|
|
|
03-23-2024, 02:32 PM
|
#25521
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Looking at some of these test posts makes it clear we should consider simplifying the whole AutoMap/Learn workflow, it's very error prone and can be confusing.
We have a secret weapon, Focused FX now works !
I propose the following as a starting point for discussion.
Remove the NoMap Zone.
FXMenu will display NoMap for any FX without Zone definitions.
The LearnFocusedFXParams Zone will behave like any other Associated Zone.
The button for AutoMap will move inside the LearnFocusedFXParams Zone.
That way, we only need one control for LearnFocusedFXParams in the Buttons Zone.
What do you think ?
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-23-2024, 02:55 PM
|
#25522
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,143
|
I like where you're going. Would it be feasible to tweak the design so that:
1. Activating "GoFXSlot" on a "NoMap" plugin automatically enters Learn mode
2. Focusing an FX with no map also automatically enters Learn mode
3. Then all you need is a single "AutomapFocusedFX" action on your surface that would work for any FocusedFX with NoMap
Only thing that might get tricky is multiple surface setups and not having them enter Learn mode when focusing FX and you don't want them to.
The challenge with a LearnFXParams Associated zone versus the NoMap option is surfaces going to be on surfaces like the Twister. I've got an FXMenu going, but I'm not really calling AssociatedZones up or anything due to the limited number of buttons. But if I were instantly in Learn mode, then I could just keep a side button dedicated to the rare instances where I want to Automap.
Last edited by Funkybot; 03-23-2024 at 03:00 PM.
|
|
|
03-23-2024, 03:11 PM
|
#25523
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot
I like where you're going. Would it be feasible to tweak the design so that:
1. Activating "GoFXSlot" on a "NoMap" plugin automatically enters Learn mode
2. Focusing an FX with no map also automatically enters Learn mode
3. Then all you need is a single "AutomapFocusedFX" action on your surface that would work for any FocusedFX with NoMap
Only thing that might get tricky is multiple surface setups and not having them enter Learn mode when focusing FX and you don't want them to.
The challenge with a LearnFXParams Associated zone versus the NoMap option is surfaces going to be on surfaces like the Twister. I've got an FXMenu going, but I'm not really calling AssociatedZones up or anything due to the limited number of buttons. But if I were instantly in Learn mode, then I could just keep a side button dedicated to the rare instances where I want to Automap.
|
Good points.
The issue I see is point 2.
Anytime you mistakenly focus an FX with no map you bounce into Learn mode, too clunky and annoying.
Having a button also makes Broadcast/Listen a lot easier.
I do get your point about limited buttons on, say, a Twister.
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-23-2024, 03:22 PM
|
#25524
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 5,003
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington
Looking at some of these test posts makes it clear we should consider simplifying the whole AutoMap/Learn workflow, it's very error prone and can be confusing.
We have a secret weapon, Focused FX now works !
I propose the following as a starting point for discussion.
Remove the NoMap Zone.
FXMenu will display NoMap for any FX without Zone definitions.
The LearnFocusedFXParams Zone will behave like any other Associated Zone.
The button for AutoMap will move inside the LearnFocusedFXParams Zone.
That way, we only need one control for LearnFocusedFXParams in the Buttons Zone.
What do you think ?
|
I think this is a great idea Get rid of the NoMap Zone and Learn from SlotFX. Same focused FX method for everything. With respect to @funkybot, don’t make it automatic.
|
|
|
03-23-2024, 05:16 PM
|
#25525
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Unifield
Posts: 397
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington
Looking at some of these test posts makes it clear we should consider simplifying the whole AutoMap/Learn workflow, it's very error prone and can be confusing.
We have a secret weapon, Focused FX now works !
I propose the following as a starting point for discussion.
Remove the NoMap Zone.
FXMenu will display NoMap for any FX without Zone definitions.
The LearnFocusedFXParams Zone will behave like any other Associated Zone.
