Old 06-06-2019, 07:12 AM   #1
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,064
Default Stock plugins

I suppose that reaper for Linux can run the same JSFX plugins as Reaper for Windows. Right ?

Reaper for Windows comes with several VSTs. Does reaper forl linux come with the same ones ? Do they adhere to some "VST for Linux" standard ?

What about ReaPlugs firl Linux (X86 and ARM versions) ?

Thanks for any comments.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 07:22 AM   #2
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,056
Default

The native plugins are present in all versions AFAIK both VST and JSFX, and all the 3rd party JSFX plugins should work, like Sonic Anomaly.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 10:16 AM   #3
mike@overtonedsp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Do they adhere to some "VST for Linux" standard ?
There is a VST for Linux standard, and there are increasingly more third-party, commercial and free, plug-ins for Linux which support it. I made some, here:

https://www.overtonedsp.co.uk/
mike@overtonedsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 02:50 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike@overtonedsp View Post
There is a VST for Linux standard,
As well for x86 as for ARM ? (I suppose no problem for a completely C based standard.)
Are there Linux VSTs for arm out there ?

And what about ReaPlugs ? (AFAIK they are not even available for Mac)

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 06-07-2019 at 05:16 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 06:35 PM   #5
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Ad what about ReaPluǵs ? (AFAIK they are not even available for Mac)
The ReaSuite plugins exist in Reaper for Linux x86_64 and also for the ARM version. You can verify this by downloading the archives and opening them (browse through the folders and you'll see the names of plugins such as ReaComp etc.)

I wouldn't expect that the "ReaPlugs" (the version that is independent of Reaper) will ever be released for Mac or Linux. But the ReaSuite plugins do exist within the Mac and Linux versions of Reaper. So if you use Reaper for Linux on ARM, it will have the plugins available to it.

I also expect most JS plugins would work in the ARM version of Reaper for Linux (since Reaper for Linux ARM version includes the same JS plugins that the other versions of Reaper has). Other than some possible compatibility errors (JS plugins with GUIs might have issues, for instance), JS plugins "compile to the host" (at the time the plugin is loaded), so it shouldn't matter what OS they're being used on.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 02:44 AM   #6
Mcgiver69
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 72
Default

All Js plugins work in Linux (Don't know about ARM) but I have just copied all my JS plugins back and forth and they all work with no issues.
Mcgiver69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 03:04 AM   #7
mike@overtonedsp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
As well for x86 as for ARM ? (I suppose no problem for a completely C based standard.)
Are there Linux VSTs for arm out there ?
The standard is the same for Linux x86 vs Linux ARM. The main differences between VST implementations tend to be OS specific rather than CPU architecture specific - for example most of a plug-in's GUI code is completely different for Windows, Mac and Linux so its not just a simple re-compile. But porting e.g. Linux x86 or x86-64 to Linux ARM is much simpler.

(I did make ports of some of my plug-ins to ARM, and may do so again, but the customer base was - how shall I put it - minimal)

I would expect plug-ins shipped with Reaper would be compiled for the same architecture as Reaper itself, and therefore should just work
mike@overtonedsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 05:17 AM   #8
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
The ReaSuite plugins exist in Reaper for Linux x86_64 and also for the ARM version.
GREAT. REAPER RULES !
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
I wouldn't expect that the "ReaPlugs" (the version that is independent of Reaper) will ever be released for Mac or Linux.
That's pity especially due to ReaJS, as this would allow for using JSFXes with other DAWs (and Live Performance Environments).

IMHO this would be worth the price of a full Reaper license, so let's forget about a ReaPlugs distribution and ship the appropriate ReaJS version together with Reaper and covered with the same license !

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 06-07-2019 at 05:28 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 05:24 AM   #9
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike@overtonedsp View Post
But porting e.g. Linux x86 or x86-64 to Linux ARM is much simpler.
I did expect this regarding the VST API.

But is it really not that hard to port high performance audio code from X86 to to ARM ?

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 11:25 AM   #10
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
IMHO this would be worth the price of a full Reaper license, so let's forget about a ReaPlugs distribution and ship the appropriate ReaJS version together with Reaper and covered with the same license !
You're welcome to ask that of the developers. I won't be asking it though because I no longer use other DAWs, only Reaper.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 03:53 PM   #11
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,064
Default

Me neither, of course

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 03:39 AM   #12
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
But is it really not that hard to port high performance audio code from X86 to to ARM ?
If the code is written in portable C or C++, there shouldn't be too many problems. And if the code has hand written assembler code, sensible developers would have also written C or C++ fallback versions of those parts. There is no guarantee anyway that manually written assembler code brings in any performance benefits on modern CPUs.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.