Old 10-10-2017, 03:24 PM   #1
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default Reaper crashes everytime + no playback

HI,

I've hit a brick wall with a nasty bug or some other operation anomaly.

Reaper will crash if I:
- try to click on any of the file menus. This will not respond to mouse click, and a second after that Reaper will just crash and disappear from screen,
- the same will happen if I right click on an item. Instant crash.
- not sure if related to the crashes, but Reaper will also refuse to play after a while. Like now, I can click on the play button, it's green, but the cursor will not move. I can set any playback buffer setting to no avail. Nothing helps to bring back playback.

Some observations:

- I can open Preferences all right

- keyboard shortcut 'save as' does not work. I can see the 'last save ..." and it does not update with 'save as'.

- This project was edited by someone else on Reaper on a PC before, where it run with no issues. The project contains 8 tracks, no plugins. Project length 1hour 6min.

- Also, in order to run this project without excessive RAM usage, I had to tweak the advanced buffer settings as recommended by Justin in another thread about excessive ram use by Reaper. Note: all of the above issues would also happen with default buffer settings.

- interestingly, when I create a new tab and copy all tracks and all items to this new tab/project, Reaper works just fine. The reason I can't work in the new tab is that the coping all of these things does not copy regions, which I need. But does the fact that after copying all the tracks and all audio in the tracks into a new project, there are no issues? What's wrong with the current project? Some project config clash from the other user who edited the project on a PC?

Spec: Reaper 5.40/64 Mac Yosemite 10.10.5 Macbook i7 2.9Ghz, 8GB RAM

Last edited by himalaya; 10-11-2017 at 03:48 AM. Reason: spelling
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 09:41 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,534
Default

no plugins? really, anywhere? open project bay and look at the fx tab just to be sure... if there really are no plugins, get the info from Windows Event Viewer for the crash and post it.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 12:47 AM   #3
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

You mean the Mac system crash report?

I've restarted the macbook and the project runs fine - but that's how it was the last time, it may work after the computer restart but then it stops working (which I forgot to add).

Last edited by himalaya; 10-11-2017 at 01:22 AM.
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 12:48 AM   #4
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,534
Default

type it into Windows start menu. What Windows version are you?
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 01:33 AM   #5
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

Windows? See my first post: Mac OS
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 01:43 AM   #6
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

....and it crashed again!

I selected one item across 8 tracks (so that's 8 items) and tried to render to one file....clicked browse in the render dialog to select the folder and Reaper deliberated for a few seconds and then crashed.

This is just impossible. Can not work.

( I have the mac system crash report - is there an official Cocoks support email address? I've never had a need to use support but now checking the website I do not see anything at all?!).

Dear Cocoks devs, can you help?
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 01:52 AM   #7
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

Crashed thread is stated as 'zero' :




Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x00000000000000d8
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 02:11 AM   #8
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

...and now it crashes in the usual way (for this project): click on a file menu and boom! CRASH!

Similar report, but the exception type is different (haven't a clue what it all means).

Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type: EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 02:44 AM   #9
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

Video (6MB):

http://www.electric-himalaya.com/Rea..._file_menu.mov
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 02:51 AM   #10
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,705
Default

Can you post the entire part of the crash reporter log between thread 0 and thread 1?

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=36653
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 03:42 AM   #11
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

Report from a crash when clicking on the render browse dialog:


Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x00000000000000d8

VM Regions Near 0xd8:
-->
__TEXT 0000000100000000-0000000100a2c000 [ 10.2M] r-x/rwx SM=COW /Applications/REAPER64.app/Contents/MacOS/REAPER

