Old 02-04-2019, 01:47 PM   #161
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 431
Default

Closing does not change anything.
__________________
MP 12 Core 3.46GHZ 48GB OSX10.11.6, MBP 15" 2012 OSX10.12, RME Fireface UFX, MCU,
Reaper 5, SD2, Omnisphere, Wave Altiverb, PSP, VB3, Izotope, Scuffham, Soundtoys 5, Slate All Plugins.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 01:54 PM   #162
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Closing does not change anything.
OK.

Just for testing purposes: does copying a .RPL file to a different folder (and setting this one in the options) make any difference?

And can you please post a screenshot of how the file/folder structure in the 'REAPER Setlists' folder itself looks like.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 01:56 PM   #163
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 431
Default

Not sure it has anything to do with RPLs because all tabs are the same. I have several drives on my computer and the stuff are not all in the same drive. Maybe that's it?
__________________
MP 12 Core 3.46GHZ 48GB OSX10.11.6, MBP 15" 2012 OSX10.12, RME Fireface UFX, MCU,
Reaper 5, SD2, Omnisphere, Wave Altiverb, PSP, VB3, Izotope, Scuffham, Soundtoys 5, Slate All Plugins.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 02:04 PM   #164
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Not sure it has anything to do with RPLs because all tabs are the same. I have several drives on my computer and the stuff are not all in the same drive. Maybe that's it?
In general, the Project List Tab only reads .RPL files from the given folder (set in the options).
The same basically applies to the other Tabs for reading .RPP or .RTrackTemplate files.

Not sure if there might perhaps be problems with certain paths (or with certain folder namings in it). I'll try if I can replicate the behavior here.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 02:05 PM   #165
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 431
Default

Thanks. It might be me that didn'T do something obvious...
__________________
MP 12 Core 3.46GHZ 48GB OSX10.11.6, MBP 15" 2012 OSX10.12, RME Fireface UFX, MCU,
Reaper 5, SD2, Omnisphere, Wave Altiverb, PSP, VB3, Izotope, Scuffham, Soundtoys 5, Slate All Plugins.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 02:08 PM   #166
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Thanks. It might be me that didn'T do something obvious...
I'll do some further investigating and will report back.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 02:13 PM   #167
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

One thing which came just into mind:

Try putting the 'REAPER Setlists' part in the path between single quotes: /Volumes/DropboxDrive/Dropbox/'REAPER Setlists'
Or try using a folder without a space in the name.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 02:19 PM   #168
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
...Try putting the 'REAPER Setlists' part in the path between single quotes: /Volumes/DropboxDrive/Dropbox/'REAPER Setlists'
Or try using a folder without a space in the name.
Yup that's it.

Using ' ' marks works.
Anything you can do on your end to support spaces in paths?
__________________
MP 12 Core 3.46GHZ 48GB OSX10.11.6, MBP 15" 2012 OSX10.12, RME Fireface UFX, MCU,
Reaper 5, SD2, Omnisphere, Wave Altiverb, PSP, VB3, Izotope, Scuffham, Soundtoys 5, Slate All Plugins.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 02:21 PM   #169
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Yup that's it.

Using ' ' marks works.
Great.

Quote:
Anything you can do on your end to support spaces in paths?
I'll have to check this (I guess it might be possible to either add the marks/quotes automatically to the paths. Or maybe by putting the entire path between square brackets, etc. ). Added to my to-do list
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 02-04-2019 at 02:29 PM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 02:30 PM   #170
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 431
Default

Ok It works now.
On things to look for:
Reaper supports empty lines in the RPL files. But Realauncher will crash if I click on a file that has empty lines inside it.
__________________
MP 12 Core 3.46GHZ 48GB OSX10.11.6, MBP 15" 2012 OSX10.12, RME Fireface UFX, MCU,
Reaper 5, SD2, Omnisphere, Wave Altiverb, PSP, VB3, Izotope, Scuffham, Soundtoys 5, Slate All Plugins.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 02:37 PM   #171
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Ok It works now.
On things to look for:
Reaper supports empty lines in the RPL files. But Realauncher will crash if I click on a file that has empty lines inside it.
Thanks for the info.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 05:39 PM   #172
emwhy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 147
Default

Solger how hard would it be to make some elements of this themeable? Just curious more than anything.
emwhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 10:52 AM   #173
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emwhy View Post
Solger how hard would it be to make some elements of this themeable? Just curious more than anything.
Hi emwhy,

can you please elaborate or post a little example:
  • Which elements exactly?
  • And themeable in what way (different color schemes, different font styles/sizes or something else)?
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 02-13-2019 at 11:29 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 11:36 AM   #174
emwhy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 147
Default

Be glad to Solger, and let me first say I think this is an excellent product regardless of the theme. I use it all the time especially for loading project tabs and recent projects. It's so convenient.

