Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2021, 09:53 AM   #1
Anshul999
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 41
Default How to solo a child track while parent track is muted?

Sometimes I want to solo a child track within a folder where the parent track is muted. But to do this, I have to either unmute the parent track or solo the parent track as well, otherwise I can't listen to the audio. So, is there any way to solo a child track and listen to it, without having to change the parent track? i.e., the parent track should stay muted but the child track's solo would ignore that temporarily, and then on unsolo it will again be muted.

Thanks!
Anshul999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 11:46 AM   #2
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Indonesia Raya
Posts: 684
Default

Group Child and Parent SOLO (master/slave)
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C
jrengmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 12:10 PM   #3
Anshul999
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrengmusic View Post
Group Child and Parent SOLO (master/slave)
Hmm that would work I guess but it's still a lot of work to do for each project and each set of folder tracks. Is there any other way? Something that could be assigned a mouse modifier perhaps? That would work really well.
Anshul999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 02:24 PM   #4
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anshul999 View Post
Hmm that would work I guess but it's still a lot of work to do for each project and each set of folder tracks. Is there any other way? Something that could be assigned a mouse modifier perhaps? That would work really well.
Nope, work around it.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 04:58 PM   #5
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,969
Default

It's scriptable of course... shouldn't be too hard to solo the parent of a solo-ed track...
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 05:03 PM   #6
Anshul999
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrk View Post
It's scriptable of course... shouldn't be too hard to solo the parent of a solo-ed track...
I suppose. I'm a total noob at scripting though - takes me a lot of time to even edit existing scripts to suit my needs. I'll learn more in-depth scripting when I have the time.
But also, I was hoping for something that could be a mouse-modifier :/ So I can just click on the track and have it solo-ed, rather than first select the track and then press a hotkey.
Anshul999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 11:04 AM   #7
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,969
Default

Well, you can assign a script to a mouse modifier... so with a script like this:
Code:
track = BR_TrackAtMouseCursor(contextOut, positionOut );
 
SetMediaTrackInfo_Value(track,"I_SOLO",1);
depth =  GetTrackDepth(track);

while (depth>0)
(
 track = GetParentTrack(track);
 SetMediaTrackInfo_Value(track,"I_SOLO",1);
 depth =  GetTrackDepth(track);
);
assigned to an appropriate mouse modifier (such as TCP alt-double-click, or whatever) you can solo a track and its parent(s) easily.

(I think the SWS extension gets you BR_TrackAtMouseCursor ? )
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...

Last edited by jrk; 06-26-2021 at 11:28 PM.
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2021, 05:40 AM   #8
flipotto
Human being with feelings
 
flipotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 887
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrk View Post
Well, you can assign a script to a mouse modifier... so with a script like this:
Code:
track = BR_TrackAtMouseCursor(contextOut, positionOut );
 
SetMediaTrackInfo_Value(track,"I_SOLO",1);
depth =  GetTrackDepth(track);

while (depth>0)
(
 track = GetParentTrack(track);
 SetMediaTrackInfo_Value(track,"I_SOLO",1);
 depth =  GetTrackDepth(track);
);
assigned to an appropriate mouse modifier (such as TCP alt-double-click, or whatever) you can solo a track and its parent(s) easily.

(I think the SWS extension gets you BR_TrackAtMouseCursor ? )
I pasted this into ReaScript Dev Env
and got error on save
Code:
while (depth>0)
Line 8: ')' expected (to close ') at line 6) near '='
flipotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2021, 06:32 AM   #9
Anshul999
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flipotto View Post
I pasted this into ReaScript Dev Env
and got error on save
Code:
while (depth>0)
Line 8: ')' expected (to close ') at line 6) near '='
Yup I'm getting the same error. Total noob at coding here, so I'd appreciate any help at fixing it. Also, would this script work for multiple depths of a folder? Say if the track I'm soloing is at the third or fourth level, then? It would have to solo each parent track above it I think.
Anshul999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2021, 10:52 AM   #10
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,969
Default

it's an EEL script. Not LUA.

(Sorry, I should have said...)

Save it as your_name_here.eel
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...

Last edited by jrk; 06-27-2021 at 11:38 PM.
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2021, 10:53 AM   #11
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anshul999 View Post
Also, would this script work for multiple depths of a folder? Say if the track I'm soloing is at the third or fourth level, then? It would have to solo each parent track above it I think.
Yes. It does.
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2021, 06:29 AM   #12
flipotto
Human being with feelings
 
flipotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 887
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrk View Post
it's an EEL script. Not LUA.

(Sorry, I should have said...)

Save it as your_name_here.eel
Oops... silly me.
Could it be done in LUA as well?
flipotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2021, 07:20 AM   #13
Anshul999
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrk View Post
it's an EEL script. Not LUA.

(Sorry, I should have said...)

Save it as your_name_here.eel
Thank you so much! Saved it as .eel and works perfectly now. Assigned to mouse modifiers for TCP and MCP, and works as expected now!
Anshul999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2021, 01:47 PM   #14
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flipotto View Post
Could it be done in LUA as well?
Of course:
Code:
local track = reaper.BR_TrackAtMouseCursor()
if track then
	reaper.SetMediaTrackInfo_Value(track,"I_SOLO",1)
	local depth =  reaper.GetTrackDepth(track)

	while depth>0 do
		track = reaper.GetParentTrack( track )
		reaper.SetMediaTrackInfo_Value(track,"I_SOLO",1)
		depth =  reaper.GetTrackDepth(track)
	end
end
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.