Old 05-13-2008, 08:12 AM   #1
rootbeer
Human being with feelings

Default Questions regarding P.S. noise

Hello, I am a new forum and Reaper user.
I am new to digital recording but fairly proficient with electronics and computers.
When recording with my laptop I was getting a very high noise level. The noise did not sound like 60hz hum or a multiple thereof. It was a very broad spectrum noise.
Here is my equipment situation:
Dell Latitude D610 P1.2ghz, 1Gb ram, 60 Gb H.D., Reaper of course
Behringer 8 channel powered mixer/p.a. - pre-amp output into internal sound card line-in. (I know this is bad and I would welcome comments on recommended improvements).
After trying all sorts of different input combinations (different channels, cables, guitars, etc.) I finally decided to unplug the power supply and run on the battery. The noise completely vanished! Is this normal? Should i expect this kind of noise from a laptop power supply?
rootbeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 08:22 AM   #2
ngarjuna

I'm far more ignorant of electrical/interference noise than I should be, but I had a similar situation at my place:

I am running my monitors unbalanced (that's about to change, yay!). Whenever I would power on my 2nd screen, I would get an annoying buzz.

On a whim, I decided to try a different outlet (I suspect it is on a different circuit, but I haven't gotten around to verifying that yet) and sure enough, the buzz no longer appears.

This reminded me of the old days when I would very carefully look for isolated circuits to plug my PA into (to avoid the inevitable hums that came from sharing a circuit between audio and lighting). I have read some about ground buzzing, but not enough to have much of a handle on the background concepts.
ngarjuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 08:26 AM   #3
Diogenes

Quote:
Originally Posted by rootbeer View Post
Hello, I am a new forum and Reaper user.