Thread 0 Crashed:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0x00007fff825ae4cd _pthread_mutex_lock + 23
1 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff8afd6109 CFBundleCopyLocalizedStringForLocalization + 89
2 com.apple.FinderKit 0x00007fff898e51d4 TString::SetFromKeyAndIndex(__CFString const*, __CFString const*, unsigned int) + 94
3 com.apple.FinderKit 0x00007fff8986eb03 TFENode::Initialize() + 349
4 com.apple.FinderKit 0x00007fff899c8fa1 +[FIFinderViewGutsController initializeCounted] + 132
5 com.apple.FinderKit 0x00007fff899d2aff -[FIFinderView _commonFinderViewInitForSaveMode:importPanel:appCe ntric:ubiquityContainerURLsptions:] + 63
6 com.apple.FinderKit 0x00007fff899d2e71 -[FIFinderView initWithFrameptions:] + 217
7 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff83988533 -[NSNavFinderViewFileBrowser initWithFrameptions:] + 247
8 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff8397e280 _NSNavFileBrowserWithFinderKit + 134
9 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff836e9a07 -[NSSavePanel(NSSavePanelLayout) _makeFileBrowserView] + 261
10 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff836e9b76 -[NSSavePanel(NSSavePanelLayout) _setupFileBrowserView] + 154
11 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff836eaddf -[NSSavePanel(NSSavePanelLayout) _initContentView] + 4220
12 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff836d7409 -[NSSavePanel initWithContentRect:styleMask:backing:defer:] + 618
13 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff832992f9 +[NSSavePanel _crunchyRawUnbonedPanel] + 208
14 com.cockos.reaper 0x00000001004b77d2 BrowseForDirectory(char const*, char const*, char*, int) + 50
15 com.cockos.reaper 0x00000001006c53d0 WDL_ChooseDirectory(HWND__*, char const*, char const*, char*, int, bool) + 80
16 com.cockos.reaper 0x00000001003d3154 RenderDialog_OnCommand(HWND__*, int, int) + 17508
17 com.cockos.reaper 0x00000001003cdf27 RenderConfigProc(HWND__*, unsigned int, unsigned long, long) + 455
18 com.cockos.reaper 0x00000001004a9f2c SwellDialogDefaultWindowProc(HWND__*, unsigned int, unsigned long, long) + 364
19 com.cockos.reaper 0x00000001004a624e -[REAPERSwell_hwnd onSwellCommand:] + 1166
20 libsystem_trace.dylib 0x00007fff914dccd7 _os_activity_initiate + 75
21 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff83298eb1 -[NSApplication sendAction:to:from:] + 452
22 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff832ae946 -[NSControl sendAction:to:] + 86
23 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff832ae862 __26-[NSCell _sendActionFrom:]_block_invoke + 131
24 libsystem_trace.dylib 0x00007fff914dccd7 _os_activity_initiate + 75
25 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff832ae7bf -[NSCell _sendActionFrom:] + 144
26 libsystem_trace.dylib 0x00007fff914dccd7 _os_activity_initiate + 75
27 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff832accb3 -[NSCell trackMouse:inRectfView:untilMouseUp:] + 2821
28 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff8330534f -[NSButtonCell trackMouse:inRectfView:untilMouseUp:] + 770
29 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff832ab366 -[NSControl mouseDown:] + 714
30 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff838152dc -[NSWindow _reallySendEvent:isDelayedEvent:] + 14125
31 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff831a4c86 -[NSWindow sendEvent:] + 470
32 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff831a1212 -[NSApplication sendEvent:] + 2504
33 com.cockos.reaper 0x0000000100315bd7 -[REAPERapp sendEvent:] + 583
34 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff830cab68 -[NSApplication run] + 711
35 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff83047244 NSApplicationMain + 1832
36 com.cockos.reaper 0x000000010001120c main + 28
37 com.cockos.reaper 0x00000001000111d4 start + 52
Attached Files
File Type: txt Reaper crash - render dialog open.txt (80.5 KB, 19 views)
File Type: txt Reaper crash - when clicking file menu.txt (69.2 KB, 25 views)
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 03:43 AM   #12
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

Report of he crash when clicking on the 'File' menu:

Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type: EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000

