Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2012, 01:29 PM   #1
samsome123
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 528
Default can u refer to some good mixers and audio interfaces? thanks

if u can analyze why thats ur choice that would be great, thanks
samsome123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 03:46 PM   #2
Melton Glass
Human being with feelings
 
Melton Glass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MPLS,MN,USA
Posts: 1,985
Default

Before anyone can help with this question we need to know what you need.

How will you be connecting your interface?Firewire?USB?PCI?PCIe?Do you want portability,or will it live in a rack?Do you have a budget?

This page has lots of info,and comparison charts-http://tweakheadz.com/soundcards_and...interfaces.htm

Are you looking at mixers that only handle audio,or do you want it to also be your interface?Some mixers have USB or Firewire capability.
__________________
I'm too busy to disagree with you right now.

An idea, an hour, a microphone-http://soundcloud.com/melton-glass
Melton Glass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 03:54 PM   #3
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Also, how many separate inputs do you want to be able to record at once?
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:12 PM   #4
samsome123
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 528
Default

ok so, IF i have a good audio interface with the inputs i need...and i'm willing to mix from the DAW.....do i need an external mixer for some reason or another????
samsome123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:19 PM   #5
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Nope, you don't need one. You might want one anyway though - for a certain sound and/or workflow - it depends on the sound of the hypothetical mixer. Either you need to have a fair bit of money to spend, or you need to be going for a slightly lo-fi, little bit noisy kind of vibe

Or, if you have some hardware that you want to monitor with while recording dry, a mixer of some kind could help.

But essentially no, you don't need a mixer.
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:25 PM   #6
samsome123
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 528
Default

you said it depends on the sound of the hypothetical mixer,

does each mixer produce a different sound?? didn't know that..

like audio interfaces i guess?...
samsome123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:34 PM   #7
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samsome123 View Post
does each mixer produce a different sound?? didn't know that..
Yeah, broadly speaking analogue mixers do not all sound the same - tend to get what you pay for in terms of noise and distortion spec etc. If you're just talking about a level + pan mixer with no eq, then maybe you wouldn't notice differences very easily, but they are there and can be audible.

Audio interfaces as well - they don't all sound the same, and most of the really expensive stuff costs loads because of the amount of r&d and individual component costs, as well as feature set. But it's really not worth comparing something like Burl or Forssell with Edirol ... if you know what I mean - the price difference is so large.

There is some excellent value stuff out there though, I don't mean to be discouraging!

Last edited by timlloyd; 02-05-2012 at 06:42 PM.
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:39 PM   #8
samsome123
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 528
Default

thanks a lot timlloyd!

yep i need to get familiar with some mixers and audio interfaces it seems first to see the difference
samsome123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 07:37 PM   #9
Geo524
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UpState, NY
Posts: 116
Default

If 2 inputs is enough for you and an interface is all you need check out the FA66 by Cakewalk. Use to be made by Edirol. Anyway it's a Firewire interface and works beautifully with Reaper. The stock pres aren't bad. They're definitely usable but I prefer to use my external pre because it's a tube design.

If you want a device that will control the faders, pans, etc... instead of a mouse then check out the Behringer BF2000. It's a control surface only so you'd still need an interface.

If you want an all-in-one device that does audio and acts as a control surface then the Zoom R16 or R24 is your best bet. Not very expensive either. I'm not sure about their quality but reviews for the most part seem to be good.
__________________
Registered Reaper User: Win 7 Pro x64; Sonar X3e Pro; Reaper 4.62; AMD FX4100 3.8GHz; DDR3 1600 24GB Ram; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20; 3 x 1TB and 1 x 640 GB HDD;Mackie HR 624; KRK RP5 G2 Rokit Monitors

Last edited by Geo524; 02-06-2012 at 09:25 AM.
Geo524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.