The button for AutoMap will move inside the LearnFocusedFXParams Zone.
That way, we only need one control for LearnFocusedFXParams in the Buttons Zone.
What do you think ?
|
This all sounds like a really efficient workflow!
|
|
|
03-24-2024, 08:39 AM
|
#25526
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Ok, working through this, just thought you'd like a heads up as to the type of changes to expect:
Code:
Zone Home
...
AssociatedZones
SelectedTracks
SelectedTrackSend
SelectedTrackReceive
SelectedTrackFXMenu
MasterTrackFXMenu
TrackSend
TrackReceive
TrackFXMenu
VCA
Folder
SelectedTrackTCPFX
SelectedTrackTCPFXTemplate
LearnFocusedFXParams
CustomAux
CustomBuses
CustomOutputs
AssociatedZonesEnd
ZoneEnd
Code:
Zone "Buttons"
// Encoder Assign Buttons
Track GoAssociatedZone SelectedTracks
Global+Track GoHome // aka Tracks
Pan GoAssociatedZone VCA
Global+Pan GoAssociatedZone Folder
EQ GoAssociatedZone SelectedTrackReceive
Global+EQ GoAssociatedZone TrackReceive
Send GoAssociatedZone SelectedTrackSend
Global+Send GoAssociatedZone TrackSend
Plugin GoAssociatedZone SelectedTrackFXMenu
Global+Plugin GoAssociatedZone TrackFXMenu
Instrument GoAssociatedZone LearnFocusedFXParams
Shift+Instrument AutoMapFocusedFX
Control+Instrument RemapZone
Code:
Zone "LearnFocusedFXParams"
OnZoneActivation SetXTouchDisplayColors Cyan
OnZoneDeactivation RestoreXTouchDisplayColors
Outputs EraseLastTouchedControl
User SaveLearnedFXParams
Rotary1 NoAction
Fader1 NoAction
RotaryPush1 NoAction
DisplayUpper1 NoAction
DisplayLower1 NoAction
...
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-24-2024, 04:53 PM
|
#25527
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 752
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington
This is a result of sharing displays for each of the controls.
We used to have a problem with "psychedelic displays" , where 2 Actions tied to the same display Widget (e.g. DisplayUpper1) would cause it to wildly flicker.
NullDisplay takes care of that.
Only one display in a cell should have a param or no action, the rest should be null.
If the cell has a param, all good.
If not, you likely want to blank the cell to make sure nothing bleeds through from a lower Zone.
That's why, if no controls are used, one (typical the first) should have NoAction assigned to the displays, to ensure proper clearing.
|
Thanks for clearing that up, makes perfect sense.
|
|
|
03-25-2024, 11:48 AM
|
#25528
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 5,003
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington
Ok, working through this, just thought you'd like a heads up as to the type of changes to expect:
Code:
Zone Home
...
AssociatedZones
SelectedTracks
SelectedTrackSend
SelectedTrackReceive
SelectedTrackFXMenu
MasterTrackFXMenu
TrackSend
TrackReceive
TrackFXMenu
VCA
Folder
SelectedTrackTCPFX
SelectedTrackTCPFXTemplate
LearnFocusedFXParams
CustomAux
CustomBuses
CustomOutputs
AssociatedZonesEnd
ZoneEnd
Code:
Zone "Buttons"
// Encoder Assign Buttons
Track GoAssociatedZone SelectedTracks
Global+Track GoHome // aka Tracks
Pan GoAssociatedZone VCA
Global+Pan GoAssociatedZone Folder
EQ GoAssociatedZone SelectedTrackReceive
Global+EQ GoAssociatedZone TrackReceive
Send GoAssociatedZone SelectedTrackSend
Global+Send GoAssociatedZone TrackSend
Plugin GoAssociatedZone SelectedTrackFXMenu
Global+Plugin GoAssociatedZone TrackFXMenu
Instrument GoAssociatedZone LearnFocusedFXParams
Shift+Instrument AutoMapFocusedFX
Control+Instrument RemapZone
Code:
Zone "LearnFocusedFXParams"
OnZoneActivation SetXTouchDisplayColors Cyan
OnZoneDeactivation RestoreXTouchDisplayColors
Outputs EraseLastTouchedControl
User SaveLearnedFXParams
Rotary1 NoAction
Fader1 NoAction
RotaryPush1 NoAction
DisplayUpper1 NoAction
DisplayLower1 NoAction
...
