Old 05-16-2018, 10:30 PM   #761
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,214
Default

http://www.celemony.com/en/pm-ara2
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 12:01 AM   #762
zeke
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 80
Default

I wonder how much the ARA license costs? It might bump reaper a new price level.
__________________
Check out my Book "How Bruce Springsteen's Music Saved My Life: Story of a Bullied Boy" | Next goal to get some music out.
zeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 12:25 AM   #763
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeke View Post
I wonder how much the ARA license costs? It might bump reaper a new price level.
In money equivalent it it is for free. Nevertheless it requires a lot of human capital and time.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 12:41 AM   #764
alextone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 219
Default

Save external jack midi and audio port connections with projects in the unofficial, maybe released one day, maybe not, native linux version. (Which is now the stable, works all day without complaint, default version here in the cottage in the mountains).

Alex.
alextone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 01:09 AM   #765
sievr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 113
Default

I beg and pray for new layout for mixer
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=204758
<3
sievr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 02:22 AM   #766
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alextone View Post
Save external jack midi and audio port connections with projects in the unofficial, maybe released one day, maybe not, native linux version.

Alex.
https://askjf.com/index.php?q=4105s
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 12:56 PM   #767
Arionas
Human being with feelings
 
Arionas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Athens
Posts: 75
Default

Hey guys!
Is there any key command where we can click on an insert fx and set it offline instead of right click and choose offline? Something like when we bypass an effect (shift+click).
I already tried some combinations with no luck. For me it will speed up my workflow.
So if there isn't possible right now, then it is a request from me for version 6

*EDIT
Oh GOD!!! I found it the next minute! it is shift+cmd+click!
grrrrrr 8 months without using it!!
Everything's fine!!
Arionas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 01:01 PM   #768
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,214
Default

Arionas :

Place the plug in offline mode in any fx slot
open track fx chain -> right click on the plug in the list -> save as fxchain

open fx browser, go in the fx chain folder -> select your fxchain -> right click -> create shortcut

done
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 02:53 PM   #769
Arionas
Human being with feelings
 
Arionas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Athens
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reno.thestraws View Post
Arionas :

Place the plug in offline mode in any fx slot
open track fx chain -> right click on the plug in the list -> save as fxchain

open fx browser, go in the fx chain folder -> select your fxchain -> right click -> create shortcut

done
This is nice too, thanks!
Arionas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 11:30 PM   #770
barbaroja
Human being with feelings
 
barbaroja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 223
Default

An integrated drumrack like native solution
Love for RS5k. With a knob to PLEASE:! Place the sample ahead of time! Daaang.
A session view.
FX channel matrix per track.
Make the UI scale prettier.
MPE Midi improved editor.

and

Folders act as VCAs with no setup. This one... is ... emm. Huge.

Last edited by barbaroja; 05-23-2018 at 04:47 PM.
barbaroja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 07:28 AM   #771
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 740
Default

1) I would like to see Reaper being able to process natively midi RPN/NRPN messages to control actions. I still have to launch previously OSCII-bot (with a custom script) before Reaper, this with LoopBe1 (virtual MIDI port) constantly running in the background, to be able to use the endless knobs of my MPD32 controller, which is the case in 95% of my Reaper sessions. It's a nuisance...

2) An improved UI with :
- the bottom of the master track mixer strip always at the same level as the other ones, even when the horizontal scrollbar is visible.
- an improved track icons management.
- a mixer toolbar.
- an inspector (or, at least, a second view of the mixer).
- a MIDI editor ruler font exactly the same as the arrangement ruler one.

3) Improved theming features. I could make a twenty items list about these, but the following are urgently needed, in my view :
- the ability to choose the font used for peak values display : we still need at least a 21 pixels wide meter strips to display them correctly without truncating them.
- a set of mcp_master_fxparm*.png images.
- the ability to mask the mcp.sendlist slot zero line when there is only a knob displayed (with a non Walter instruction as the ones used for other zero lines in both tcp and mcp).
- the ability to choose the font used in the MIDI editor track list and both the position and note pitch fields.
- the ability to mask completely the extended mixer area, even if mcp.extmixer.mode is set to [0].

4) An improved navigator with zooming abilities.


Hope that I will see at least few things among all this...
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8000
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...

Last edited by cubic13; 05-23-2018 at 07:48 AM.
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 05:20 PM   #772
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 423
Default

About all I'd like is a track inspector that is just the same as a single mixer channel, and maybe a mixer toolbar.

and a 1960 Cadillac Eldorado convertible.........
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 06:28 PM   #773
CDS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 91
Default

I wonder what the next version update for reaper 5 will be, maybe 5.90.xx
CDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 06:31 PM   #774
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,217
Default

My requirements for any update are "new better useful features or workflows".

No matter what those things are, who needs or wants them most or who doesn't, it's as sure a bet as you'll find anywhere that somebody isn't going to be happy and someone else will be very happy.

Just keep moving forward.

