Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Video Editing/Mangling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2018, 09:49 PM   #1
dsyrock
Human being with feelings
 
dsyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: China
Posts: 193
Default reaper can't display two video at the same time?

I placed two video items in two tracks, and one of them was added a "Video processor" FX. I was trying to made a "picture in picture" effect. But I found that when I played the two video items at the same time, the video window stucked, even the project was still playing as normal. When I moved the edit cursor, the video window changed with it, but when I played, it stucked.

Is that a bug, or Reaper only allow playing one video item?

Last edited by dsyrock; 11-04-2018 at 10:53 PM.
dsyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 09:53 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,146
Default

Haven't worked extensively with the video in Reaper, but you should definitely not have a hard time mixing multiple videos.

Put the video plugin on every track you have video on and make sure you have installed all the video codecs: https://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/Video_Support
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 10:59 PM   #3
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,549
Default

picture in picture and even layered videos is possible.

reaper doesn't cache previews of your video edits so it has to do many things in realtime to play back video. You can help it by:

1 -making sure the videos are the same frame rate, frame size and color space as your project settings.

2 - disable the audio in the video files (right-click, source properties, check "ignore audio"

3 - set your audio interface block size high, like 1024 samples.


for me the performance killer is when videos have to be converted to and from RGB and other color spaces with fx. Transparent pngs with automation, fuggedabout realtime playback.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 05:45 AM   #4
dsyrock
Human being with feelings
 
dsyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: China
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
picture in picture and even layered videos is possible.

reaper doesn't cache previews of your video edits so it has to do many things in realtime to play back video. You can help it by:

1 -making sure the videos are the same frame rate, frame size and color space as your project settings.

2 - disable the audio in the video files (right-click, source properties, check "ignore audio"

3 - set your audio interface block size high, like 1024 samples.


for me the performance killer is when videos have to be converted to and from RGB and other color spaces with fx. Transparent pngs with automation, fuggedabout realtime playback.
After some test, the problem is in the video editor. I use "Image Overlay"at first, and it was the reason that made the video window stuck. After that I tried to switch to "Track Opacity", then it worked. Both video items were playing smoothly. I think the "Image Overlay" was using quite a lot of cpu for unknow reason
dsyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 03:08 PM   #5
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsyrock View Post
After some test, the problem is in the video editor. I use "Image Overlay"at first, and it was the reason that made the video window stuck. After that I tried to switch to "Track Opacity", then it worked. Both video items were playing smoothly. I think the "Image Overlay" was using quite a lot of cpu for unknow reason
"image overlay" preset is for images with alpha (transparent) layer and processes in RGB. so yeah, lots of cpu load.

"Track opacity/zoom/pan" or my "JT Essential video controls" is better for simple resizing and positioning.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 08:44 PM   #6
dsyrock
Human being with feelings
 
dsyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: China
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
"image overlay" preset is for images with alpha (transparent) layer and processes in RGB. so yeah, lots of cpu load.

"Track opacity/zoom/pan" or my "JT Essential video controls" is better for simple resizing and positioning.
Thanks. And is there a link to your "JT Essential video controls" script?
dsyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.