Old 04-18-2007, 11:25 PM   #1
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 7,815
Default Navigator Selection not Accurate (FIXED)

***Not fixed but worked out...see below, post #5 for workaround***

In the thread below it was discussed and confirmed,.

Basically as you descend lower vertically in the navigator, the cursor starts selecting 1-2 tracks below where it physically is, making it a bit of guesswork what track gets selected.

The navigator just got a whole lot more useful with the introduction of screensets, so I hope this can be ironed out soon. Cheers.

http://www.cockos.com/forum/showthre...ed=1#post73942


FIXED (1.872)

Last edited by Dstruct; 07-03-2007 at 07:29 PM.
Bevosss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 03:02 AM   #2
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,200
Default

i think i can confirm this. at least i have no idea how to use the navigator properly (can't make a lasso-selection where i want it to be) ...


another navigator-bug: http://www.cockos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7462

Last edited by Dstruct; 04-24-2007 at 03:04 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 08:07 PM   #3
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 7,815
Default Navigator still not working properly!

Justin, will this be fixed? It's so useful with the screensets now, yet it's vertical selection is so unpredictable I tend to avoid it.

Just to illustrate the problem here, on some projects it's selecting 4-5 tracks below where the mouse cursor is.

A workaround is to select horizontally, then move it vertically...but really it should just work.
Bevosss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 10:12 PM   #4
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 7,815
Default Seems to only appear when a folder track(s) is minimized

It seems to work fine if the child folder tracks are full size.

Change to a screenset where a folder is minimized, and the bug returns for me.

Anyone care to confirm? Thanks.
Bevosss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 10:34 PM   #5
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 7,815
Default Confirmed...with workaround

Confirmed it on my other computer...only affects the navigator when any child tracks aren't at full size.

So I worked it out! Easy to workaround now...main project screenset has only full sized tracks (impossible to tell apart when they are all at the smallest setting)

Actually I'm going to change the half minimized icon so I don't get fooled again.

Hope this helps somebody else (hello??......anyone??....it's dark in here...)

Last edited by Bevosss; 04-28-2007 at 10:37 PM.
Bevosss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 12:23 AM   #6
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bevosss View Post
Confirmed it on my other computer...only affects the navigator when any child tracks aren't at full size.

So I worked it out! Easy to workaround now...main project screenset has only full sized tracks (impossible to tell apart when they are all at the smallest setting)

Actually I'm going to change the half minimized icon so I don't get fooled again.

Hope this helps somebody else (hello??......anyone??....it's dark in here...)
Confirmed... Changing the icon too!
the added utility that stems from knowing an adequate workaround is stunning. Cant wait till the quirk is fully deaded!

cheers
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 05:05 AM   #7
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 7,815
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
the added utility that stems from knowing an adequate workaround is stunning.
Ha ha, yes I was very happy once I figured that out and could use it accurately.

I can't believe that ex-Sonar users requested this feature, and almost nobody uses it now...it's awesome! Nobody picked the bug up until now, and the Nav's been here for months...crazy.
Bevosss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 06:28 AM   #8
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

I think that's because of Docking... it's size then makes it seem to be just an oversize... errr well, Overview in Cubase terms. And while it is useful in C4 for Horizontal movement there is no selection facility... plus, being buried beneath a 3 (contorted) finger Key-Binding doesn't help. But it really is cool and especially in conjunction with screensets, and especially when you project fills the screen several times!
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 08:33 PM   #9
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bevosss View Post
Confirmed it on my other computer...only affects the navigator when any child tracks aren't at full size.
bump. this really needs to be fixed, as some of my folders (with its tracks) are always in "minimized state". no chance to use the navigator properly.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.