COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :

Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > NINJAM Discussion > NINJAM Developer Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2020, 10:07 AM   #1
mattrumba
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Default Adding new server to ReaNinjam public listing

Hi,

I'm setting up additional servers to help out with the increased bandwidth due to current global requirement to stay inside, and would like to help people find these servers by listing them like the public ones (e.g. ninbot etc) from within the ReaNinjam connect dialog.

Would that be possible? Any help greatly appreciated.

~~matt
mattrumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 11:30 AM   #2
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,097
Default

Hi, mattrumba,
I already asked Justin few times during a few years to add my 24/7 public server to main serverlist, but nothing happened yet

Last time I did, it was week ago:
Add musicorner's public NINJAM server to serverlist.php
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=233017

Last edited by akademie; 03-26-2020 at 11:33 AM. Reason: adding reference link
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 02:47 PM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,799
Default

I would be happy to add them. Can you email me (justin at cockos dot com) with:

1) the server name/port(s)
2) some description of the server (e.g. where it is hosted etc)
3) the login/password of the status user -- to do this you would want a line in your configuration such as:
Code:
StatusUserPass statususername blahblahpassword
Thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 02:57 PM   #4
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,097
Default

Sure Justin, will send it later, thanks.

EDIT: I just sent details in email.

Last edited by akademie; 03-26-2020 at 03:30 PM. Reason: email sent
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 11:14 AM   #5
mattrumba
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Default

Many thanks for that Justin - I've sent over the details by email.
For reference the server is ninjam.live.

I see you've already added academie's server that's great!
mattrumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 09:54 AM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,799
Default

Posted (it had gone to spam, sorry for the delay!).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2020, 11:03 PM   #7
ozprog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I would be happy to add them. Can you email me (justin at cockos dot com) with:

1) the server name/port(s)
2) some description of the server (e.g. where it is hosted etc)
3) the login/password of the status user -- to do this you would want a line in your configuration such as:
Code:
StatusUserPass statususername blahblahpassword
Thanks!
Hi Justin,
I would like the same feature, to run one or more public servers that can be seen in the plugin. But what if the IP address of the server is dynamic like most people's or you need to change it up? Then the manual maintenance of this list becomes a burden.
I wonder if there's any scope to include an advertisement service. Basically a Cockos port that the plugin listens to, and servers can register with. There are plenty of simple protocols / code out there that do similar things so I don't imagine it would be too difficult if it's a desirable feature.
Meantime I will email you my server details.
ozprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 12:00 PM   #8
pcx901
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 20
Default

For servers where the IP changes just get a redirection domain (many are free.) Most of these sites have an app which automatically redirects your new IP to the domain.
pcx901 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2020, 10:34 PM   #9
ozprog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcx901 View Post
For servers where the IP changes just get a redirection domain (many are free.) Most of these sites have an app which automatically redirects your new IP to the domain.
Yes I use dynamic DNS myself. I guess the idea is anyone can create their own server for a group of friends (that they can contact by other means), but suggesting a way for anyone to instantly run and advertise a public server, without needing to know about dyndns first etc.
ozprog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.