Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 03-30-2024, 09:17 AM   #1
JohnnyMusic
Human being with feelings

Default How to get loud masters without pumping and distortion?

Hello All,

I've been recording and mixing in reaper for several years now and am starting to pay more attention to the mastering process. I work entirely in the box.

What I'm running into is distortion and pumping of masters (presumably from making the limiters work too hard)

I don't actually want super loud masters. I'm fine with something like integrated -11 lufs for a track. But even at that level, I end up with some distortion and pumping (for example in the last chorus with the most RMS, when the vocals come in, the whole mix gets sucked down and loses punch, then comes back up when the vocals are absent).

For comparison, I have reference tracks that are at -8 LUFS and I can't hear any pumping, and distortion is there but not terrible.

I've researched how to get mixes loud and the best I am come with is that you need to do some dynamics control at every stage of the mix (individual tracks, busses, etc) so that the mix is already loud and you need to do very little compression, limiting, or clipping on the master bus to get the lufs level you want and it prevents the pumping I desribed above.
(I've tried to do some of this but maybe I'm not being aggressive enough with it).

Is this how getting a loud mix without pumping is achieved? In the days of adat tapes and CDs, how did they get them so loud without pumping?

Again, I don't necessarily want my mixes at -8 lufs, integrated, but I want to know how that's achieved with the most transparency, so I can skillfully use dynamics to get the results that I want.

Thanks in advance for any advice you have, I look forward to your comments.

John
JohnnyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2024, 10:24 AM   #2
drummerboy