Would there be a way to make the fonts a bit brighter. My eyes aren't what they used to be.

Could we adjust the color of the window list background.

And could we adjust the color of the overall GUI so that it maybe matches whatever reaper theme I'm using.

Thanks...and again, this is no big deal.
emwhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 12:24 PM   #175
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emwhy View Post
Be glad to Solger, and let me first say I think this is an excellent product regardless of the theme. I use it all the time especially for loading project tabs and recent projects. It's so convenient.
Thanks and great to hear it's useful.

Quote:
Would there be a way to make the fonts a bit brighter. My eyes aren't what they used to be.

Could we adjust the color of the window list background.

And could we adjust the color of the overall GUI so that it maybe matches whatever reaper theme I'm using.
Thanks for the additional info.

Yeah, in general there are some possibilities and something in this regard is already planned for a future update (but it's still in the early phase of development/testing and not quite ready yet). But I'll also add it to the wish list in post #2
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 02:20 PM   #176
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,345
Default

It wouldn't be too hard to make Lokasenna_GUI themeable globally, so users can choose the color scheme and all Lokasenna_GUI scripts are able to just use that instead of my hardcoded defaults.

The idea has been on my list for a theoretical GUI v3 for a long time, I just don't have time to do on my own.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 07:02 PM   #177
emwhy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 147
Default

If you could do that at some point that would be great. Wish I could help, but I'm older and my programming skills are in BASIC and PASCAL! lol. But I really appreciate the work you guys and other scripters do. I'm only a year in on this DAW but I love it and the possibilities.
emwhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 11:17 AM   #178
lahniz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Default Suggestion

Love the launcher but i'd like it to work similarly as reaper's own launcher. The last project you worked on is selected by default and you can just hit enter to load it up without any mouse action!
lahniz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 12:06 PM   #179
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lahniz View Post
Love the launcher but i'd like it to work similarly as reaper's own launcher. The last project you worked on is selected by default and you can just hit enter to load it up without any mouse action!
Thanks for the suggestion.

Adding general support for keyboard shortcuts is already on the wish list (in post #2). But I'll add this example as additional note for this feature to my list, as well
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2019, 01:40 PM   #180
jodemeil
Human being with feelings
 
jodemeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Default

I don't know if I'm doing something wrong: when I pick "New project" or "Open project" while Reaper is open, Realuncher is not displayed.
Is this possible? It's shown only in the start up.
jodemeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 06:59 AM   #181
emwhy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 147
Default

I don't know if I'm doing something wrong: when I pick "New project" or "Open project" while Reaper is open, Realuncher is not displayed.
Is this possible? It's shown only in the start up.



What I did was create a custom action. Combine File: New Project and then Script: solgar_realauncher.lua and make them one action. I did this, mapped it to the "New Project" button on my toolbar. Now wheneve I click that to start a new project Realauncher opens.
emwhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 08:20 AM   #182
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jodemeil View Post
I don't know if I'm doing something wrong: when I pick "New project" or "Open project" while Reaper is open, Realuncher is not displayed.
Is this possible? It's shown only in the start up.
As emwhy already mentioned above, possible options are to assign the Script: solger_ReaLauncher.lua Action to a key shortcut (via the Action List) or toolbar button, menu, etc.
Either directly or as part of a Custom Action:
Quote:
Originally Posted by emwhy
What I did was create a custom action. Combine File: New Project and then Script: solgar_realauncher.lua and make them one action. I did this, mapped it to the "New Project" button on my toolbar. Now wheneve I click that to start a new project Realauncher opens.
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 04-05-2019 at 05:25 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 04:15 AM   #183
jodemeil
Human being with feelings
 
jodemeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
As emwhy already mentioned above, possible options are...
Thanks emwhy and solger. That is the way, of course.
Is it normal that whenever it's running those cmd windows appear before?