|
This looks good! Presumably Broadcast/Receive with other surfaces?
|
|
|
03-25-2024, 11:59 AM
|
#25529
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,143
|
Definitely a nitpick, but do we need the "Params" in "LearnFocusedFXParams"? I get why it's there, but I think LearnFocusedFX and AutomapFocusedFX is clear enough. Otherwise, people might think it has something to do with FocusedFXParams as an action.
|
|
|
03-25-2024, 12:01 PM
|
#25530
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey
This looks good! Presumably Broadcast/Receive with other surfaces?
|
Yes, will be adding a LearnFocusedFX checkbox to Listeners.
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-25-2024, 12:02 PM
|
#25531
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot
Definitely a nitpick, but do we need the "Params" in "LearnFocusedFXParams"? I get why it's there, but I think LearnFocusedFX and AutomapFocusedFX is clear enough. Otherwise, people might think it has something to do with FocusedFXParams as an action.
|
Good point.
Since we are changing it any way, might as well do this now.
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-25-2024, 01:01 PM
|
#25532
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Rethinking the Zone definitions.
Now think the AutoMapFocusedFX and RemapZone Actions should move to the LearnFocusedFX Zone.
Thoughts ?
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-25-2024, 01:04 PM
|
#25533
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 5,003
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington
Rethinking the Zone definitions.
Now think the AutoMapFocusedFX and RemapZone Actions should move to the LearnFocusedFX Zone.
Thoughts ?
|
Sounds good to me and keeps all the "how do I get FX controls on my surface?" stuff together. Well, with the exception of TCPFX anyway
|
|
|
03-25-2024, 02:27 PM
|
#25534
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,143
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington
Rethinking the Zone definitions.
Now think the AutoMapFocusedFX and RemapZone Actions should move to the LearnFocusedFX Zone.
Thoughts ?
|
I've got some questions on this one. Right now, if I have an FX map loaded, I can just call up a "Remap" action because I've got this in my FXPrologue
Code:
Zone FXPrologue
MainDisplay1 TrackNameDisplay
MainDisplay2 FXMenuNameDisplay
/
BankD RemapAutoZone
BankDDisplay FixedTextDisplay "Remap FX"
ZoneEnd
Would that still be allowed? That seems like most the logical way: 1) actiate an FX map that includes that, then 2) press Remap to direclty enter RemapFX.
In the new flow, how would this work: 1. Focused an FX, 2) click Learn FX, then 3) press Ramap? One extra button press in my instance.
But if the Remap action can be called from anywhere then, I'm good.
|
|
|
03-25-2024, 03:02 PM
|
#25535
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot
I've got some questions on this one. Right now, if I have an FX map loaded, I can just call up a "Remap" action because I've got this in my FXPrologue
Code:
Zone FXPrologue
MainDisplay1 TrackNameDisplay
MainDisplay2 FXMenuNameDisplay
/
BankD RemapAutoZone
BankDDisplay FixedTextDisplay "Remap FX"
ZoneEnd
Would that still be allowed? That seems like most the logical way: 1) actiate an FX map that includes that, then 2) press Remap to direclty enter RemapFX.
In the new flow, how would this work: 1. Focused an FX, 2) click Learn FX, then 3) press Ramap? One extra button press in my instance.
