Old 02-01-2011, 11:11 PM   #1
Veech
Human being with feelings
 
Veech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 153
Default EZDrummer -- is it really this simple to use?

Found this link from another thread:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvEk7-tSlhQ

This looks so simple, basically drag and drop EZDrummer into Reaper?

Is it really that simple or is a midi setup required? I'll get to midi eventually but I love the sound of these samples and may pull the trigger tomorrow if EZD is this easy to use.

thanks!
Veech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 11:13 PM   #2
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,865
Default

it actually is! EZ drummer is a great start to realistic sounding drumtracks

welcome to the forum!
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:58 AM   #3
Veech
Human being with feelings
 
Veech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
it actually is! EZ drummer is a great start to realistic sounding drumtracks

welcome to the forum!
Thank you. I've seen a couple of demos and holy cow, what a great combination of simplicity and sound. And Amazon has it for about $100. That's it, I'm getting this tomorrow.
Veech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 05:20 AM   #4
hardplay
Human being with feelings
 
hardplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South
Posts: 903
Default

Very easy, and it sounds good too !
__________________
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
TUTORIAL:CONTROLLARE REAPER DA CELL/TABLET https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207711
hardplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:01 AM   #5
Guncho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 825
Default

I use EZdrummer to lay down a stock rock beat and then go back and play EZdrummer manually with a MIDI controller pad.

Like this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wv_QwuodPU
Guncho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:34 AM   #6
ole6string
Human being with feelings
 
ole6string's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 89
Default

Does EZdrummer work with 64 bit Reaper?
__________________
http://www.rodchubb.com
ole6string is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:45 PM   #7
fedexnman
Human being with feelings
 
fedexnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: mobile al
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guncho View Post
I use EZdrummer to lay down a stock rock beat and then go back and play EZdrummer manually with a MIDI controller pad.

Like this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wv_QwuodPU
yep a i drag a midi file , drag the end and loop it for 5 mins, and rec my song then go back and do it manually too. much better than the metronome .
fedexnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:48 AM   #8
fsenseman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veech View Post
Found this link from another thread:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvEk7-tSlhQ

This looks so simple, basically drag and drop EZDrummer into Reaper?

Is it really that simple or is a midi setup required? I'll get to midi eventually but I love the sound of these samples and may pull the trigger tomorrow if EZD is this easy to use.

thanks!
If you purchase EZDrummer checkout the Groove Monkee website http://www.groovemonkee.com . They sell more midi drum loops and their installer adds them to EZDrummer automatically. I was looking for some 12/8 blues type loops and they have a collection of those that was just what I needed. Very easy to use and helpful to lay down a basic drum track when fleshing out new ideas. They offer a sample set for free, non-crippled, which will let you check them out at no cost. They also provide drum maps for use in Reaper. Very Reaper friendly company.

Kind Regards,
Fleet
fsenseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:22 PM   #9
Veech
Human being with feelings
 
Veech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 153
Default

Thanks all, I just bought it. Should be in my hands by Friday and I'll be making some noise Friday night!
Veech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 12:56 PM   #10
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veech View Post
Thanks all, I just bought it. Should be in my hands by Friday and I'll be making some noise Friday night!
let us know what you come up with!

__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 02:24 PM   #11
Veech
Human being with feelings
 
Veech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
let us know what you come up with!

hah, maybe so! I thought about uploading a couple of things to a podcast page but I'm such an amateur/novice at mixing etc that I'm just not ready to share yet. But maybe soon...
Veech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 05:27 AM   #12
g8torcliff
Human being with feelings
 
g8torcliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,508
Default

Before it happens: When you want to add it as an FX to a track in Reaper, look for the dfh sampler in the list of FX. There are a gazillion threads dealing with this question: Where is the EZDrummer in my list of FX?

In fact, if you search "dfh" or "ezdrummer" you will find the answer to most of the questions you will have.

Been using it for years and its great.....

Good luck,

cliff
g8torcliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 08:53 AM   #13
PerunZG
Human being with feelings
 
PerunZG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 816
Default

EZDrummer paired with Jamstix is a winning combo.

