Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2022, 04:30 AM   #1
chmaha
Human being with feelings
 
chmaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2,295
Default Muted tracks slow down offline render speed

When I have one track I manage to get over 60x realtime rendering. When I add 3 duplicate tracks and mute them, the render drops down to just over 30x realtime. Shouldn't the render process completely ignore the muted tracks or does it work like this by design?

EDIT: I definitely have "Do not process muted tracks" checked...
__________________
ReaClassical -- Open Source Classical Music Editing Tools for REAPER | Donate via PayPal, Liberapay or Stripe
airwindows JSFX ports | Debian & Arch Pro Audio Guides
chmaha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2022, 05:18 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,801
Default

If you use a larger rendering blocksize does that difference in speed get reduced?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2022, 05:21 AM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,927
Default

Not really the point of the post, but if you are actually rendering only one track in a project, it should be faster to render the stem than the entire project.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2022, 05:44 AM   #4
chmaha
Human being with feelings
 
chmaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Not really the point of the post, but if you are actually rendering only one track in a project, it should be faster to render the stem than the entire project.
Thanks, I'm running wav+cue renders, DDP etc...
__________________
ReaClassical -- Open Source Classical Music Editing Tools for REAPER | Donate via PayPal, Liberapay or Stripe
airwindows JSFX ports | Debian & Arch Pro Audio Guides
chmaha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2022, 05:43 AM   #5
chmaha
Human being with feelings
 
chmaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
If you use a larger rendering blocksize does that difference in speed get reduced?
Yes! I thought offline rendering was completely disconnected from the audio device? Is there a sweet spot? I just put in 2048 as a test value and it made the world of difference...
__________________
ReaClassical -- Open Source Classical Music Editing Tools for REAPER | Donate via PayPal, Liberapay or Stripe
airwindows JSFX ports | Debian & Arch Pro Audio Guides
chmaha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2022, 06:15 AM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BethHarmon View Post
Yes! I thought offline rendering was completely disconnected from the audio device? Is there a sweet spot? I just put in 2048 as a test value and it made the world of difference...
2048 or 4096 is usually pretty solid. Caveat is that if you use fx automation that doesn’t support sample accurate automation it will sound different
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2022, 06:36 AM   #7
chmaha
Human being with feelings
 
chmaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 2,295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
2048 or 4096 is usually pretty solid. Caveat is that if you use fx automation that doesn’t support sample accurate automation it will sound different
I spoke too soon...the render speeds are now hovering around 40x offline for multiple tracks vs 120x for a single track.

My bad...I had the first folder soloed but the rest were not muted. I wonder if it would be possible to have solo work in the same way?
__________________
ReaClassical -- Open Source Classical Music Editing Tools for REAPER | Donate via PayPal, Liberapay or Stripe
airwindows JSFX ports | Debian & Arch Pro Audio Guides
chmaha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2022, 06:45 AM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,801
Default

Looks like we can make muted tracks more fully skipped by rendering (it didn't fully process them but did a bunch of housekeeping).

Re: non-soloed tracks: looking into this (a bit trickier)

Last edited by Justin; 05-30-2022 at 06:53 AM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2022, 06:30 AM   #9
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 7,289
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
2048 or 4096 is usually pretty solid. Caveat is that if you use fx automation that doesn’t support sample accurate automation it will sound different
I always wondered which things would affect the rendering so I never changed the setting even when the export is faster.

Maybe this parameter could be smarter and set itself to 2048 or 4096 if a quick scan on the project doesn't find fx automation that would cause the issue. This way the user doesn't need to remember if they changed the setting or not, and always have better performance when it is appropriate.
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.