Application Specific Information:
*** CFRelease() called with NULL ***

Thread 0 Crashed:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff8ae60010 CFRelease + 912
1 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842d5d70 TCoreTextEngine:rawThemeTextBox(THIThemeTextInfo *, CGRect const&, unsigned int, CGContext*) + 2152
2 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842d543e ___ZN10DataEngine11DrawTextBoxEPKvPK6CGRectP15HITh emeTextInfoP9CGContext_block_invoke + 262
3 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842d4fca DataEngine:rawTextBox(void const*, CGRect const*, HIThemeTextInfo*, CGContext*) + 1420
4 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842d4a10 HIThemeDrawTextBox + 446
5 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff84330520 HIStandardMenuView:rawItemText(__CFString const*, float, unsigned short, __CTFont const*, unsigned int, CGRect const*, CGRect const*, unsigned char, short, CGContext*, TextLayout const*, CGRect*, float*) + 452
6 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff843302e3 HIStandardMenuView:rawMenuString(unsigned char const*, unsigned int, unsigned short, __CTFont const*, unsigned int, CGRect const*, float, short, CGContext*, TextLayout const*, float*) + 175
7 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff843b062a HIStandardMenuView:rawItemContent(CGRect const*, float, float, unsigned int, short, CGContext*, OpaqueCUIRendererRef*) + 3014
8 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff8432f56d HIStandardMenuView:rawItem(unsigned char, CGContext*, unsigned char) + 2221
9 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff8432e7fa HIStandardMenuView:rawSelf(short, __HIShape const*, CGContext*) + 514
10 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842ce57d HIView:rawCacheOrSelf(short, __HIShape const*, CGContext*) + 343
11 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842ce3e6 HIView::SendDraw(short, OpaqueGrafPtr*, __HIShape const*, CGContext*) + 382
12 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842cdd42 HIView::RecursiveDrawComposited(__HIShape const*, __HIShape const*, unsigned int, HIView*, CGContext*, unsigned char, double) + 710
13 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842cdfbe HIView::RecursiveDrawComposited(__HIShape const*, __HIShape const*, unsigned int, HIView*, CGContext*, unsigned char, double) + 1346
14 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842cdfbe HIView::RecursiveDrawComposited(__HIShape const*, __HIShape const*, unsigned int, HIView*, CGContext*, unsigned char, double) + 1346
15 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842cccdb HIView:rawComposited(short, OpaqueGrafPtr*, __HIShape const*, unsigned int, HIView*, CGContext*) + 965
16 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842cc904 HIView::Render(unsigned int, CGContext*) + 54
17 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff842cc028 WindowData::PrepareForVisibility() + 168
18 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff8432dc36 _HIWindowPrepareForVisibility + 27
19 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff8432c4fd DrawMDEF(MenuSelectData*, CGPoint) + 579
20 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff84340dea DrawTheMenu(MenuSelectData*, __CFArray**, unsigned char, unsigned char*) + 792
21 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff8434091c MenuChanged(MenuSelectData*, unsigned char, unsigned char) + 356
22 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff84332889 TrackMenuCommon(MenuSelectData&, unsigned char*) + 1221
23 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff843403c1 MenuSelectCore(MenuData*, Point, double, unsigned int, OpaqueMenuRef**, unsigned short*) + 510
24 com.apple.HIToolbox 0x00007fff843400fe _HandleMenuSelection2 + 446
25 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff8319ece0 _NSHandleCarbonMenuEvent + 277
26 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff830d5bfd _DPSNextEvent + 1828
27 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff830d4e58 -[NSApplication nextEventMatchingMask:untilDate:inMode:dequeue:] + 346
28 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff830caaf3 -[NSApplication run] + 594
29 com.apple.AppKit 0x00007fff83047244 NSApplicationMain + 1832
30 com.cockos.reaper 0x000000010001120c main + 28
31 com.cockos.reaper 0x00000001000111d4 start + 52
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 03:47 AM   #13
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

and now the project will not play at all. Like stated in the first post. I can not even close it by clicking the X on the project tab. Crashes when trying to access the 'File' menu.
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 04:19 AM   #14
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,705
Default

Thanks for the logs! Can you zip the problem .RPP project file (no media files needed) and attach it here, or send it to support[at]cockos[dot]com?
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 05:05 AM   #15
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

Thank you Ollie.
Project file emailed to support.
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 06:57 AM   #16
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

Further to my comment about copying all tracks and media to a new project....the copy of data works, but as I have discovered now, the project will not play, it will not save now, and accessing the file menu crashes Reaper as well. I'm absolutely stuck.
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 07:19 AM   #17
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

More weirdness (this project is just unstoppable with all the weird things):

In the gif you will see how the mouse pointer does not change as I try to grab the edge of the item.
the pointer does not recognise the edge but I can still garb it and change the duration of the item. Notice how the fade works as it should though.

http://www.electric-himalaya.com/Rea...ic_anomaly.gif

Last edited by himalaya; 10-11-2017 at 07:29 AM.
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 08:01 AM   #18
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,328
Default

What's REAPER.app's memory use in the activity monitor and/or REAPER's cpu meter?