In that regard, "better than 5" hits the target.
__________________
"I, Bozo The Clown, do solemly swear to uphold the Consti.. consti... uh, how do you pronounce that again?".
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 01:12 AM   #775
sensej81
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Default

I'm begging reaper guys for these features in v6

REASAMPLOMATIC IMPROVEMENTS

-Filter section (ADSR + some emulation of popular filters + drive + modulation)
-Multimsampling
-Slicing
-Granular

NATIVE GROOVE POOL
-Extracting grooves from audio files
-Import grooves to midi and audio items
sensej81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 12:13 AM   #776
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 423
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
Agree

----------------
offtopic:

from my personal experience atheists are nicer people than believers.
Obviously you never met Pol-Pot, Hitler, Stalin, Lenin,Kim Jong et al, Idi Amin, and on and on and on.................
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 04:06 AM   #777
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woogish View Post
Obviously you never met Pol-Pot, Hitler, Stalin, Lenin,Kim Jong et al, Idi Amin, and on and on and on.................

Stop choosing ignorance and educate yourself with facts by watching some videos of Christopher Hitchens..>>

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3aKuJ1vwMWk

.

.

.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, macOS 10.14.1.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 06:43 PM   #778
DJ_sound
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
Default

please add the ability to display the sound wave changes when using effects
DJ_sound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 12:48 AM   #779
cubic13
Human being with feelings
 
cubic13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Posts: 740
Default

I already stated what I would like for a Reaper 6.x generation (post #772).

But, as I'm writing this, I am beginning to have a bad premonition : I am starting to wonder if there will ever be any Reaper 6.x versions. Why so ? Just seeing that the dev crew is piling up more and more updates to Reaper 5.x : there is already a 5.92pre1. AFAIK, this has never happened in the past since Reaper 1.x, which bring us back more than ten years ago. All the other generations that followed have stopped circa X.78 or sooner.

Just hope that I'm wrong but again, I'm feeling a little uncomfortable seeing how things are evolving, Jeffos departure, with Breeder and Banned a while ago, being other things that adds to my unease about all this...
__________________
DAW : i7-870|P7P55D-E|16 Gb|2 HDD 1 Tb|W7Pro SP1(64)|RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8000
Soft : Reaper(64)|Cubase 5-6.5(64)|Emulator X3 & several other VSTis (2 bridged)...
Gear : VMK-188+|MPD32|ME30P|Korg 05R/W|Roland D110|Yamaha TX802|Pre-MIDI stuff...
cubic13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 03:43 AM   #780
dtr0q
Human being with feelings
 
dtr0q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 22
Default

My dream feature is midi-like workflow for subprojects. What I mean:
-Open subproject in dockable tool window, like midi editor.
-Gluing subprojects, that creates new sp item with data from original subprojects, not original sp themselves (currently it creates new wav)
-Pooling data indicator on sp items
dtr0q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 07:08 AM   #781
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,114
Default

This is closely related to "Live" (i.e. non rendered) subprojects, that have been requested in many locations in the forums. You might take a look there.

Enhancing the supbroject "properties" by "Live" and then "Remote" would make Reaper unbeatable.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 09:08 AM   #782
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 1,938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubic13 View Post
But, as I'm writing this, I am beginning to have a bad premonition : I am starting to wonder if there will ever be any Reaper 6.x versions.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar w/ Intel HD530 - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-17.1_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 05:47 PM   #783
Sound asleep
Human being with feelings
 
Sound asleep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 7,427
Default

option to flip piano roll 90 degrees, so it's like a real piano.
__________________
Miles in your Shoes Original tune
Sound asleep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 12:40 AM   #784
DANIELE
Human being with feelings
 
DANIELE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Florence, Italy
Posts: 245
Default

I forgot to mention a "Rescan Midi Devices" action (not "Reset").


Actually I have some problems with some MIDI devices when I start Reaper, for example my Breath Controller works correctly on Windows and on its own configuration software but very often Reaper doesn't see it.


Sometimes I have to restart Reaper, sometimes I have to unplug - replug the usb of the device to make it works.


I don't know if it's an USB problem (even if with older versions I didn't have this issues) but I think an action like this would be higly appreciated.


Thank you.
__________________
Audio: AKG-K240 MKII, Steinberg UR22; Piano: Yamaha P-250 - Native Instruments S88;
!!DANIELE EPIC ORCHESTRAL MUSIC!! |*| STAR WARS SERIES
DANIELE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 05:50 AM   #785
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DANIELE View Post
I forgot to mention a "Rescan Midi Devices" action (not "Reset").

Actually I have some problems with some MIDI devices when I start Reaper, for example my Breath Controller works correctly on Windows and on its own configuration software but very often Reaper doesn't see it.
I have exactly the same problem. It happens - say - once in 10 startups of the system.

As this is a headless embedded setup the only thing I can do is shut down windows (including power off) and restart it. It then usually works correctly.

OTOH when I start the system with the master-keyboard powered off and then power on the keyboard when Reaper is up, same is not seen, either, of course. But here my automatic firing of the action "Reset all Midi devices" gets the keyboard to be recognized. But it does not help for the Breath Controller .