Last edited by jodemeil; 04-06-2019 at 08:43 AM.
jodemeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 06:53 AM   #184
emwhy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 147
Default

Is it normal that whenever it's running those cmd windows appear before?

My totally unscientific answer to that is it depends on how many projects you have stored in the default folder where Realauncher looks. I think it has to do with indexing files etc......but I may be way wrong here.....not a programmer. The more projects the more likely you are to see the cmd windows.
emwhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 10:00 AM   #185
jodemeil
Human being with feelings
 
jodemeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emwhy View Post
...I think it has to do with indexing files etc......but I may be way wrong here.....not a programmer. The more projects the more likely you are to see the cmd windows.
I'm not a programmer too :-)
Uninstalled and reinstalled, nothing indexed, same issue. It's not a big deal, only curious. Maybe my W7 wanna joke.
jodemeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 02:53 PM   #186
emwhy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 147
Default

Try moving all but your essential projects to another directory and see if that speeds up the load and gets rid of the cmd windows.
emwhy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 01:28 AM   #187
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jodemeil View Post
Is it normal that whenever it's running those cmd windows appear before?
Yes

I explained the reason for this behavior in post #139:
Quote:
Originally Posted by solger
Yeah, that's normal because some file (directory) reading functions are using shell commands (which, for instance, under Windows causes the cmd.exe window to pop up when the function is executed).
So depending on how many Template/Project files need to be read from the directories, this pop-up window might stay up a little bit longer.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 02:08 PM   #188
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,184
Default

I have an idea: what if you could attach an MP3/WAV/OGG near each project so we could here a demo before opening it. ?

possible?
__________________
Reaper's midi editor feels like a broken code - 10 years already:
you can't use single click to change a single velocity without dragging
you can't use single right click to remove a single note without dragging.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 02:38 PM   #189
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflected View Post
I have an idea: what if you could attach an MP3/WAV/OGG near each project so we could here a demo before opening it. ?

possible?

It would be awesome in theory but I guess it also means he somehow has to export that MP3 of every project. I usually do this manually by exporting small snippets of projects so that I can quickly preview them.

If this could be done automatically with a play button next to each project in the launcher it would be even better, but highly unlikely.

Good job on this btw, it instantly replaced the default launcher.
puddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 03:01 AM   #190
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflected View Post
I have an idea: what if you could attach an MP3/WAV/OGG near each project so we could here a demo before opening it. ?

possible?
Thanks for the idea. I'll add it to the wish list

I think trying to implement a feature like this is quite a difficult task. As puddi already mentioned above, I guess the main challenge is how to automatically get audio for a demo snippet out of a project (assuming there isn't already a pre-rendered audio file available which can be used for playback) - which probably requires to somehow pre-load and/or pre-render the project (and the plugins used in it). Otherwise you'll basically only have the references inside the .RPP project file for retrieving the file paths to individual audio source files used in the project.

But I'll have to take a closer look at this to see what's possible or not ...


Quote:
Originally Posted by puddi
Good job on this btw, it instantly replaced the default launcher.
Thanks. Always good to know that ReaLauncher is useful
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 05-01-2019 at 03:24 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 04:02 AM   #191
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Thanks for the idea. I'll add it to the wish list

I think trying to implement a feature like this is quite a difficult task. As puddi already mentioned above, I guess the main challenge is how to automatically get audio for a demo snippet out of a project (assuming there isn't already a pre-rendered audio file available which can be used for playback) - which probably requires to somehow pre-load and/or pre-render the project (and the plugins used in it). Otherwise you'll basically only have the references inside the .RPP project file for retrieving the file paths to individual audio source files used in the project.

But I'll have to take a closer look at this to see what's possible or not ...
This just made me think of the possibilities for this feature. Not necessarily for the ReaLauncher (depending on how hard it is to implement) but for DAW's in general. They could just have a setting so that every time you close a project it exports 4 bars (or something) to a 128kbps Preview.mp3 in the project folder. Then the DAW's launcher would just play these files when you skip through projects.