But if the Remap action can be called from anywhere then, I'm good.
|
Well, basing FX mapping on Focused FX only is a game changer internally, it simplifies things a lot and allows for workflows that would have not been feasible before.
Here's the current one being contemplated.
Learning is just learning, whether it's auto or manual.
Previously AutoMap (should probably be renamed to AutoLearn) would automatically save the file.
No need for that anymore.
You could activate the LearnFocusedFX Zone, then press the button assigned to AutoMap.
This would AutoMap all params, but would not save anything.
Since you are already in Learn mode, you could then touch and erase controls, add controls, etc., until you were happy, then press save.
I think the whole thing can be much more seamlessly integrated with the new approach.
You can Focus an already mapped FX and hit Learn to go back to Learn mode.
Trying to get the whole Ux to be more intuitive, seamless, and cohesive.
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-25-2024, 04:38 PM
|
#25536
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,143
|
Makes sense. What I'm just saying is: I want to retain the ability to call up the Remap window directly from an FX zone without having to load the Learn AssociatedZone first. Example: I have a map setup and now I just want to open the Remap window to rename controls. Why make me go into the Learn zone first?
The new vision for Learn sounds great.
|
|
|
03-25-2024, 05:05 PM
|
#25537
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot
Makes sense. What I'm just saying is: I want to retain the ability to call up the Remap window directly from an FX zone without having to load the Learn AssociatedZone first. Example: I have a map setup and now I just want to open the Remap window to rename controls. Why make me go into the Learn zone first?
The new vision for Learn sounds great.
|
Ah, got it.
Yup, you can call Remap from anywhere.
The rest you can only call from with the LearnFocusedFX Zone.
Of course, there is nothing stopping you from having Remap defined both ways.
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-26-2024, 10:14 AM
|
#25538
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
I've hinted at major changes coming to CSI...
Pleased to announce today that CSI is being strongly considered for inclusion in the Reaper install.
We definitely need everyone in the community to help make this happen.
That means lots of QA testing.
It also means making some hard decisions about the CSI folder content.
I know there will be well founded opinions on which is the best .mst layout for a particular surface, or the best Track.zon definition, etc., but I think CSI has been in production long enough that we can come to (mostly) consensus, on most items
Let's get testing, vetting, and curating, and make this more likely to happen !
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-26-2024, 11:50 AM
|
#25539
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 752
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington
I've hinted at major changes coming to CSI...
Pleased to announce today that CSI is being strongly considered for inclusion in the Reaper install.
We definitely need everyone in the community to help make this happen.
That means lots of QA testing.
It also means making some hard decisions about the CSI folder content.
I know there will be well founded opinions on which is the best .mst layout for a particular surface, or the best Track.zon definition, etc., but I think CSI has been in production long enough that we can come to (mostly) consensus, on most items
Let's get testing, vetting, and curating, and make this more likely to happen !
|
Congrats that's pretty big news!
|
|
|
03-26-2024, 12:06 PM
|
#25540
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 890
|
Awesome news!
We are waiting for the next beta to test, right?
|
|
|
03-26-2024, 12:13 PM
|
#25541
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipotto
We are waiting for the next beta to test, right?
|
Yes, working on Learn.
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-26-2024, 12:54 PM
|
#25542
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,143
|
That's great news! Looking forward to this! Congrats!
|
|
|
03-26-2024, 06:58 PM
|
#25543
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 145
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington
I've hinted at major changes coming to CSI...
Pleased to announce today that CSI is being strongly considered for inclusion in the Reaper install.
We definitely need everyone in the community to help make this happen.
That means lots of QA testing.
It also means making some hard decisions about the CSI folder content.
I know there will be well founded opinions on which is the best .mst layout for a particular surface, or the best Track.zon definition, etc., but I think CSI has been in production long enough that we can come to (mostly) consensus, on most items
Let's get testing, vetting, and curating, and make this more likely to happen !
|
Awesome news!!! Congratulations!!!
