Old 10-03-2012, 02:35 PM   #1
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default Item Loop BG

Im trying to make a separated BG for looped items. As referenced here http://reaper.fm/sdk/walter/images.php i need to use item_loop.png image for this. But when i add such image to my theme, nothing happens...What i'm doing wrong?

Thanks
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:45 PM   #2
run, megalodon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viente View Post
Im trying to make a separated BG for looped items. As referenced here http://reaper.fm/sdk/walter/images.php i need to use item_loop.png image for this. But when i add such image to my theme, nothing happens...What i'm doing wrong?

Thanks
I didn't know there was an item_loop image, so I just tried this out, and I'm getting the same problems. Not sure what's going on. Maybe it has something to do with the indents at loop points, rather than the whole item?
run, megalodon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:57 PM   #3
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

It says item_loop (bg)

so i think it *should* do exactly what i need

guess we need qualified answer then...
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 04:46 AM   #4
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Anyone please?
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:45 PM   #5
nickmoritz
Human being with feelings
 
nickmoritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by run, megalodon View Post
I didn't know there was an item_loop image, so I just tried this out, and I'm getting the same problems. Not sure what's going on. Maybe it has something to do with the indents at loop points, rather than the whole item?
The same here! Nothing changes!
__________________
Nick Moritz (RADO Records) Facebook channel
nickmoritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:59 PM   #6
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmoritz View Post
The same here! Nothing changes!
Bad news, Nick

Are there anybody who knows how it works? And if its not working, is this a bug or removed feature?

Thanks!
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:22 AM   #7
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Still no one?
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:45 AM   #8
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,272
Default

item_loop.png is just those tiny little triangles that appear where items loop, not an item background as such.

EDIT: But yep, they don't seem to work anymore...

Last edited by gofer; 10-05-2012 at 08:52 AM.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 09:03 AM   #9
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Thx gofer! That little triangles are exactly that thing i need to tweak

A pity it doesn't work
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 09:47 AM   #10
run, megalodon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viente View Post
A pity it doesn't work
Yeah, I was just thinking the other day that all the notches all over my projects bothered me a bit.
run, megalodon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 10:19 AM   #11
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by run, megalodon View Post
Yeah, I was just thinking the other day that all the notches all over my projects bothered me a bit.
Then don't use that many loops

Joking, of course. I remember, even back when they worked, if you used just a plain transparent item_loop.png to keep Reaper from falling back to the inbuilt triangles, you were left with items that had gaps in their borders which looked very weird, like glitches. There was not much you could do with these png's, really.

Also, do you really think it would be good to have no indication of item loops or is it some other look you're after?
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 10:28 AM   #12
run, megalodon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,860
Default

No, I would replace them with something or just lessen them to the smallest notch that was easily visible.

Maybe just a stubby line.
run, megalodon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 11:52 AM   #13
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,272
Default

Tried exactly that (smaller notch) back then, didn't work out right.

You can experiment using a version where it still works (I tried that during v3.x), just to get clear on what you would need to request in addition to re-enabling it in the first place.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:20 PM   #14
Viente
Human being with feelings
 
Viente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
Then don't use that many loops

Joking, of course. I remember, even back when they worked, if you used just a plain transparent item_loop.png to keep Reaper from falling back to the inbuilt triangles, you were left with items that had gaps in their borders which looked very weird, like glitches. There was not much you could do with these png's, really.

Also, do you really think it would be good to have no indication of item loops or is it some other look you're after?
I was about to make it look more like in Logic with different tint. its more familiar to me
Viente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 07:20 AM   #15
dtr0q
Human being with feelings
 
dtr0q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 90
Default

Bump of hope (please fix in v6 at least)
dtr0q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2021, 04:50 PM   #16
denmla
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 101
Default

Can't believe that more people are not bothered with this....

We need a scaling factor for those triangles at least. Ideally bg image as well.
denmla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2021, 01:15 AM   #17
denmla
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 101
Default

Wait, I even made a FR some.... 11 years ago abot this
denmla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 12:48 AM   #18
Cloudswim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 250
Default

+1 not sure why this is not implemented to indicate an item is loop enabled
Cloudswim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.