Any help for this problem would be very helpful.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de

Last edited by mschnell; 06-07-2018 at 09:27 PM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 05:13 PM   #786
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
We should drop MIDI while we're at it!!! Did you know that MIDI is from the early-1980s?! Crazy old.
Please don't Justin. I know midi is old but some of use use the heck out of it.
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 05:25 PM   #787
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 195
Default Always on Top undo Option

I would like to see a uncheck box for always on TOP for all windows FX / Midi editor.
I can always use alt + tab to get to each window.

Not a fan of the docker I like Windows. LOL
__________________
My Music
https://soundcloud.com/midiman007
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 07:02 PM   #788
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 19,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
We should drop MIDI while we're at it!!! Did you know that MIDI is from the early-1980s?! Crazy old.
Sounds ok to me, as long as you can find time to pick it back up for linux.

Which reminds me, thanks so much for the linux development! Which reminds me, it's time for a license upgrade before v6 rolls around.
__________________
The media are misleading the public about...pretty much everything.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 03:37 AM   #789
Softsynth
Human being with feelings
 
Softsynth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 4,677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midiman007 View Post
Please don't Justin. I know midi is old but some of use use the heck out of it.

Reaper is all about being the lean and mean DAW.
You can forget polls that ask what people use their DAWs for. I am fairly confident that dropping MIDI support would remove at very least 95% of the real world customers for any DAW, including Reaper. How much more lean and mean could you get?
Not going to happen. Amazon will drop online sales before that!!!
Softsynth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 05:58 AM   #790
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 400
Default

I've heard on the grapevine V6 will be dropping both Audio and Midi, to concentrate on Walter
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 08:06 AM   #791
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
brainwreck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The 90's
Posts: 19,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
I've heard on the grapevine V6 will be dropping both Audio and Midi, to concentrate on Walter
I heard that v6 will be linux native only. So many rumors flying.
__________________
The media are misleading the public about...pretty much everything.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 08:12 AM   #792
JeffreyET
Human being with feelings
 
JeffreyET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 318
Default

I have ALWAYS wanted a custom action to toggle between audio devices ! ! !

Seems easy, & would really rock my workflow.
__________________
JET Guitars Website http://www.jetguitars.com
Jeffrey's REAPER tracks http://soundcloud.com/jeffreyet
JeffreyET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 08:38 AM   #793
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brainwreck View Post
I heard that v6 will be linux native only. So many rumors flying.

I heard that there's a highly speculative thread on the Reaper forums, accurately predicting exactly what will not be in v6.



I predict a version bump, a new GUI theme, with the meat and potatoes (i.e. ARA2) coming in 6.1 or 6.2 when the bugs are thrashed out (or an ARA2 plugin becomes available...).



More than happy to be proved wrong of course
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen

Last edited by RobU; 06-09-2018 at 03:10 PM.
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 09:01 AM   #794
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 186
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
I've heard on the grapevine V6 will be dropping both Audio and Midi, to concentrate on Walter
Yes - but you should've mentioned: Walter is amazing!
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 08:14 AM   #795
Sibben
Human being with feelings
 
Sibben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweden.
Posts: 1,063
Default

UI overhaul including vectorization for high res display support. Support for touch screen, especially pinch zoom in arrange and editor windows.

Don't get left behind in desktop land.
__________________
Analog is the new digital
Sibben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 09:08 AM   #796
drichard
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 399
Default

In addition to ARA2, which is in the works, I have two seemingly minor requests for future versions of Reaper that would make my life a lot simpler.

1. An option that FX windows open with the "always on top" check box set. I spend way too much time finding my FX windows.

2. MP3 tagging.

These are little things that would make a big difference to me.
drichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 09:33 AM   #797
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 513
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drichard View Post
1. An option that FX windows open with the "always on top" check box set. I spend way too much time finding my FX windows.
Look out for the little tool AOT here on the forum. It solves that problem pretty much.
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 10:01 AM   #798
X. O. Apodo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sibben View Post
UI overhaul including vectorization for high res display support. Support for touch screen, especially pinch zoom in arrange and editor windows.
Important for me as I have a multi-touch monitor.

also:
Since Melodyne can be on multiple tracks how about adding morphing capability.
__________________
Multi-touch Monitor, XotoPad 2 and iPad Air as Midi Controllers, iConnectMIDI2+,
Windows 10 64 bit, Reaper 5, Waves Gold, Komplete 11, Iris 2, ZPitchMap, Synthmaster, Some Melda, PSP, SonoKinetic, Eventtide.
X. O. Apodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 08:17 AM   #799
von haulshoven
Human being with feelings
 
von haulshoven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 42
Default

4 different asio sources input mixer.
many devices,fx and synths have audio trough usb.
__________________
Stone age sequencing and orbit strings
von haulshoven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 05:34 PM   #800
Diki Ross
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 32
Default

Still hoping that imported MIDI, when exploded to different tracks by channel, has Reaper auto assign the correct input and output channel to a default device...

And that editing that track, automatically makes pencil and display tools auto assign to the track's MIDI channel.
Diki Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.