Jd
|
|
|
03-27-2024, 08:47 AM
|
#25544
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Unifield
Posts: 397
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington
I've hinted at major changes coming to CSI...
Pleased to announce today that CSI is being strongly considered for inclusion in the Reaper install.
We definitely need everyone in the community to help make this happen.
That means lots of QA testing.
It also means making some hard decisions about the CSI folder content.
I know there will be well founded opinions on which is the best .mst layout for a particular surface, or the best Track.zon definition, etc., but I think CSI has been in production long enough that we can come to (mostly) consensus, on most items
Let's get testing, vetting, and curating, and make this more likely to happen !
|
Great news! Definitely a well deserved outcome of your constant dedication, Geoff.
My most sincere congratulations!
|
|
|
03-27-2024, 10:51 AM
|
#25545
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Thanks to the community, you folks made it happen !
One thing we haven't mentioned yet, the wiki.
Would be great to improve this, all ideas more than welcomed.
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-27-2024, 04:49 PM
|
#25546
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 923
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington
Thanks to the community, you folks made it happen !
One thing we haven't mentioned yet, the wiki.
Would be great to improve this, all ideas more than welcomed.
|
A search function, where you can search a term and it will find any reference to it on any page.
|
|
|
03-27-2024, 05:30 PM
|
#25547
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freex
A search function, where you can search a term and it will find any reference to it on any page.
|
Hmmm...
Maybe a wiki isn't the best way in the first place.
PDF ?
Something else ?
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-27-2024, 07:02 PM
|
#25548
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,143
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freex
A search function, where you can search a term and it will find any reference to it on any page.
|
I found a browser extension that lets you search for any word on a github wiki. Much better than the stock search. Will post the name of you need me to. On my phone at the moment.
|
|
|
03-28-2024, 04:52 AM
|
#25549
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 752
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freex
A search function, where you can search a term and it will find any reference to it on any page.
|
I agree 100%, that's what I found the hardest when I was first learning how to create my CSI setup, I would find some info and then 2 days later could not find it anymore because I didn't remember how to get there.
A search function would've saved me a ton of time.
|
|
|
03-28-2024, 05:21 AM
|
#25550
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,143
|
If you're open to a browser extension, there's a Chrome/Edge extension called "Wiki Search for GitHub". Works exactly how you hope. I used it the last time I needed to hunt down references to an outdated action and it pulled up all of them.
|
|
|
03-28-2024, 05:27 AM
|
#25551
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 752
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot
If you're open to a browser extension, there's a Chrome/Edge extension called "Wiki Search for GitHub". Works exactly how you hope. I used it the last time I needed to hunt down references to an outdated action and it pulled up all of them.
|
I wish I knew earlier lol! Thanks for that, I'll definitely use it next time.
|
|
|
03-28-2024, 05:41 AM
|
#25552
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,143
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by fourdogslong
I wish I knew earlier lol! Thanks for that, I'll definitely use it next time.
|
I only discovered it recently myself, and trust me: no one's spent more time hunting down information on the wiki than I have. Would've saved me a LOT of time if I knew about it sooner.
|
|
|
03-28-2024, 08:47 AM
|
#25553
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 923
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot
I only discovered it recently myself, and trust me: no one's spent more time hunting down information on the wiki than I have. Would've saved me a LOT of time if I knew about it sooner.
|
Awesome, now make sure to put a link to that at the top of the main page every page IN BIG BOLD WRITING lol.
|
|
|
03-28-2024, 12:14 PM
|
#25554
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
New Exp build is up.
https://stash.reaper.fm/v/42044/CSI%20Exp.zip
Fixed Advanced Dialog bug that FB reported on Windows.
First cut at new Learn workflow.
I really like it, could probably use a few tweaks, give it a try.
A take on the FB suggestion -- if you use FXMenu and Push GoFXSlot on a NoMap, the FX gui opens, focusing it. You can then press the button assigned to GoAssociatedZone LearnFocusedFX to Learn or Auto Learn.
