Old 05-22-2020, 07:09 PM   #1
Costner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3
Default How to change inserted media item tempo?

I have inserted a drum track recorded at 140bpm but I want my project to be 130 bpm. How do I change the tempo and match it to the grid? Thanks

I'm using v.6.10/x64 with Windows 10
Costner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2020, 09:09 PM   #2
valy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 359
Default

Is the item MIDI or audio?
valy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 05:50 AM   #3
Costner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Audio. I’ve tried just changing the bpm, changing the rate and various combinations of changing the project & item time basis’. Seems this should be simple but if do slow it down the grid is off.
Costner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 07:22 PM   #4
Costner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3
Default solved

Figured it out with Kenny video... insert file wasn't exactly 140 bpm. got exact bpm with tutorial on how to find out tempo and that lined everything up...thanks Kenny, you rule!
Costner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:31 AM   #5
rgalenmoore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Default

[QUOTE=Costner;2292392]I have inserted a drum track recorded at 140bpm but I want my project to be 130 bpm. How do I change the tempo and match it to the grid? Thanks

I'm using v.6.10/x64 with Windows 10[/QUOTE

Try this. It's worked for me (I'm on a MAC, Reaper V6.02/64, but I'm not sure it will matter).
Keep your project metronome at the desired rate (in your case, 130 bpm, right?)
Insert the drum track into a separate track (it's at 140, right?). Go to "Item: Item Properties" (or right click the drum track and select "Item Properties").
In the window that appears, about halfway down is "Playback Rate". In your case, since you want it slower (it's at 140 but you want it at 130), get out your calculator divide 130 by 140. The result will be .9285714 etc. Enter that number here, and be sure the "Preserve pitch when changing rate" is checked. Should do the trick. Good luck.
rgalenmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.