Btw, new AIPak for Jamstix just have been released with 8 new drummers (73 presets) and 30 new styles (119 presets).

EDIT:

If you buy AIPak before Feb 28th, you get all 6 drummers and 5 styles from MetalPak for free as a introductory gift.
__________________
Old aunts used to come up to me at weddings, poking me in the ribs and cackling, telling me, "You're next." They stopped after I started doing the same thing to them at funerals.

Last edited by PerunZG; 02-03-2011 at 09:00 AM.
PerunZG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 12:54 PM   #14
s_sibs
Human being with feelings
 
s_sibs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 96
Default

This should get you up and running with EZD and Reaper:

- Click 'Track' (or 'Insert') in Reaper
- Click 'Insert Virtual Instrument on new track'
- Click 'Instrument' in far left column (should be already selected)
- Click 'VSTi: DFH Sampler (Toontrack) (16 out)'
- Click 'OK'
- A pop up menu will load and ask if you want Reaper to build 16 outputs. For now click 'Cancel' instead of 'OK'. This will get you started.
- EZdrummer will open

The only other thing you'll probably want to do in load a MIDI map so you can see what MIDI notes corresponds to what drum kit piece in EZD. You can check the Reaper stash and search the 'MIDI Drum Maps' category for user contributed MIDI maps for EZD. The MIDI maps can be loaded in the MIDI editor window under 'File' and 'Load note names from file...'
__________________
Scott Sibley
Technical Advisor-Toontrack Music
Owner•Engineer•Producer
Rainbow Sounds Recording
s_sibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 03:29 PM   #15
Veech
Human being with feelings
 
Veech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s_sibs View Post
This should get you up and running with EZD and Reaper:

- Click 'Track' (or 'Insert') in Reaper
- Click 'Insert Virtual Instrument on new track'
- Click 'Instrument' in far left column (should be already selected)
- Click 'VSTi: DFH Sampler (Toontrack) (16 out)'
- Click 'OK'
- A pop up menu will load and ask if you want Reaper to build 16 outputs. For now click 'Cancel' instead of 'OK'. This will get you started.
- EZdrummer will open

The only other thing you'll probably want to do in load a MIDI map so you can see what MIDI notes corresponds to what drum kit piece in EZD. You can check the Reaper stash and search the 'MIDI Drum Maps' category for user contributed MIDI maps for EZD. The MIDI maps can be loaded in the MIDI editor window under 'File' and 'Load note names from file...'
wow, thanks! It seems to be extremely simple in install and operate. Building 16 outputs in Reaper, is that using 16 mono or 8 stereo tracks and assigning one instrument/mic per track? If I select "cancel" will it record to just a single track? I love the ambiance of the room mic and will want to play around with it in the mix so I wonder if it's best to mix in EZD or to track straight to Reaper and mix there?
Veech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:01 PM   #16
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,104
Default

Quote:
I love the ambiance of the room mic and will want to play around with it in the mix so I wonder if it's best to mix in EZD or to track straight to Reaper and mix there?
to be fair you will want to try it both ways and choose what you prefer...

yes, you can either send to individual outs for each possible out in EZ or you can just let EZ go to one out for it's whole mix...

The multi outs are a better way since then you tweak them... and after all it's all going finally out through your Master track, so you can always do a render of the total and just add that renderd wav to your project and then mute all the EZ stuff...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:26 PM   #17
s_sibs
Human being with feelings
 
s_sibs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veech View Post
wow, thanks! It seems to be extremely simple in install and operate. Building 16 outputs in Reaper, is that using 16 mono or 8 stereo tracks and assigning one instrument/mic per track? If I select "cancel" will it record to just a single track? I love the ambiance of the room mic and will want to play around with it in the mix so I wonder if it's best to mix in EZD or to track straight to Reaper and mix there?
The '16 out' is 8 stereo channels. Yes, if you select 'cancel' you will get a single stereo out.

I think the advantages of using the multi out feature is to add processing in your host. Whether you balance the room mics in the EZD mixer or multi out in Reaper doesn't really matter.
__________________
Scott Sibley
Technical Advisor-Toontrack Music
Owner•Engineer•Producer
Rainbow Sounds Recording
s_sibs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.