It requires quite a few changes, including Zone names, I think this is the list
Code:
Zone Home
AssociatedZones
LearnFocusedFX
Code:
Zone "Buttons"
Instrument GoAssociatedZone LearnFocusedFX
User RemapZone
Code:
Zone "LearnFocusedFX"
Busses AutoLearnFocusedFX
Outputs EraseLastTouchedControl
User SaveLearnedFXParams
Note that you can go back into Learn or Remap anytime you want, there are no restrictions, providing, of course, that you don't mess with the auto generated section
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-29-2024, 08:46 AM
|
#25555
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Unifield
Posts: 397
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot
If you're open to a browser extension, there's a Chrome/Edge extension called "Wiki Search for GitHub". Works exactly how you hope. I used it the last time I needed to hunt down references to an outdated action and it pulled up all of them.
|
"GitHub Wiki Search" is the name of the one I use on Firefox. Works OK!
|
|
|
03-29-2024, 08:48 AM
|
#25556
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,143
|
Hi Geoff, just gave the latest Exp a quick smoke test.
When using the Remap window to add 2 steps to a Push, I end up with this...
Code:
RotaryPushA4 FXParam 4 RingStyle= [ 0.00>1.00 (0.001) 0 1 ]
DisplayUpperA4 FixedTextDisplay "WOW Processing Type"
DisplayLowerA4 FXParamValueDisplay 4
Expecting this...
Code:
RotaryPushA4 FXParam 4 [ 0 1 ]
DisplayUpperA4 FixedTextDisplay "WOW Processing Type"
DisplayLowerA4 FXParamValueDisplay 4
Otherwise, working so far. Will dig in more later/over the weekend!
Last edited by Funkybot; 03-29-2024 at 08:58 AM.
|
|
|
03-29-2024, 08:57 AM
|
#25557
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,143
|
Also, can confirm the Advanced window crashes are gone. Thanks!
|
|
|
03-29-2024, 09:20 AM
|
#25558
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot
Hi Geoff, just gave the latest Exp a quick smoke test.
When using the Remap window to add 2 steps to a Push, I end up with this...
Code:
RotaryPushA4 FXParam 4 RingStyle= [ 0.00>1.00 (0.001) 0 1 ]
DisplayUpperA4 FixedTextDisplay "WOW Processing Type"
DisplayLowerA4 FXParamValueDisplay 4
Expecting this...
Code:
RotaryPushA4 FXParam 4 [ 0 1 ]
DisplayUpperA4 FixedTextDisplay "WOW Processing Type"
DisplayLowerA4 FXParamValueDisplay 4
Otherwise, working so far. Will dig in more later/over the weekend!
|
Aside from the RingStyle bug, that is per design.
Remap now fully defines params when it saves.
Should we change that ?
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
03-29-2024, 09:24 AM
|
#25559
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Unifield
Posts: 397
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington
Aside from the RingStyle bug, that is per design.
Remap now fully defines params when it saves.
Should we change that ?
|
It’s a great starting point if, for example, the range has to be narrowed.
|
|
|
03-29-2024, 09:27 AM
|
#25560
|
Human being with feelings
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 11,569
|
New Exp build is up.
https://stash.reaper.fm/v/42044/CSI%20Exp.zip
Added LearnFX checkbox to Advanced Dialog.
Only GoAssociatedZone "LearnFocusedFX" and SaveLearnedFXParams are broadcast.
You will need to assign a button to EraseLastTouchedControl on each Listener surface, since EraseLastTouchedControl is surface specific.
I don't think it makes sense to Broadcast AutoLearnFocusedFX, but maybe I'm wrong, maybe an MFT and OSC display ?
__________________
To install you need the CSI Software and Support Files
For installation instructions and documentation see the Wiki
Donate -- via PayPal to waddingtongeoff@gmail.com
|
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:32 PM.
|