Edit: macOS does generally have a hard limit of around 9000 open files per process. Is it possible you're getting close to this limit (causing crashes in the OS frameworks)? It might be worth trying to consolidate some of your edits in the project.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 08:16 AM   #19
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

Reaper RAM readout: 893MB
CPU: hovering above 3%

Activity Monitor: Reaper 446MB
Physical Memory: 8GB
memory Used: 6GB
Cashe: 1.8GB
Swap File: 1MB

The thing is, I have tested this on 3 Mac computers, one of which is a top of the line iMac with 32GB RAM, i7 3Ghz, then a new macbook with 16GB RAM and an SSD drive....they all have the same symptoms. The ONLY way to play this project (and others like it of which I have about more than 10) is to use a PC. I am not kidding. This project was edited on a PC, where it runs without a hitch, not so on any of the mac I have (3 of them) and the Mac that my colleague uses alongside his PC.
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 08:22 AM   #20
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post

Edit: macOS does generally have a hard limit of around 9000 open files per process. Is it possible you're getting close to this limit (causing crashes in the OS frameworks)? It might be worth trying to consolidate some of your edits in the project.
I've already deleted some files. The ones I have are rendered from other files. I need to keep them separate. These are samples, velocity layers, different mics....so is this limit Mac OS specific? Would seems so as the project runs fine on Win PC. Does this limit affect other DAWs in the same way?
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 08:27 AM   #21
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

I've split the project now. And it seems to run better now.
This one has about 800 separate, rendered files, so the full one has about 1600 of them. Would this number cause such drastic problems?
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 01:07 PM   #22
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,670
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by himalaya View Post
I've split the project now. And it seems to run better now.
This one has about 800 separate, rendered files, so the full one has about 1600 of them. Would this number cause such drastic problems?
The RPP you sent to support had 6136 separate wav files.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 01:45 PM   #23
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

Oh, ok.
But that's still well below the 9000 that Justin says would be a problem.
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 01:51 PM   #24
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

Also, I'd like to understand this difference between the Mac OS and Win OS which treats files so differently that on the PC there is no problem and on the Mac there is total meltdown. Are there any easily digestible resources anywhere about this? For the lay person? This issue has caused me huge bottlenecks and delay and I need to learn about why it's happening exactly. I have many more such projects to go through.

And also, is this really about the Mac OS and too many files, or is there something that's not right with Reaper on Mac?
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 02:04 PM   #25
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,670
Default

Justin has more domain knowledge on this than I do, but as far as I can tell macos has the maximum open filehandle limit as a kernel parameter.

http://krypted.com/mac-os-x/maximum-files-in-mac-os-x/

Windows does not have such a limit. Some run-time libraries may have limits, but we don't use them.


As for 6136 vs 10240 vs 12288, you may be hitting the systemwide limit due to other applications running, or there may be additional file handles open besides the media in the project (plugins, samples, etc). But your problem is almost certainly that the computer is simply running out of resources. Anything you can do to significantly reduce the number of individual media files (gluing, rendering, etc) will help.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 02:13 PM   #26
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,705
Default

What's the format of the media files? Are they all 44.1kHz/24bit like the project is set to, and does that match your audio interface settings? Any [i] icons on items indicating resampling?
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 05:13 PM   #27
himalaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 182
Default

@schwa,
Thank you for the additional info and the link. Much appreciated.

I'm still confused with the suggestion that it is the computer which is running out of resources and causing this, since I have tested this project (and others now) on much better specced Macs, like I mentioned in the above posts (16 and 32GB RAM with SSD drives). The Reaper project does not come near the 9000 file number let alone exceed it. I mean, I take your comments and respect them, and am very grateful for any help offered, but part of me just finds it difficult to accept that an 8-track project with no plugins, but with a big number of rendered flies can not run on modern Macs. I just sit here in disbelief. The RAM is not exceeded, nor is the CPU...no other apps in the background except a few tabs in Chrome (which can use too much RAM, true) and yet there are such big issues with a project like this.

