Old 07-03-2019, 09:18 AM   #1
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default Using brushes in Reaper

I have a collection of brush drum sounds in the form of wave files. Any idea, please, how I can use them?

I have tried dragging two of them onto Reasamplomatic windows then opening them up in a midi file. They are actually there but the time and stuff is a really confused. I am trying to get a basic brush drum backing going!
This idea has worked in the past with kick and snare. In fact I managed to get these linked to my keyboard so I could do the kicking and snaring (although I have forgotten how I actually did that because I have been working with a drum kit program (which has no brushes) for quite some time now).
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2019, 10:12 AM   #2
fakemaxwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 37
Default

This works well- https://decomposer.de/sitala.html
fakemaxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2019, 02:17 PM   #3
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default

Fakemaxwell, thanks a lot. But, sorry for the but, but I am not sure how to use/ install this plugin and I don't see any brushes.
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 06:39 AM   #4
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,553
Default

You need to cut them up into separate brush hits and save each unique sound to a separate file. I'd then assign each sound to a separate midi note, and use a separate instance of RS5000 in the same FX chain, for each.

Kenny Gioia has a video showing how to do this.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=CkdksJGg214
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 06:49 AM   #5
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default

Thanks Philbo.

They are all separate files, with different, unique sounds!
You mean assign them different notes and then use the keyboard to tap along?
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2019, 07:11 AM   #6
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default

I think this might be useful as well. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction Philbo:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0p9r_QYU0CA
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 06:04 AM   #7
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default

It's working really well now. I am playing the brushes from my keyboard. Thanks everybody.
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 09:29 PM   #8
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,553
Default

Glad you got ir sorted out
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 10:25 PM   #9
shady
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 87
Default

share plz
__________________
twitch.tv/suprshady trying to stream REAPER stuff.. more than twice a year
shady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 12:56 AM   #10
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default

How do you mean "share", Shady?
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 01:22 PM   #11
shady
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 87
Default

why the brush samples of course
__________________
twitch.tv/suprshady trying to stream REAPER stuff.. more than twice a year
shady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 03:40 PM   #12
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default

OK. Give me a couple of days.
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 01:06 PM   #13
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default

Well, I have the brush files all ready in a folder but I am not sure how to upload it to resources. I browse to the folder but when I click it show all the wav files and the only option I seem to have is load the files (17) one by one! Any better ideas please?
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 08:46 PM   #14
shady
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 87
Default

maybe zip them and host on google drive
__________________
twitch.tv/suprshady trying to stream REAPER stuff.. more than twice a year
shady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:45 AM   #15
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default

If anyone has a better suggestion!
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:58 AM   #16
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default

I zipped them and the zip showed up in the upload section but then when I tried to upload I was told the file was too big or too small. It is 4.02 MB. When is the maximum permissible size?
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 03:41 AM   #17
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 482
Default

Apparently the maximum size is 2 MB so I zipped them three times and posted them to the "Sounds" section. I hope they are of some use to you all.
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.