selected track as last touched track

Hi, we have an action to 'set first selected track as last touched track' but, unless I'm missing something, there's no action to set the LAST selected track as the last touched track.' Does anyone know if there's a way to do this?

I need a way to do it for a pair of custom actions I'm working on for extending the item selection up/down at the edit cursor.

Thanks.
IrishRover79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 04:53 AM   #2
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 6,538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrishRover79 View Post
there's no action to set the LAST selected track as the last touched track.
Track selected the last will be the last touched track. So, save the current track selection if you need it, then Xenakios/SWS: Select last of selected tracks?
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 05:52 AM   #3
IrishRover79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks, but what I mean by 'last selected track' is really the lowest selected track, i.e. the selected track that is 'lowest down' the project vertically, or the highest numbered selected track. That isn't always the same as the track selected last.
IrishRover79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 06:24 AM   #4
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,154
Default

That's what the action mentioned does if you select all tracks first; selects the last of them.

But if you're just looking to extend the track selection, there's actions for that:
Select next/previous track (keeping current selection)
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Musyyyck
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 08:40 AM   #5
IrishRover79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks, without a precise equivalent of the 'set first selected track as last touched track,' I don't think I can get the result I want in the way I had in mind. But you've made me realise there might be another way to achieve the same thing. I'll play around tonight and see how far I can get. Thanks!
IrishRover79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 01:55 PM   #6
IrishRover79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks. Have worked out how to do what I wanted.
Attached Images
File Type: gif extend item selection at cursor up and down.gif (32.3 KB, 13 views)
IrishRover79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2021, 05:50 PM   #7
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,154
Default

Hmm, glad you got something going, but from that example I have no idea why you'd want to do it that way, so I'll make one more suggestion:

Go into prefs/mouse modifiers and set something up for drawing marquee selection while holding modifiers (e.g. ctrl+alt+shift).

Then you can just draw a little box that touches all the items you want and it won't depend on there being a nice clean space around them to do so. There's also razor edit marquee for drawing more convoluted or non-contiguous marquee shapes.
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Musyyyck
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2021, 02:21 AM   #8
IrishRover79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks. I understand your underwhelm! I know that marquee selecting items is quicker (I'm a right click drag guy). I suppose the scenario I have in mind is when you've already made a selection of certain items but just want to extend it up or down a bit without redrawing it.

I was also curious if I could do it.
IrishRover79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2021, 07:27 AM   #9
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Track selected the last will be the last touched track. So, save the current track selection if you need it, then Xenakios/SWS: Select last of selected tracks?
If you use SHIFT+click for selection, it will not.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2021, 07:44 AM   #10
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 6,538
Default

If you mean literally the last track that you shift-clicked, depends on which one it was. Because that action selects the last selected track in track order.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.