I take your suggestion of rendering or gluing more items together, but can not do so, since these items are sampled notes from an instrument. They are carefully chopped up and trimmed so to render them back into longer files (and thus reduce the file numbers) clashes with the whole purpose of having them as individual items in the first place.

I think, the only solution so far (if no other solution is provided by you guys) is to split such projects into two - if I can actually do it, since at certain moments nothing works and every mouse click crashes Reaper. My colleague has split a few of these projects ( I have many more to go through) using his PC, so this will help in the immediate future...

I'm also thinking if I should be using one of my defunct PC desktops for this....bring them back to life. Ha! This would be a totally mind-bending experience if one of my old (nay, vintage!) windows PCs manages to run such Reaper projects and my new, modern Macs do not. There must be a new life truth, a new paradigm, hidden somewhere here!

@Ollie,

I can confirm that the audio items match the project's settings (44.1Khz/24bit) and this is matched by my soundcard.
himalaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 06:19 PM   #28
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,670
Default

There's a lot of info about this on the internet as it seems to be something that is frequently encountered. You can increase the file handle limit via the macos terminal. You could test this (according to here and here) by setting
Code:
sudo sysctl -w kern.maxfiles=32768
The setting won't persist through a reboot unless you do other stuff, but you could try it to see if it lets your project load.

But, file handles also seem to eat up a lot of RAM on macs, which is probably why the limit exists in the first place. Above you reported 6 out of 8 GB of physical memory in use, which could cause instability. System resource limits are not necessarily like slots on a board where everything is fine until the last slot is full.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 05:03 AM   #29
Amberience
Human being with feelings
 
Amberience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: swing on the spiral of our divinity
Posts: 2,034
Default

Heya - just chiming in.

We can't exactly consolidate our edits - they're split up for a purpose (creating huge multi-sampled libraries)

@Justin @Schwa - do you know if High Sierra raised the file handle limit with their new APFS file-system type? I've read some rumours about that, but nothing concrete.
__________________
Amberience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 08:01 AM   #30
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,907
Default

Reaper on Windows for sample library development FTW. That is all, EvilDragon over-and-out.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 11:37 AM   #31
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,328
Default

We are adding functionality in the next prerelease cycle (5.65preX probably) that will allow you to increase your open file limit using instructions here: https://superuser.com/questions/3027...n-snow-leopard

You will need to modify your system configuration, and once you do that, REAPER 5.65+ (exact version TBD) will detect this and allow more than 8192 files to be open. Hopefully.

Last edited by Justin; 10-17-2017 at 06:21 PM.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 06:49 AM   #32
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,328
Default

There's a build to test in the pre-release forum, if you're interested!

On macOS 10.10+, before running it, you should try running this from the terminal:
Code:
      sudo launchctl limit maxfiles 32000
(you will need to enter your password and have administrator privileges).
Once you do that, check to make sure it stuck by running:
Code:
launchctl limit maxfiles
(these changes are temporary until the next reboot) .. anyway post comments in the pre-release forum, thanks!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 04:11 AM   #33
ganttictemp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 37
Default

Had many issues when working with more than 7000 files in a session in OSX. Crashed a few times, but mostly it behaved really weird. In Windows did not happen. Turned out to be maxfiles issue.

For OSX 10.9 (Mavericks) or earlier we just needed to run this in the Terminal:

echo limit maxfiles 200000 200000|sudo tee -a |etc/launchd.conf
(where 200000 is the desired number)

and restart machine.

For OSX 10.10 (Yosemite) or higher, we needed to create a root user and modify limit.maxfiles.plist, limit.maxproc.plist. and .bash_profile from root account to make it work. Had to spend several hours to find out.

In a network, we find some issues in OSX that we do not see in Windows systems. I'm talking about sharing Audio files within a server among some local sessions. What is different for Reaper about handling files in OSX and Windows?
ganttictemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 04:18 AM   #34
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,907
Default

OSX is just completely different to Windows, so...
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 05:29 AM   #35
ganttictemp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
OSX is just completely different to Windows, so...
I know, just wondering how Reaper code affects that. I mean, we had no trouble doing that in Pro Tools or Nuendo.
ganttictemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.