Old 04-23-2024, 12:24 PM   #1
hexSPA
Human being with feelings
 
hexSPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Like, SoCal...
Posts: 366
Default Softube is crashing

Just got Model 84 in their Essentials bundle. Happily making presets then hang and crash. Tried shift opening reaper (blank project) and still happening.
__________________
Words and Music
hexSPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2024, 02:52 PM   #2
MiddleC
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Posts: 580
Default

Try loading it into a VST host and see if the behaviour persists.

https://www.hermannseib.com/english/vsthost.htm

Tutorial: https://guitargearfinder.com/guides/...ns-standalone/

Last edited by MiddleC; 04-23-2024 at 02:58 PM.
MiddleC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2024, 02:41 PM   #3
hexSPA
Human being with feelings
 
hexSPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Like, SoCal...
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiddleC View Post
Try loading it into a VST host and see if the behaviour persists.

https://www.hermannseib.com/english/vsthost.htm

Tutorial: https://guitargearfinder.com/guides/...ns-standalone/
I will try your suggestion if this gets borked. Thanks.

Other details follow:
I tried audacity. Their support page recommends disabling opengl in one of their appdata/roaming text files. Neither of those worked. They got back to me and had me delete the 'Softube Preset Collection Settings.txt' file and now I can open them. Earlier my licenses wouldn't sync but that seems back online.
__________________
Words and Music
hexSPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2024, 06:13 AM   #4
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,160
Default

Also always make sure to use Softube's VST3 plugins, not VST2. I've had a lot of trouble with the latter.
timothys_monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2024, 11:51 AM   #5
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Funkybot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hexSPA View Post
They got back to me and had me delete the 'Softube Preset Collection Settings.txt' file and now I can open them. Earlier my licenses wouldn't sync but that seems back online.
Funny you say that. I actually had the same problem over the weekend and did some of my own troubleshooting and landed on the same solution after disabling Open GL didn't work. Seems like that Softube Preset Collection Settings.txt file gets corrupted easily and will bring down ALL Softube plugins once it does.

I let them know and the support contact was very thankful that I had provided all that info (maybe they already knew about it, maybe they didn't). Hopefully, they can tighten it up so:

1. It doesn't get corrupted and...
2. If it happens to, it won't crash all plugins
__________________
CSI v3 Wiki
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2024, 11:48 AM   #6
hexSPA
Human being with feelings
 
hexSPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Like, SoCal...
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
Funny you say that. I actually had the same problem over the weekend and did some of my own troubleshooting and landed on the same solution after disabling Open GL didn't work. Seems like that Softube Preset Collection Settings.txt file gets corrupted easily and will bring down ALL Softube plugins once it does.

I let them know and the support contact was very thankful that I had provided all that info (maybe they already knew about it, maybe they didn't). Hopefully, they can tighten it up so:

1. It doesn't get corrupted and...
2. If it happens to, it won't crash all plugins
Yeah they have friendly support. Maybe yours is the solution they passed on to me. I've been saving the presets in reaper. Actually, I usually save presets in reaper and inside the plugin for redundancy but now I'm paranoid to use the softube one Good thing reaper lets you save settings. Cheers.
__________________
Words and Music
hexSPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2024, 11:49 AM   #7
hexSPA
Human being with feelings
 
hexSPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Like, SoCal...
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timothys_monster View Post
Also always make sure to use Softube's VST3 plugins, not VST2. I've had a lot of trouble with the latter.
I'm pretty sure I'm using VST3, I usually try to, but thanks for the heads up.
__________________
Words and Music
hexSPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2024, 05:52 AM   #8
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Funkybot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,055
Default

Public Service Announcement: they just put out an update which they will will fix the issue.
__________________
CSI v3 Wiki
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2024, 10:04 PM   #9
hexSPA
Human being with feelings
 
hexSPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Like, SoCal...
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
Public Service Announcement: they just put out an update which they will will fix the issue.
Yes, thank you. I got the email and updated today. Will will report any related future issue
__________________
Words and Music
hexSPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.