Obviously the implementation would be better but anything beats having to blindly open 3 year old projects without knowing what they sound like lol.
puddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 12:39 PM   #192
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Thanks for the idea. I'll add it to the wish list

I think trying to implement a feature like this is quite a difficult task. As puddi already mentioned above, I guess the main challenge is how to automatically get audio for a demo snippet out of a project (assuming there isn't already a pre-rendered audio file available which can be used for playback) - which probably requires to somehow pre-load and/or pre-render the project (and the plugins used in it). Otherwise you'll basically only have the references inside the .RPP project file for retrieving the file paths to individual audio source files used in the project.

But I'll have to take a closer look at this to see what's possible or not ...



Thanks. Always good to know that ReaLauncher is useful
I was thinking that the user will be able to render the audio by himself and attach it.
this could also be very useful for track templates
__________________
Reaper's midi editor feels like a broken code - 10 years already:
you can't use single click to change a single velocity without dragging
you can't use single right click to remove a single note without dragging.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 09:03 AM   #193
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflected View Post
I was thinking that the user will be able to render the audio by himself and attach it.
this could also be very useful for track templates
Yeah, I think as a first step I'll try the approach with using an available audio file (which was already rendered before manually) and see how it goes ...
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 01:07 PM   #194
Delucci
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 149
Default

I love ReaLauncher, it's very useful! I miss the arrow and Enter (keypad also) commands though.
Delucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 01:35 PM   #195
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delucci View Post
... I miss the arrow and Enter (keypad also) commands though
Adding support for keyboard inputs/commands is planned as part of the next update.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 04:33 PM   #196
xinky
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 33
Default

Hi!
I have setted up my additional backups folder, so I have all my *.rpp-bak in one folder.

Is it possible to make realanucher read rpp-bak's too? Then I can type path in your script's additional projects folder, and can quick recovery :-)

Also it will be really cool if you can add column with last modified / created. :-)

Thanks for this script!

#edit
i see that it already handles -bak file (in your code)
but it can't find mines. Windows terminal launches for 10ms when i click refresh, but nothing on the list. When I select directory with normal .rpp, it also can't find them
so it looks like it cant index files at all

Last edited by xinky; 06-08-2019 at 04:56 PM.
xinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 01:10 AM   #197
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xinky View Post
... Is it possible to make realanucher read rpp-bak's too? Then I can type path in your script's additional projects folder, and can quick recovery :-)
....
#edit
i see that it already handles -bak file (in your code)
but it can't find mines. Windows terminal launches for 10ms when i click refresh, but nothing on the list. When I select directory with normal .rpp, it also can't find them
so it looks like it cant index files at all
Hi xinky!

Thanks for the info. Yeah, there is already some code for handling .rpp-bak files, but if I remember correctly it might still be a little bit buggy. So I'll have to check this.

Can you please post the folder path (or send my a PM with it) of one of the directories where it's not working (so I can test this here with a similar path, as well). Thanks.


As a side note: better handling of .rpp-bak files in general (and probably adding a dedicated tab for this) is something on my to-do list.
Quote:
Also it will be really cool if you can add column with last modified / created. :-)
I'll add it to the wish list
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 06-09-2019 at 01:44 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 10:49 AM   #198
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,184
Default

hey solger
any updates?

ps - another idea: option to rate the project 1-5 stars
__________________
Reaper's midi editor feels like a broken code - 10 years already:
you can't use single click to change a single velocity without dragging
you can't use single right click to remove a single note without dragging.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 11:29 AM   #199
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflected View Post
hey solger
any updates?
Hey,

sadly, no. I haven't had time yet to look into the 'attach a project audio demo' feature in more detail.

Although I already started implementing some other things from my todo-list for the next update, I'm currently mainly busy with work, so unfortunately not really much time for coding

Quote:
ps - another idea: option to rate the project 1-5 stars
Added to the wish list
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 09:34 AM   #200
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quick update about the 'preview for attached project audio demos' feature:

I finally had some time to look into this and a first implementation is most likely already part of the next update (coming soon - still testing & fixing some things before it's ready for release)
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; 06-30-2019 at 10:08 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.